We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed again - 4 nights - super stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou
Ranked #9 of 531 Hotels in Fuzhou
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A perfect stay once more! This time I would like to comment on the superb and surprising quality of the Kandagawa Japanese restaurant. It's not that cheap, but it's certainly worth the price as it is not easy to eat good Japanese food in China.
I tried the Spa which has great potential, but they need to perfect the packages to make them attractive and understandable to foreigners.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are still the quietest, but you get a nice river view on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! For guests to provide "Your Expectations, Are Exceeded" service is our aim. An elegant restaurant indulges guests in exquisite Kaiseki cuisine and Teppanyaki prepared by our chef and his team. Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou is your ideal destination for business activities and leisure vacation.
We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

From the outside the hotel looks amazing, the pool area, bars and lobby and decorated to good taste (a purple and silver velvet chair maybe slightly too ostentatious). Check in was very slow, granted it was a public holiday the day of arrival but there was still only one member of staff at the front desk. There was also no effort made to bring luggage in from outside and no suggestion of the luggage being taken up to the rooms.

The room layout is exactly the same as the Westin, the single wardrobe and reduced amount of drawers/storage space is the one downfall. Bed is really comfortable and the room is finished well. Considering the age, the carpets in the room are stained quite a lot and with some questionable stains. The shower isn't very powerful but considering the fact the shower leaks beneath the door soaking the towel its probably in the best interest no have a weak shower.

Ate in the Lotus Garden restaurant and the idea of ordering on iPads is great, seeing images of what your food looks like before arriving is a great help. However, the food arrived slowly and at different times, if all 4 dishes arrived together it would have been better. We also weren't told what dishes were when they arrived and so my colleague and I ended up eating each others noodle dishes. The meat dish (beef) was really tasty but the meat was far too fatty for my liking and having eaten the same dish at other places I was looking forward to it but was disappointed. Other colleagues ate at the Sushi bar but their only comment was that the roof was leaking and there was a large wet patch on the floor ... don't know what that says about the food!!

We went for a drink in one of the bars, it took a while for orders to be taken, and we had to explain how to make the drinks we requested (including colleagues measuring and shaking their own cocktails) The bar was pretty eager to shut down as soon as it came time to go home, but we would quite easily have put a lot of money behind the bar. When it came to paying, the drinks ordered were incorrectly charged and when we tried to split the bill it caused too much confusion, so took the hit in one fowl swoop.

The breakfast selection was mediocre and offered little to no Western selections (chicken sausages, bacon, waffles, and eggs was the extent of it) coffee was terrible and was left literally bubbling away in a pot and the juice tasted more like water than anything else.

A colleague asked to take a taxi to JinTau Lu however they insisted he took the hotel car which he had to wait 30 minutes for and then proceeded to add 20RMB for this luxury (even though he asked for a normal taxi). On the way back 2 taxi's turned him down in the pouring rain when he asked to be taken to the hotel, with the 3rd one charging him more to get back because the hotel is so far out and the chance of a return fair unlikely. The hotel itself is located in the middle of nowhere, if you want to go out to eat you need to take at least a 10 minute taxi or eat in the hotel.

We booked into the hotel for a week and a half on the basis that it was a new 5* hotel with a good easy route to and from the factory but in reality the Westin which is 5 minutes down the road is far superior and has a much better location and area, therefore after just 2 nights we checked out early to go stay there instead - Guess it's more like US HoJo's than advertised ...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nsalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. With our unique outdoor facilities swimming pool with Jacuzzi pool, fitness center, 3 theme restaurants, KTV and Spa, all can serve our guest better. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. Our professional taxi team, luxurious taxi types, provide more comfortable and convenient service. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Excellent hotel, have stayed here 6 times now for business. If you are unhappy with this hotel, you better find another planet:-)

Staff is really nice and helpfull, food in resturant is really good.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the poolside, more quiet in early morning for the horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tore999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work.
We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is an excellent property in nearly every regard. The quality of the hotel cannot be faulted, everything about it is tasteful. If I were really picky, the only aspect which perhaps requires attention is the extent to which English is spoken. This is China and when in Rome as the saying goes, but English is the international language of business. Things just take too long unless there is mutual fluency in "a" language. The level of English in the Business Office is not satisfactory, but no doubt it will improve. In my case, it resulted in missing the only train I could catch to make a meeting in another city. I have learned from experience to ensure I always have one contingency day per trip - others may not be so fortunate. Ask for "Stone" if you stay here and need good English language skills. He will go out of his way to help.

Otherwise, one of the very best, staff are 110% and the tariff makes it outstanding value for money. Might not suit those who need to be near the centre of town though.

Room Tip: Outstanding hotel, exceptional value for money but be warned, it's out of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatientAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. With our unique outdoor facilities swimming pool with Jacuzzi pool, fitness center, 3 theme restaurants, KTV and Spa, all can serve our guest better. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. Our professional taxi team, luxurious taxi types, provide more comfortable and convenient service. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My vendor's factory is not far from this hotel, so at last when I visit him in Fuzhou, I have a nice place to stay instead of the usual damp and smelly places downtown. This hotel is brand new, and is in the same class as Crown plaza or Sofitel chain hotels in China. You’d think you are in Macau! Funnily enough the room design is extremely similar in these three chains. Anyway, the rooms are great, service is charming and available, there is a large pool and many other amenities and they are building a spa and a club. In all, the perfect place for sleeping when on business in the Ma Wei area. At last!

Room Tip: Swimming pool view is more quiet, as they are still building on the riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... F, Marcom Executive at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This hotel is located in one of the emerging development zones of Fuzhou, some distance from the town's centres. In that regard, its location may not be ideal for persons on town-centred business - or for tourists, looking to explore the commercial or historic hearts of Fuzhou. It is, however, without question a very well-appointed hotel with comfortable rooms and riverside views. The service is good and there are enough English-speaking staff to put the non-mandarin speaker at ease. A decent breakfast is an additional bonus for the road-warrior.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
3  Thank ayo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoFuzhouChina, Manager at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Dear ayo68, many thanks for your valued comments! Our hotel is designed to suit for both business and leisure travelers with all rooms equipped with complimentary use of Internet access, satellite TV with world news channel to keep our guest up to current affairs. With our unique outdoor facilities i.e. swimming pool with Jacuzzi pool, fitness center, 3 theme restaurants, furthermore we will open our KTV and Sauna facilities for the coming Summer period to serve our guest better. Our aim is to provide a comfortable and relax environment to our staying guest after a hectic day of work. The management also had added in a fleet of 6 brand new saloon car and coaches mainly to service our guests going to the Fuzhou Commercial Business District and well as tourist spots near Fuzhou city.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou and serve you better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Peppetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fuzhou hotels
Wuyi Square
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
#3 of 531 in Fuzhou
996 reviews
Sheraton Fuzhou Hotel
#6 of 531 in Fuzhou
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Fuzhou
#2 of 531 in Fuzhou
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou

Address: No.86 Jiangbin Avenue East, Fuzhou 350015, China
Location: China > Fujian > Fuzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 531 Hotels in Fuzhou
Price Range: $69 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Riverfront Plaza Fuzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing