We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Escondida
Ranked #1 of 36 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nine miles out of Punta Arenas, but the owners understand that if you do not have transportation that they will provide it. A family team operation here, Pamela and Luis have enlisted the aid of a brother and mother to help with the cooking and upkeep.
Highlights? The meal cooked by Luis, the sauna, and most of all, their help arranging outings. When we found that the big tour boat that went out to the "isle of penguins" had been cancelled because of wind, Pamela hooked us up with another vendor that left in the morning and it was fantastic.
STAY HERE, it's like the log cabin experience you have always dreamed about!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 311 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thanks to Mauricio who is an absolute gentleman, our stay at La Casa Escondida was perfect. Mauricio does not rest for a minute. From the minute he picked us up from the airport, his main aim is to make his guests feel at home and this he did perfectly. Our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was great, we had dinner as well which was delicious. Luis gave us great tips for our tour of Bariloche and cooked our dinner just perfectly, Mauricio happily drove us back and forth to town a few times and Mauricio's mother is just the sweetest lady. I can truly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone looking for professionalism, warmth and the best value for your money. Well done Mauricio!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice_Ch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are fully in agreement with all the excellent reviews of La Casa Escondida. We arrived late in the afternoon in Punta Arenas after 36 hours of traveling, and from the moment we met Luís at the airport, we were so happy that we had chosen La Casa Escondida - for the tranquility of the setting, the charm of the lodge rooms and cabins, and most of all for the warm, friendly personal service. Unlike some bed and breakfasts, the family does not live on the premises, but one of the owners does stay in the lodge overnight, so one feels attended to at all times. La Casa Escondida is a wonderful blend of professionalism and warm hospitality, and quite a value. We stayed at more expensive lodging, but no place surpassed the experience we had at La Casa Escondida.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP2617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this fantastic place before going to Puerto Natales to hike in Torres del Paine. We thought we were very fortunate but by reading the other reviews we realized we were just two more witnesses of the fantastic mission carried out by such a great family.

They welcomed us at the airport and really took care of EVERYTHING they were by far not expected to. The location is amazing, everything in it is of very good taste. Everything works: warm and comfortable bed, good hot shower, spotless room and bathroom, heating, etc. Our room had a big window facing the forest.

Luis is an amazing cook and made an excellent parrillada with some of the best steaks we ever had (we are gauchos from southern Brazil - our standards are pretty high).

Good Chilean wine and a nice chat in front of the fireplace with friendly and interesting people to wrap it up.

To complete the experience, they arranged rental of equipment in Puerto Natales, helped us with our bus tickets, took us shopping at the free trade zone... All that for a price that is very reasonable.

We have stayed at places that call themselves "six-star hotels" that would offer us "whatever, whenever", and those places have a lot to learn with Luis, Pamela and Mauricio.

Again, thanks Casa Escondida for the best lodging experience we ever had.

Un fuerte abrazo,

Bruno y Debora

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBettoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Thank you to Luis for his great hospitality. The place is magical, charming, cosy, beautiful, in a great park. A bit outside the city, but it does not matter, Mauricio was always there to drive us here and her. The Parilla was just gorgious. Luis also arranged to book the tour to Isla Magdalena for us. It was a great moment, at the end of a nice tour of Patagonia. A place and service to recommend !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilou4631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is hard to find enough praise for the family and its wooden hotel and three wooden cabanas, all hidden away in a small forest. It is extremely good value for money, and great fun to stay at. Elderly mum makes you omelets for breakfast, and her son-in-law (who is an English teacher during the day) is the chef in the evening if you want to book a meal. We had the choice of sea bass or a barbecue, and sampled both - delicious! Her son Mauricio looks after you completely, including running you to and from Punta Arenas airport (about 15 minutes away.) Not so easy to find La Casa Escondida using your own car - the name does of course mean the Hidden House - but is very well worth the effort. Your are about 10kms from the town centre, but Mauricio will drop you off. They close from May to August for the winter.

Room Tip: You can't really go wrong - we stayed for two days in a cabana, and then came back for two days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a night at La Casa Escondida at the beginning of our month long trip to Patagonia. Our experience was so great that we made time to stay for 3 more nights at the end of our trip as well! Pamela, Luis, Mauricio and "Nana" provided excellent customer service. They picked us up from the airport, gave us a ride to and from town, gave good recommendations on things to do in Punta Arenas, and even arranged our bus tickets to our next destination for us before we even arrived. They were the nicest hosts we could imagine, and were so personable and we felt like family friends by the time we left. It was great to get to know them and how they have built their business over the years. Luis handcrafted all of the beautiful rustic cabins himself, in a beautiful forested setting just outside of the town. This place really gives you that rare feeling that the family has put their heart and soul into the entire operation, including the buildings and services they provide.

Our cabin (#2) was very nice with a cozy wood stove and a comfy bed with lots of warm comforters. We also liked to hang out in the main building by the fireplace and meet fellow travellers over a glass of wine (Pamela, Luis and Mauricio are constantly asking if they can get you anything, tea, coffee, etc). There is a computer for guests to use there, and dinner is served there as well. The bbq dinner was absolutely delicious, and included steak, sausages, baked potatoes and salad. We also had wine with all our dinners. We ate the bbq 3 times and also tried the fish dinner one night, which was incredible as well. The only thing I would add is a dessert option. Breakfast is also really good, with a personal pan of scrambeled eggs with ham, fruit salad and toast.

The property also has a sauna and outdoor shower tucked away in the woods, which was a great treat after our hiking trip through the mountains.

The place is a little outside of the main town (outside of walking distance), so it is nice and quiet and easy to get a good night's sleep. Also, Pamela or the other hosts are more than willing to give guests a ride to and from town.

Part of our trip was for birding and wildlife viewing, and we were pleasantly surprised to see lots of species around the property! They have had woodpeckers, owls and many other bird species there. I even saw a flock of about 12 Austral Parakeets fly by on our last day there!

The value for money is excellent here, and you can't beat the hospitality. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 26 in Punta Arenas
724 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
297 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#9 of 26 in Punta Arenas
119 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#7 of 26 in Punta Arenas
97 reviews
6.9 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#1 of 79 in Punta Arenas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Escondida

Address: Parcela # 26 A | Ojo Bueno, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $98 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage decorated in rustic style run and operated by its owners. Located 7kms south of airport and 15kms north of town. Public transportation close by. Free Wi-Fi in the main house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing