We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swiss Grand Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Ranked #11 of 1,258 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

the location is great near a walking-high-street and overlooking the islands and the bay. the japanese style rooms are a good if you are looking for a change. by the way it is now been taken over and changed the name to SWISS International but still as good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    330
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
83
66
23
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed at a Club King room for 4 nights in mid-April, booked under the hotel's club floor promotion which offered discounts for sea-facing rooms on high floors, including breakfast, free wifi, and access to the Club Lounge (26/F) where you could have free soft drinks throughout the day; free snacks and free soft drinks, including tea and coffee, during tea time (2:30 pm to 4 pm I think); and free snacks, free soft drinks and free wine during happy hours (5:30 pm to 7:30 pm).

Other things I like about this hotel include its location and service. The hotel is located on the waterfront. We stayed in a room on the 24/F. It is spacious and the view is fantastic, overlooking the famous island of Gulangyu. It only takes 10 minutes to walk to the pier where you could take a ferry to Gulangyu, 5 minutes to the pedestrian shopping street called Zhongshan Road, 10 minutes to a Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) station to take a bus to Jimei campus. The service is also excellent. Check in and out at the Club Floor Desk was inefficient. Calls were answered promptly and it took only 5 minutes for extra toilet rolls or facial tissues to be delivered to our room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hongkongtraveller852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Nice hotel design. Suites are well equipped and spacious. Good bar with western drinks and food. Good location with view on Gulangyu island. Breakfast is asian and western style. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minipixl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

5 star hotel , good services and facility. Air condition is good , bed is good , shower is good. Excellent sea view and location is good for tourist. Only you have to pay more for wifi and breakfast, otherwise is perfect.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tommyyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. the hotel is large, and during check in we were being upgrade to their suite room. Awesome room with seperate living room and extra toilet.
The staff speaks good english.
The hotel location is in the safe area and within walking distance to the shopping streeet.
The breakfast selection is extensive.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blessu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We travelled to Xiamen primarily to visit Gulang Yu Organ Museum, and chose the Wyndham because of its excellent sea front location. From the moment we walked in the door we were very impressed with this hotel.
Our sea king room was amazing - by far the biggest room I have stayed in at a hotel for a long time. Almost all hotel rooms nowadays are much smaller and less well equipped. The view was enthralling, no matter what time of day, and there was always something to see - mainly Gulang Yu of course.
We opted not to have the breakfast included because we would be on Gulang Yu, but we did have dinner in the hotel each night. The food (alacarte) was very well prepared and of excellent quality and quantity. Service was great and the staff friendly.
I was very impressed with the presentation of the foyer and passage areas. The polished rock facings were extremely well done and the carpets woven to match. It was a delight to walk the corridors!
Our bathroom, apart from being well fitted out and immacculately clean, had the most magnificent view I have ever seen from a bath tub. Full panorama of Gulang Yu made you feel that you were somehow floating over the island while you bathed.
The business centre was well equipped and I was pleased to find that internet was free for a limited time and then reasonably priced after that. The room had every fitting for computing, but I didnt have my laptop with me to utilise that.
Finally, a word about the staff. We found the staff in Reception, the bell boys, business centre, restaurants, the wait staff and the Concierge all extrememly friendly, helpful and communicative. Where language failed signs and other expressions meant that communication continued. My wife and I were very satisfied with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone as a very comfortable and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed there twice at the beginning and end of our 'Fujian Tour'. Perfect way to start and finish. Wonderful breakfast (the coffee in particular deserves a special mention). Executive floors have a good buffet spread.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor with sea view. A/cs were a little temperamental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTBManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
0.1 mi away
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#20 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#4 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#13 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marco Polo Xiamen
Marco Polo Xiamen
#6 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Grand Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Grand Xiamen

Property: Swiss Grand Xiamen
Address: No.12 Lujiang Avenue, Siming District, Xiamen 361001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen > Siming District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xiamen
#6 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#26 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swiss Grand Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, overlooking the historical Gulangyu Island and its surrounding waters, the Swiss Grand Xiamen is within easy access of business, sightseeing, shopping and entertainments hubs. It is 15 minutes from Xiamen Gaoqi International Airport, 20 minutes from the Xiamen International Conference and Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from the railway station and just 5 minutes by foot from the ferry terminal. The Swiss Grand Xiamen is a contemporary yet classic upscale hotel that offers the savvy business or leisure traveler ultimate comfort and style with breathtaking views.The Swiss Grand Xiamen stand 28 stories tall and features 588 guest room. Stay connected in comfort and style. Indulge in the comfort of our rooms with Suisse signature bedding, complimentary WIFI and internet access, and rainforest showers. Club Chine Executive Floors are from Levels 24-28 with a spacious Club Lounge on Levels 26 and 27, pampering discerning business travelers with privileges and benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Grand Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Xiamen Hotel Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing