We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
304
15
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houselog cabinwood burningtorres del painecell phone to callchillispeak excellentwished we could have stayed longerchilean sea bassthe busin townrental carweek tripother guestslovely familychile and argentinapuerto natales
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 322 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really really enjoyed our stay at La Casa Escondida. The hosts are so kind and helpful! The breakfast is good. We also had a wonderful dinner that Luis cooked (una parilla!). We were there with our kids. They enjoyed the playground and the fresh air! They were feeling like home. The cabin was clean and we slept well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avermette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I don't know what else I could add to the glowing reviews for La Casa Escondida and its warm, welcoming hosts. Form the moment Mauricio picked us up at the airport, tlll the moment Luis dropped us off, we enjoyed every moment of our stay. Between their senses of humour, willingness to help in any way they can, and relaxed, easy manner with their guests, Pamela and Luis bring out the best in everyone staying there. My husband, who as a rule does not enjoy B and B's, wants to go back and 'intern' with Luis, tease Pamela, keep Mauricio company in Terra Del Fuego, and have BBQ ever night! I wish I could give 10 stars. We loved this place and the people who run it! A big thanks to our friends Pamela, Luis, Mauricio and Edida (Pam and Mauricio's mom, probably not spelled correctly) for a wonderful beginning and end to our first visit to Punta Arenas. So glad to have shared the penguin experience with you and the boys!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tehgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

After 4 days stuck in San Pedro trying to pass the border (it was closed due to bad snow!) it was such a relief to find such a nice place like last casa Escondida! ...One of the owners Pamela collected us from the airport (just less than 10 minutes away). After staying in as good few dodgy places throughout South America it was such a comfort to have cosy beds, WARM power showers and a fire to sit around at night. Pamela cooked us a lovely dinner and even gave us some wine on arrival. The following day she went out if her way to drive us into the town even after we said we could get taxis. I would 100% recommend staying there if your in punta arenas..its more than we expected for the cost and Pamela was so helpful even with booking penguin tours etc. .....a BIG thumbs up!! :)

Room Tip: ...all the wooden cabins are fan it just depends on how many people you want in each.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie_Kavanagh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay in Casa Escondida! Pamela looked after us so well, she picked us up from the airport, settled us in with a delicious glass of wine and spent time chatting with us giving us tips on the area. She and her husband Luis could not have been more helpful. Easily the best, warmest, most comfortable and nicest place we have stayed in in South America so far! And the shower is amazing! Could not recommend this place enough! Delicious breakfast too!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I went to Chile for our honeymoon and while we had an amazing time in Chile, staying at La Casa Escondida was one of the highlights of our 2 month visit. Pamela, Luis and their entire family are so helpful, knowledgeable and fun. Between Luis' cooking, Mauricio who will drop anything to come offer a ride to you anywhere in the city, and Pamela's wonderful smile and hospitality - this place is truly outstanding. Pamela's mom is simply the best and hilarious to boot. We planned on staying only one night and ended up staying four! In two months of staying in Chile, this was the first and only place the entire time that we did not hear: roosters crowing at all hours, children crying, loud music blaring, dogs barking throughout the night. In fact, we only heard the calming wind. We got the best night sleep there! I seriously cannot recommend this place enough. My husband and I plan on visiting again. Do yourself a favor and book a week's stay.

Room Tip: Anywhere on the premises is simply fantastic!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews