We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight!”
Review of La Casa Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Escondida
Ranked #1 of 34 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at La Casa Escondida for three nights near the end of December. Mauritzio, Pamela and Luis are excellent hosts. We stayed in one of the cabins out back with our two boys--three and eight and had more than enought room. There was a large queen size bed and three single beds with huge, warm duvets. The breakfasts were amazing and we were able to arrange anything. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!! Oh, and food was amazing too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 310 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

lovely people, family-run b&b, terrific dinners (ask for the parrillada and they are super helpful about driving us into town once per day plus the public bus is easy to use from their house,property itself is pleasant with good birding from your cabin

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank atreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived more than an hour late at the Punta Arenas airport well past midnight. Pamela was waiting for us at the airport holding a sign with our name and waving cheerfully. This cheerful enthusiasm late in the evening set the tone for our stay. Pamela and Luis are the most conscientious hosts I have ever stayed with and were always cheerful. The breakfast was excellent, plentiful and served with a smile. Furthermore it came with real coffee! Something I cannot say about any other B&B we stayed at in Chile.

Luis helped us figure out what to do in town and gave us practical time and money saving tips about visiting Torres Del Paine found in no guidebook and it showed that he genuinely cared about how much we enjoyed our time in Patagonia. Furthermore he requested that if we run into any trouble on our trip that we call him and he would help us sort it out. This really made us feel secure in our choice to explore Patagonia by car.

If you want a real treat have dinner at Casa Escondida. Luis makes excellent stuffed sea bass and barbecue and you are welcome to provide your own wine or he will provide you wine that compliments the food well at or near cost rather than at a large markup.

In short you could stay pretty much anywhere else in South America and not meet hosts this friendly or find accommodations as clean and pleasant as La Casa Escondida.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abryden334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We finished our journey of 2 weeks to patagonia, the last stop Punta arenas and back to Santiago. Casa escondida was the best place to be and keep the best memories of chilenan people and hospitality. Served by its owners, Luis, Pamela and their family are loving people who are willing to make you feel at home, cozy and warm. The house is a cottage in the woods with wonderful birds around. The breakfast is included, which is perfect, and they serve dinner as an additional service i strongly recommend to have dinner, its home made, delicious and abundant the price not only for dinner but for the whole stay is worth and it has a very reasonable price. The decoration is very cozy and i will always admire the crochet courtains that grandma made.
If you are willing to have a simple,homy, cozy and lovable stay then you should stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamilinaBarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pamela, Luis, Mauricio, and Etita are wonderful hosts in this very nice property outside of the bustling city of Punta Arenas. We loved the handmade wood furniture and the crocheted window shades. The main house is roomy and warm with a fireplace and many windows which look out onto a beautiful forested property. The rooms are spatious and the beds are comfortable. We appreciated the transport to and from town and the assistance given to get laundry done and tickets secured. The food, should you decide to eat dinner at La Casa Escondida (breakfast is included with the room) is excellent! We could not be happier with our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Absolutely loved La Casa Escondida! We stayed three nights, 1 when we first arrived in Chile and then 2 more nights 2 weeks later at the end of our trip. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, always ensuring we had what we needed when we were on the property, and then shuttling us around to the places we needed to go. They even picked us up on short notice when we returned as we were trekking and didn't buy the return bus ticket until that afternoon; they also got up and made us a 4 AM breakfast before our 5:30 AM flight home! I am pretty well traveled and love picking small local places to stay. La Casa Escondida is simply the best I have ever stayed at! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eadorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed three nights at the casa escondida at early december. Pamela met us arriving on bus and took us the the perfect property with lots of nature, wood and hospetality. Pamela, Luis and Mauritius help us with everything we need - drive to the city, airport, recomendations and reservations. I've never seen such hospetality. The room was really nice, and the living room was a great place to stay in when raining.

We eat at the casa at evening three time, BBQ and fish which were great.

We totaly recommend this place, don't worry about the distance from the city, you won't feel it with the great hosts. I also recommend to walk around the grounds when staying, it is amazing.

Thank you Luis, Pamela and Mauritius for wonderfull staying!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
8.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
852 reviews
7.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#9 of 26 in Punta Arenas
118 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 26 in Punta Arenas
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
714 reviews
7.9 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
176 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Escondida

Address: Parcela # 26 A | Ojo Bueno, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $98 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage decorated in rustic style run and operated by its owners. Located 7kms south of airport and 15kms north of town. Public transportation close by. Free Wi-Fi in the main house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing