We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Business Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
Ranked #8 of 1,251 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Kaohsiung, Republic of China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Comfortable Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is most definitely not a five star hotel, but it is a decent value for the price and comfortable enough for a short stay.

The location is very good if you are not especially interested in Xiamen's main tourist attractions. Those require at least 30 minutes by bus or 10 minutes by taxi, depending how suicidally they want to drive. If you do not want a taxi driver who smokes while driving, be sure to check before you get in. They can be aggressive if you want to get out when you notice the stench. It is also a good idea to avoid trying to hail a taxi on Lujiang Rd at 5:30pm. Not only is traffic horrendous, but that is when they change shifts and many drivers are unwilling to stop for anyone.

It is very easy to get a taxi from the hotel. Assuming you can tell them where you want to go in Chinese. If not, you may want to get the hotel to write everything for the drivers. I did not personally hear anyone at the front desk speak English, but someone must be able to.

The location is excellent if you want to go shopping, which is the national pastime of modern China. The hotel is above a small shopping mall with plenty of counterfeit items, a popular Starbucks (the city's 50,000 other Starbucks never seem as crowded), a Papa John's Pizza (which does not taste like American Papa John's, but is not bad), a Häagen Dazs and a sad little grocery store with the warmest refrigerated drinks.

Jiahe Rd has several shopping malls within walking distance, a Carrefour (Chinese style, nothing like European style), lots of Chinese restaurants and bakeries and about 80,000 KFCs. Turn left from the hotel's main entrance and right on the first street. Jiahe is too large to miss. Left on Jiahe is mostly banks and KFCs.

The train station is a long walk, but a very short taxi ride. The Andersen bakeries are nothing like Japanese Andersens, but they are within walking distance in every direction.

Our room had a king size bed, which was pretty big and unusually soft by Chinese standards. It also had very large windows and a decent view from the 8th floor. There is construction across the street as of August 2012 which we could hear. A higher room might be a good idea. It was also very easy to hear everything in the hallway, but not from the other rooms.

Our room had a warm refrigerator, which is common in China, but the hotel replaced it quickly with something that actually worked. They were also quick to replace the pillow cases. They had some sort of animal excrement on them when we checked in. At least I hope it was animal. Unfortunately, waste matter in hotel rooms is not that rare in China.

The water pressure in the shower was pretty weak, but rather strong in the sink. It took quite some time to get anything hotter than warm. The bathroom looked nice, and looked exactly like it does in website pictures, but was designed more for form than function. They were pretty cheap with the towels. The bathroom did not have sufficient space to hang towels anyway.

The Wife tried the breakfast buffet and said it was mediocre. Apparently, there was not much of a selection. But it was a hotel breakfast buffet, after all. The hotel is surrounded by other food options.

The Wife also did not care for the television selection, but Chinese hotels are not generally known for their international programming. This one had a Japanese, Korean and even a German channel in addition to a few English and mostly Chinese.

This would be a three star hotel in Europe. It was comfortable and relatively clean. The service was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pichilaogong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    244
    35
    7
    0
See reviews for
22
19
23
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I recently stayed here while in Xiamen on business - what a pleasant surprise! The room was first rate and a good variety of restaurants are on the property. Plus a Starbucks for morning coffee and pastry. There is also a little upscale shopping arcade including a market.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigaloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Have a great stay here every time I visit.. Staff at reception speak great English which is a great help in Xiamen. Highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for a couple of nights. Wonderful room overlooking park. Hotel is very modern and comfortable. Gym was awesome and the pool was very nice. Staff very friendly and management very visible and welcoming. Breakfast buffet was deliciously large with large variety of yummy things to eat. Staff very efficient with coffee service. Tried the Asian Delights Restaurant which offers an all you can eat menu of South East Asian Cuisine. Did not want to leave as Thai curry was addictive. Hotel located in the middle of very busy city and has several restaurants in walking distance. Overall our stay was wonderful.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tjstorck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here while doing business in Xiamen. We went for club room which is worthwhile for the club lounge benefits.

Restaurant downstairs was quite nice but be careful if you asked for a change to the dish as their English is poor and they mess these special requests up. We refused to pay for a meal due to terrible delays on meals which were incorrect and management handled it very poorly.

Hotel itself is great quality

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel has all modern amenities and is located right next to a high-end shopping mall, with Gucci, Alfred Dunhill, and other labels. The concierge of the hotel provided very good service to us on local attractions, etc. We asked for pick-up service at the hotel and paid 250 RMB for a comfortable nine-seater coach for our group of six. The rooms are well-lit, and housekeeping was of good quality.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eymwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I didn't know quite what to expect, as Crowne Plaza hotels can have quite a large variance in their quality. This Crowne Plaza was top notch. Breakfast was very good. The Gym was slightly above average with a pretty good weight room, separate aerobic area with machines. The pool was also very nice, but it was a little too chilly to test it out.
The hotel is attached to a very exclusive mall, and there were several good restaurants available that weren't part of the hotel. Xiamen is not quite as spread out as other Chinese cities, so this location was actually quite amenable to visiting other parts of the city. It was usually a 15-25 minute taxi ride to any place in the city.
The rooms were way above average, especially for a Crowne Plaza. As I stated in my review of the Causeway Bay Hong Kong Crowne Plaza, this CP was actually very close to an Intercontinental service level. The service itself was exceptional. If I had to do business in Xiamen again, I would be back.
The internet access wasn't as fast as I would have liked, but it was very good.

Room Tip: There aren't any really good "views" from the rooms, but I did have a corner room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
2.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#3 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.0 mi away
Langham Place Xiamen
Langham Place Xiamen
#4 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marco Polo Xiamen
Marco Polo Xiamen
#5 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Xiamen - Wuyuan Bay
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Xiamen
Le Meridien Xiamen
#6 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen

Property: Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
Address: No.199 Jiahe Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361012, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#20 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen is located in the geometric center of Xiamen, which is sitting at Lianban interchange. It is assured most convenient point to island and the surrounding area. Hotel is only 8 minutes driving from High-speed Railway Station (Xiamen Railway Station), 20 minutes driving from airport, exhibition center, Nanputuo Temple, Gulangyu Ferry, Golf court, Xiang'an tunnel. Located in Paragon commercial district, the International luxury brand, domestic brand, Bona Cinema and Utopz supermarket are close at hand. The exclusive Garden Restaurant sweeps up a variety of cuisine, such as Starbucks, Haagen-Dazs, Xuliushan, Grace dishes. The surrounding encompasses a wide range of Xiamen popular restaurants. Within 5 minutes walking distance to Mingfa Commercial Plaza, KTV, IMAX, Video Game Center, Ferris Wheel and other recreational activities become the best choice to spend leisure time. Besides providing the usual comforts in 327 luxurious rooms and suites, the pillar-free Grand Ballroom-which is over 1, 000 sqm and a soaring 6.8 m high and the other eight meeting rooms can accommodate from 10 up to 1000 persons. Above Café provides different theme everyday by local specialties. Chinese Restaurant provides Teochew cuisine and local seafood. The Royal Bar is the perfect place to enjoy cocktails, wines and other favorites. All you featuring are a perfect venue to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing