We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Holiday to Remember”
Review of Swiss Grand Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Ranked #12 of 1,272 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
1 review
“A Holiday to Remember”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to a very memorable hotel in Xiamen, Fujian Province in China. It is caled the Swiss International Hotel. It is very wel managed; has great staff and is a good location overlooking sea and an Island. The rooms are all spacious, setup nicely with fresh flowers, and good light. The GM wrote a welcome card. It is the first time I have spied a flower in the toilet when I visited there! In the room a dessert and fruit platter was awaiting me. I felt like a Queen. In the swimming pool in the early morning the hotel staff were most polite. Indeed even as one walks around the Hotel the staff all greet you in a friendly manner. There is a barbecue, Chinese Restaurant, Buffet..all with fresh food and well presented. Most importantly I felt that the staff had all had excellent training and were all most attentive.

Room Tip: The best rooms in my opinion would be those facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouDou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    333
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
88
68
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

after 2 weeks in 'smaller' chinese cities, we were looking forward to our stay at the Swiss International based on all the very positive reviews, we had the wonderful surprise of being upgraded to a junior suite. Very nicely decorated, very clean, very big bedroom, everything was perfect. Staff very friendly, we even met a management trainee from our home country
Wonderful buffet breakfast
the hotel is located in front of the ferry boat to Gulangyu Island and 5min walk from a shopping street, at the back of the hotel a new shopping mall just opened with international brands
Highly recommanded

Room Tip: 2 days later we came back in a 'superior' room, you can open the window if the room smell ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenoitY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel was total luxury and deserves the 5 star rating. Fantastic quality, service and the food was superb. Great views of the coast line if you request a room facing it. Large rooms that are well appointed that made the business trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at this property in end August 2012, and this hotel was recently renamed from Wyndham to Swiss International.

I stayed at the high floor but facing the city, not good view but luckily I've got club lounge access which has great view.

The breakfast spread is good, with the usual western food choices, cereals, ham/bacon/sausages, bread, pastries, plus the Chinese dimsums, noodles. They do change one or two items every one or two days.

The club lounge staff are exemplary, and all the chinese staff (all ladies ;-), and a Swiss lady staff who joined less than a year always finds time to come and talk to me about how's things at the hotel and give me information when I asked. They always clears whatever that is on my table that needs clearing very promptly.

The view of GulangYu island from the club lounge is superb. Quite close to the shopping street (步行街), about less than 10 minutes walk where there are western, local, and generally chinese deserts to be had every few steps. Should buy some of the locally baked biscuits as gifts for friends and family back home.

Service from the hotel staff, cleaning staff, are very prompt and good. Call to hotel service has staff with conversational English.

They have a good indoor swimming pool and gym as well.

All in all, a very good stay. Only downside is the very limited in-room menu, and its the same menu if you sit at the 1st floor cafe lounge. They should expand this menu.

Room Tip: If city facing, then pick a package with club lounge access to have the sea view when you liked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband stayed at the Swiss International for 5 days in August. We usually choose to stay at a smaller boutique hotel when possible but at this hotel we enjoyed all the benefits of a large 5 star hotel along with the personal feel one gets at a smaller hotel. We had a wonderful experience. The staff at the hotel really made our visit to Xiamen very special. My husband is a vegan and the head chef was very accommodating. The food and beverage manager was very professional and helpful. The view from our room was amazing and the room itself was clean, spacious and very modern. The breakfast buffet was super. My husband enjoyed using the well-maintained gym. We definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokyo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Best location in Xiamen 20 mins from airport overlooking the coast and fantastic views of Gulanyu island (ask for sea frontage). Big rooms well appointed, gargantuan lift lobbies and hallways.
Service is excellent and the club level facilities and catering are well above what you would normally get.
Popular with Chinese at holiday times which can be a bit noisy but that's the way it rolls!
Firmly on my repeat business accommodation list.

Room Tip: Gulanyu Island side for view - club floor if budget allows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burg3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have booked via Wyndham chain, this was the first 5 stars Wyndham we ever heard about. By the time we got there, this hotel just has been re-branded at the Swiss International. It was the May Labor holiday in China as well, to get the room we wanted, we had to spend extra to be upgraded to the so called executive level. The room newly furbished with nice view of Gulangyu Island, clean and spacious but we could smell cigarette. Location is very good, few minutes walk to see the old Xiamen. Service was adequate but everything is just very Chinese.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinibearX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,272 in Xiamen
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#19 of 1,272 in Xiamen
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#15 of 1,272 in Xiamen
218 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,272 in Xiamen
422 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Meridien Xiamen
Le Meridien Xiamen
#2 of 1,272 in Xiamen
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Grand Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Grand Xiamen

Property: Swiss Grand Xiamen
Address: No.12 Lujiang Avenue, Siming District, Xiamen 361001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen > Siming District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xiamen
#6 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#23 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swiss Grand Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, overlooking the historical Gulangyu Island and its surrounding waters, the Swiss Grand Xiamen is within easy access of business, sightseeing, shopping and entertainments hubs. It is 15 minutes from Xiamen Gaoqi International Airport, 20 minutes from the Xiamen International Conference and Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from the railway station and just 5 minutes by foot from the ferry terminal. The Swiss Grand Xiamen is a contemporary yet classic upscale hotel that offers the savvy business or leisure traveler ultimate comfort and style with breathtaking views.The Swiss Grand Xiamen stand 28 stories tall and features 588 guest room. Stay connected in comfort and style. Indulge in the comfort of our rooms with Suisse signature bedding, complimentary WIFI and internet access, and rainforest showers. Club Chine Executive Floors are from Levels 24-28 with a spacious Club Lounge on Levels 26 and 27, pampering discerning business travelers with privileges and benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Grand Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Xiamen Hotel Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing