We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
306
15
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house wood burning torres del paine wished we could have stayed longer rental car other guests w trek felt like home included breakfast mauricio woods hosts sauna airport property town lenga
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 324 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thanks to Mauricio who is an absolute gentleman, our stay at La Casa Escondida was perfect. Mauricio does not rest for a minute. From the minute he picked us up from the airport, his main aim is to make his guests feel at home and this he did perfectly. Our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was great, we had dinner as well which was delicious. Luis gave us great tips for our tour of Bariloche and cooked our dinner just perfectly, Mauricio happily drove us back and forth to town a few times and Mauricio's mother is just the sweetest lady. I can truly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone looking for professionalism, warmth and the best value for your money. Well done Mauricio!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice_Ch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are fully in agreement with all the excellent reviews of La Casa Escondida. We arrived late in the afternoon in Punta Arenas after 36 hours of traveling, and from the moment we met Luís at the airport, we were so happy that we had chosen La Casa Escondida - for the tranquility of the setting, the charm of the lodge rooms and cabins, and most of all for the warm, friendly personal service. Unlike some bed and breakfasts, the family does not live on the premises, but one of the owners does stay in the lodge overnight, so one feels attended to at all times. La Casa Escondida is a wonderful blend of professionalism and warm hospitality, and quite a value. We stayed at more expensive lodging, but no place surpassed the experience we had at La Casa Escondida.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP2617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this fantastic place before going to Puerto Natales to hike in Torres del Paine. We thought we were very fortunate but by reading the other reviews we realized we were just two more witnesses of the fantastic mission carried out by such a great family.

They welcomed us at the airport and really took care of EVERYTHING they were by far not expected to. The location is amazing, everything in it is of very good taste. Everything works: warm and comfortable bed, good hot shower, spotless room and bathroom, heating, etc. Our room had a big window facing the forest.

Luis is an amazing cook and made an excellent parrillada with some of the best steaks we ever had (we are gauchos from southern Brazil - our standards are pretty high).

Good Chilean wine and a nice chat in front of the fireplace with friendly and interesting people to wrap it up.

To complete the experience, they arranged rental of equipment in Puerto Natales, helped us with our bus tickets, took us shopping at the free trade zone... All that for a price that is very reasonable.

We have stayed at places that call themselves "six-star hotels" that would offer us "whatever, whenever", and those places have a lot to learn with Luis, Pamela and Mauricio.

Again, thanks Casa Escondida for the best lodging experience we ever had.

Un fuerte abrazo,

Bruno y Debora

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBettoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Thank you to Luis for his great hospitality. The place is magical, charming, cosy, beautiful, in a great park. A bit outside the city, but it does not matter, Mauricio was always there to drive us here and her. The Parilla was just gorgious. Luis also arranged to book the tour to Isla Magdalena for us. It was a great moment, at the end of a nice tour of Patagonia. A place and service to recommend !

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilou4631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is hard to find enough praise for the family and its wooden hotel and three wooden cabanas, all hidden away in a small forest. It is extremely good value for money, and great fun to stay at. Elderly mum makes you omelets for breakfast, and her son-in-law (who is an English teacher during the day) is the chef in the evening if you want to book a meal. We had the choice of sea bass or a barbecue, and sampled both - delicious! Her son Mauricio looks after you completely, including running you to and from Punta Arenas airport (about 15 minutes away.) Not so easy to find La Casa Escondida using your own car - the name does of course mean the Hidden House - but is very well worth the effort. Your are about 10kms from the town centre, but Mauricio will drop you off. They close from May to August for the winter.

Room tip: You can't really go wrong - we stayed for two days in a cabana, and then came back for two days in the main house. Both were delightful, with great attention to cleanliness and small details.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews