We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome view”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had an overnight layover between the Falkland Islands and Santiago for which I was booked into the Hotel Plaza. It was about a 30 minute (12,000 pesos) cab ride from the airport, but it's situated right on the central plaza. There are a rather large number of stairs leading up to the lobby, so this hotel really isn't for anyone who can't deal with them. My room was lovely - a very comfortable queen-sized bed with plenty of pillows and covers, but best of all a huge balcony overlooking the plaza. Breakfast was tasty and offered a variety of prepared and fresh food options. I only had two difficulties during my stay. First, no one who was working when I checked in spoke English. We muddled through and figured it out, but be prepared to face that possible challenge. However, the next day the young man who checked me in did manage to find someone who could speak English. Second, the noise level was a bit high. The church bell stopped ringing after midnight, but the walls between rooms were fairly thin. Part of this may have been the shock after arriving from a place where all you hear at night is the wind, but it didn't prevent me from getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you have problems with stairs, then maybe this hotel is not for you, as you need to go up one flight of stairs before you get to reception.It is secure as you cannot get there without buzzing the reception to allow you access through a solid door on the ground level. The rooms are spacious amd have good beds.The bathroom in my room had a wall tile missing ,but apart from that every thing seemed to function well. The windows are old timber framed and can be a little difficult to keep open if the heating becomes too much.The hotel is located adjacent to the main park and gives easy access to the shopping centre, restaurants and other places of interest. Reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orcaSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We arrived at the Punta Arenas bus depot at 5pm in the rain with no booking. A local, who was on the bus with us, approached us to enquire if we needed transport to our hotel, as his Mum had arrived to pick him up in his van.
When we explained our situation, he asked how much we were prepared to spend for our one night stay.
The town had just suffered a major flooding of mud the day before. It was chaos! However our new friend dropped us off at the Hotel Plaza.
His decision was excellent. Good hotel, good price and the location was perfect as we were to check-in for our cruise the next afternoon, just across the park.
The room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
Two single beds and a queen on a higher level.
The room was large enough for the four of us and very clean.
The bathroom was a bit pokey but plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was basic but sufficient.
This hotel is old and rustic but comfortable.
Internet is free and fast.
With all the mud around town, we felt bad every time we returned as the stair case would get filthy with each step.

Room Tip: Did not hear the clock bells from the back room
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Perfect location in the main square. Our room was very big with huge ceilings. Rooms aren't modern or anything but have character. Bathroom was very clean and nice. The only bad thing was that church bell ringing right next to us. Oh man that can get to you up until midnight but overall it was a nice place with a nice breakfast.

If I was going to Punta Arenas again I'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We only spent one night at the Hotel Plaza as on our last night there was no availability at the Hotel Carpa Manzano. I had seen the hotel during our previous days in town and found it to be one of the loveliest buildings in town, especially with its yellow paint makeover.

When we entered the room, I realized I would have preferred to stay at the Hotel Plaza for the duration of our stay rather than just for one evening. The room and the bathroom were incredibly spacious compared to Carpa Manzano; modern enough but still cozy. The breakfast was a step up from most places we've stayed in South America, where you can expect fruit juice, some bread rolls and/or cold cuts.

The owner, Enrique, even drove us to the mall when he overheard us ask at reception for a cab. That kind of personal touch was welcome, certainly, but totally unexpected. Overall, we would definitely return to the Hotel Plaza as our first choice of places to stay in Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

...it may have gone into the night but we were tired enough to not notice.

Overall it was a pleasant stay. The double room was a good size and the hotel is in a central location. Breakfast was nice. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

The good range of cable channels came in handy in the evening as there is not much to do in this town!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneycar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel is breathing atmosfere from the 20th century. With a very friendly staff.
Basic hotel. Value for money. Breakfast simple but sufficient. Wifi. Central in town.
You are welcome here and you can feel that.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PausJoh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 26 in Punta Arenas
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
#13 of 26 in Punta Arenas
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 26 in Punta Arenas
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Jose Noguira 1116, Punta Arenas, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $84 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the main square of the city, Hotel Plaza is waiting for you to offering you the best of our services. No matter if you are going on a business or holiday trip, we have all that you need to give you a very nice stay in Punta Arenas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Punta Arenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing