We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise in Xiamen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
Ranked #8 of 1,251 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in Xiamen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I didn't know quite what to expect, as Crowne Plaza hotels can have quite a large variance in their quality. This Crowne Plaza was top notch. Breakfast was very good. The Gym was slightly above average with a pretty good weight room, separate aerobic area with machines. The pool was also very nice, but it was a little too chilly to test it out.
The hotel is attached to a very exclusive mall, and there were several good restaurants available that weren't part of the hotel. Xiamen is not quite as spread out as other Chinese cities, so this location was actually quite amenable to visiting other parts of the city. It was usually a 15-25 minute taxi ride to any place in the city.
The rooms were way above average, especially for a Crowne Plaza. As I stated in my review of the Causeway Bay Hong Kong Crowne Plaza, this CP was actually very close to an Intercontinental service level. The service itself was exceptional. If I had to do business in Xiamen again, I would be back.
The internet access wasn't as fast as I would have liked, but it was very good.

Room Tip: There aren't any really good "views" from the rooms, but I did have a corner room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    244
    35
    7
    0
See reviews for
22
19
23
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hotel was a fine hotel for business. It was clean and the staff generally provided good service. The exception being the morning breakfast crew. It could take 15 to 20 minutes to get a second cup of coffee. Very slow, even with 10 of them working the breakfast buffet. Speaking of the buffet it was also ok, fine if you really like Asian breakfast, not so great for western breakfast. Room service was ok albeit with a limited menu. Not much in the way of food around the hotel, although there are a few places attached to the shopping mall. Across the street are also a couple of bars. The hotel did well supporting our meetings. But the staff liked to turn of the AC in the meetings rooms letting it get up to over 80F and we would have to keep complaining until they would turn it back on. There is a Starbucks near the check in desk and that was really nice. Hotel had good transport to and from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza Hotel Paragon Xiamen for a week on business to attend a conference. The hotel provides very good conference facilities and service as well as the hotel is also good for the business traveller but also to families in my point of view.

The location is very good in the midle of the city exactly in the business and shopping district (e.g., Carrefour just round the corner). The hotel has direct access to a luxury shopping mall (of course prices are high). It is just 20 minutes by taxi from Xiamen international airport, and the hotel is surrounded by nice gardens (something to appreacite when in China). There are fitness center and spa facilities on-site. In addition, there is a very nice outdoor pool which I did not try because of the winter weather conditions. Finally, the hotel provides free Internet access (wifi) in lobby area.

Service is excellent by all staff-members. However, one of the guys under the concierge desk can hardly English and when asking of an Indian restaurant, he actually sent us to an Indonesian (Yes, it's China but this hotel is actually 5 star hotel so..).

The room was excellent; new, spacious, clean, modern, and with stunning views of the city (high floor). The washroom impresive. The cleaning staff does a superb job! All this in my view is particularly important when in China.

The buffet breakfast was great. One is offered with a large selection to choose from Chinese, Japanese or international. Fresh fruits and vegetable are provided as well as fresh juices selection (e.g., watermelon). I love Chinese and Japanese breakfast so I actually enjoyed.

My only complain is one of the on-site restaurants (Parkview café) which was average at best, and of course overpriced as hotel restaurants tend to be. I had dinner just once with other three other colleagues (all from different nationalities). The menu looked international with flavours from around the world but the quality was not good. Lengthy wait before we got the food. My Indian colleague ordered a chicken curry which was very hot and bland resulting in a chewy, unappetizing texture. The salmon, although by far the most appealing of the dishes, was particularly average. Hence, I highly recommend having dinner in any of the many restaurants nearby the hotel.

All in all, the hotel is very recommendable.

Room Tip: I recommend asking of high floor because of the stunning views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for a conference my spouse was attending. I was very impressed. The room was spacious and very comfortable; great bed, luxurious bath, excellent wifi. The service was attentive and helpful. The hotel is attached to a shopping center, and just off the lobby is a hall with a variety of small, upscale stores. One nice find there was a spacious and comfortable Starbucks where I spent part of each day writing. The food in the hotel was excellent. Our room included the breakfast buffet, with a wide variety of food from various cuisines. The lunch buffet is even more impressive, if a bit expensive (about $30 per person). The a la carte menu offers some nice options at more reasonable prices. All in all, a very good Western-style hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fslane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed in the Xiamen Paragon Crowne Plaza for 1 night during business trip to Xiamen. Arrived late at night and was checked in fairly quickly. The room was nice, clean and neat - everything one would expect from a decent business hotel, and particularly important in China. The hotel is located conveniently with amenities within walking distance.

On the downside the breakfast was not fantastic and this hotel is pricey compared to the others I considered for Xiamen.

I would consider staying here again when in Xiamen.

Room Tip: Go for the club floor rooms - I don't think they are much more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KhimLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

After having stayed for 1 night in another so-call hotel, we moved to Paragon. It's way much better than that one which is even more expensive. This is a nice hotel with great service. The room is clean; bed is comfortable and pillows suit me so well. I will definitely choose this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during my China business trip and I just cannot understand how this one rated 5 star hotel! After an overnight flight from Shanghai it took long time to check in and reception area was not organised properly. After long check in process when arrived to the room it stunk of cigarette. I had to go downstairs to change the room and I was told that the hotel was full and there is no king size non smoking room available. This information was given to me with an attitude that I should have asked the question earlier! The walls are paper thin you can heareverything going on next room.
Come the next day the room bell rings at 08:30 the maids are asking they would like to clean the room!!!!
The breakfast was also disappointing very little western selection besides and eggs very little to eat. The service overall was a huge disapoinment. I was told there are better hotels in Xiamen and my next visit I will definetely look for an another hotel rather than this substandard hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask what you are getting before you take your keys from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear JamesW36,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Paragon Xiamen. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
2.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#3 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.0 mi away
Langham Place Xiamen
Langham Place Xiamen
#4 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marco Polo Xiamen
Marco Polo Xiamen
#6 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Xiamen - Wuyuan Bay
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Xiamen
Le Meridien Xiamen
#5 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen

Property: Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
Address: No.199 Jiahe Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361012, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#19 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen is located in the geometric center of Xiamen, which is sitting at Lianban interchange. It is assured most convenient point to island and the surrounding area. Hotel is only 8 minutes driving from High-speed Railway Station (Xiamen Railway Station), 20 minutes driving from airport, exhibition center, Nanputuo Temple, Gulangyu Ferry, Golf court, Xiang'an tunnel. Located in Paragon commercial district, the International luxury brand, domestic brand, Bona Cinema and Utopz supermarket are close at hand. The exclusive Garden Restaurant sweeps up a variety of cuisine, such as Starbucks, Haagen-Dazs, Xuliushan, Grace dishes. The surrounding encompasses a wide range of Xiamen popular restaurants. Within 5 minutes walking distance to Mingfa Commercial Plaza, KTV, IMAX, Video Game Center, Ferris Wheel and other recreational activities become the best choice to spend leisure time. Besides providing the usual comforts in 327 luxurious rooms and suites, the pillar-free Grand Ballroom-which is over 1, 000 sqm and a soaring 6.8 m high and the other eight meeting rooms can accommodate from 10 up to 1000 persons. Above Café provides different theme everyday by local specialties. Chinese Restaurant provides Teochew cuisine and local seafood. The Royal Bar is the perfect place to enjoy cocktails, wines and other favorites. All you featuring are a perfect venue to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing