We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou
Ranked #6 of 520 Hotels in Fuzhou
Plossberg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I was Staying 7 Nights in this hotel. The hotel and the Rooms are clean. Good Service and friendscout Stuff. The restaurant is a Little Bit overpriced. In the Bar was Not enough to Drink available. Takes GEW dass to get New delivery.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chriswittmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Manager at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. With our unique outdoor facilities swimming pool with Jacuzzi pool, fitness center, 3 theme restaurants, KTV and Spa, all can serve our guest better. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times over the past 6 months and it has greatly improved since. One problem was that English was little understood beyond the good morning or evening. Any request was met with confusion and delays until someone could come and try and understand. This has to a large extent been rectified now. The hotel has a lovely riverside walk and an outdoor pool which for a large part of the year remains closed on account of the the 'cold ' weather. Really Fuzhou has very mild weather so this is puzzling. The fare in the coffee shop has improved and one can even find a mutton toga josh done fairly creditably. What made my stay here special was a guest relation manager who happened to be from India and who did a lot to make a difference to my stay.
The location of the hotel close to Mawei make it ideal for my work.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bishwadeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Manager at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. With our unique outdoor facilities swimming pool with Jacuzzi pool, fitness center, 3 theme restaurants, KTV and Spa, all can serve our guest better. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed a night in this hotel on business. Was told that location was in Mawei and not exactly Fuzhou, which was quite a distance away. For us the location made sense as it was close to the shipyards that we needed to visit.

The room was pretty large and well appointed. Comfortable bed, nice shower and decent lighting. The only critique I had was Internet was excruciating slow. To be fair, this was common on my trip in China and could be the fault of the provider. We tried the the Japanese restaurant and thought the food was fair at best.

Overall, came away with a good impression. Stay here if you don't mind the distance to the city center or if you have business close to the hotel. Good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumish93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. With our unique outdoor facilities swimming pool with Jacuzzi pool, fitness center, 3 theme restaurants, KTV and Spa, all can serve our guest better. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. Our professional taxi team, luxurious taxi types, provide more comfortable and convenient service. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuzhou, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

As a Business trip , The quality of any service inside the Hotel was so nice , The size of Room was excellent , The Internet & Wi-Fi were working so well , The breakfast was nice in particular with great assistance and smile of Mr.Tarun who tried his best to understand our requirement and translate to the Chinese staff . The team at the front desk was very helpful and active especially the best effort by Ms. Geetika , the location is not in the City Center but this district will be the main business hub during short time .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarek630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! For guests to provide "Your Expectations, Are Exceeded" service is our aim. Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou is your ideal destination for business activities and leisure vacation.
We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

what i need in an good hotel?
1) comfortable bed: OK
2) silence: OK
3) nice breakfast: OK
4) internet and WIFI: OK
5) some kind of style and luxury (in case of 4 or 5 stars): OK
6) price: OK
smiling staff, spacious room, all amenities in the room, clean, almost 'brand-new' even if it's already 'antique' for China standard (1 year).
the only (tiny) problem: the corridor are dark, to find the room you need infrared eyes!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco_Motta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! For guests to provide "Your Expectations, Are Exceeded" service is our aim. Nearby attractions include Wanda Plaza, Mawei Ship Cultural Tourism Scenic Spot and latest exhibition center about 15 minutes by car. It’s convenient with only 25 minutes drive from airport and Central Business District with our professional limo service. We designed 284 guest rooms and suites with various luxurious facilities. Besides an exclusive executive floor for discerning guests, three restaurants, lounge, tea room and KTV with distinctive atmosphere offer you different preferences to meet with your guest. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pros: 5 star hotel room, very comfortable. Good and friendly service.
Cons: No WiFi in room, only in the lobby(free). Very bad location,there's nothing around, and you're lucky if you get a taxi outside of hotel. Breakfast is acceptable but definitely doesn't meet 5 star hotel standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! For guests to provide "Your Expectations, Are Exceeded" service is our aim. Nearby attractions include Wanda Plaza, Mawei Ship Cultural Tourism Scenic Spot and latest exhibition center about 15 minutes by car. It’s convenient with only 25 minutes drive from airport and Central Business District with our professional limo service. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

A perfect stay once more! This time I would like to comment on the superb and surprising quality of the Kandagawa Japanese restaurant. It's not that cheap, but it's certainly worth the price as it is not easy to eat good Japanese food in China.
I tried the Spa which has great potential, but they need to perfect the packages to make them attractive and understandable to foreigners.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are still the quietest, but you get a nice river view on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! For guests to provide "Your Expectations, Are Exceeded" service is our aim. An elegant restaurant indulges guests in exquisite Kaiseki cuisine and Teppanyaki prepared by our chef and his team. Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou is your ideal destination for business activities and leisure vacation.
We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuzhou hotels
Wuyi Square
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
#2 of 520 in Fuzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
InterContinental Fuzhou
#1 of 520 in Fuzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Sheraton Fuzhou Hotel
#3 of 520 in Fuzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kempinski Hotel Fuzhou
#7 of 520 in Fuzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou

Property: Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou
Address: No.86 Jiangbin Avenue East, Fuzhou 350015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Fuzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 520 Hotels in Fuzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing