We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid, reasonably priced business style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Hotel Cabo de Hornos is a recently renovated, 8 floor, modern business style hotel in Punta, Arenas, a busy port city of over 120 thousand people located on the Strait of Magellan. The hotel is located in city center on the main Plaza Munoz Gamero.

I only spent 1 night here at the end of nearly 3 weeks in southern Chile and Argentina and the modern room was a blessing. I would say it was similar to a standard room in a full size Marriott and well appointed with a TV and safe box. I found it to be both clean and comfortable.

The stylish public areas - reception, bar, dining room and Internet alcove - on the main floor are nearly all stone, both floors and walls, with high ceilings and beautiful artwork. I did find these areas beautiful although almost painfully loud with human activity and not helped by the loud volume of the background music that was always playing. The Internet access was free. I only ate one meal here, the breakfast buffet - I would call it adequate and nothing special.

The hotel is reasonably priced and a good value if transiting thru Punta Arena or here on business.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 904 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

Nice modern hotel. The rooms are quite spacious with big, soft beds.

The bar and the restaurant are very stylish and we enjoyed a excellent dinner there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Old fashioned but very clean rooms, helpful staff and excellent restaurant. This hotel is located in the heart of Punta Arenas.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

After motorcycling 7,000km with my girlfriend though South America we checked into the hotel with reasonable expectations. At the beginning of the trip we had sent a package to the hotel with our names on it (we had already reserved our room) but it turned out the hotel just turned the package away. I have done this before at other hotels around the world and never had this experience - you would think that they would check our names in the computer!

Regardless the bar and restaurant are beautiful. The food was excellent and well priced and diverse - even more so considering how remote this city is in the world. It was the first real asian food we had seen in ages, let alone Mexican food and various others. We really enjoyed spending time in the bar / restaurant.

The rooms on the other hand were very dated and small - felt like a much cheaper hotel. We were facing the park on the 7th floor and it was very noisy if the window was open.

The business center was just off the lobby and whenever I needed to get onto the Internet it was filled with kids and teenagers playing on their facebook accounts. It was almost impossible to get time on a computer. They need to create a seperate area for business users and one for kids to play on. This was very annoying.

All in all it was a nice experience. The staff were helpful and their english was amazing. If they can upgrade their rooms and business centre I would give this hotel five stars next time. With that said it is probably your best option when spending time in Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzyfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Hotel rooms were fine, although they were too warm for January, and given the high winds in Punta Arenas, it is not possible to leave windows open.
Front desk staff very helpful, but restaurant service was poor. We ordered a number of dishes that were unavailable and the serving staff were unhelpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We had one night in Punta Arenas before flying home and the Cabo de Hornos ticked all the boxes - stylish reception with friendly staff, decent business-style room on 4th floor with large bathroom, good bar and restaurant and right in the middle of town. And at just over $100 a night including a large buffet breakfast, it's very good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Shopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

After researching a long time of different hotels in Punta Arenas, finally decided on this one.. When we arrived, the lobby itself was nice enough and looked like it was recently revenovated.. The staff at the front desk and bellman were all very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, that's where the good parts ended.. The room itself was tiny and was not very clean. There were a few mosquitoes in the bathroom, and the wardrobes were dusty and dirty.. The restaurant staff were friendly enough, but the food was pretty substandard even for hotel food... From our room window, we saw the new Dreams Hotel and decided to check it out... That was much more modern and the standard room sizes were twice as large as the Cabo de Hornos, and for the same amount, we decided to switch over.. Glad we did! Would not return to Cabo de Hornos even if the room were free!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jose Nogueira
Jose Nogueira
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabo de Hornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabo de Hornos

Address: Plaza Gobernador Benjamin Munoz Gamero 1039, Punta Arenas 6200965, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $123 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabo de Hornos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabo de Hornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing