We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had an overnight stop over, The room was comfortable but the restaurant was very poor. Because we were short of time we ate in. The bar was busy and people were ordering bar snacks. Our introduction to the spacious restaurant was our waitress listing all the dishes that were unavailable. I ordered a starter from the depleted list and we ordered steak as a main course from what was left.
After about twenty minutes nothing had turned up, We recontacted the waitress who then told us that my starter was now unavailable. We had our steak which was o.k. and left. We now understood why so many people ate in the bar!
The next morning at breakfast I got the impression that the main task of the staff was to avoid the guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. The front of the hotel on the square is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 853 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great breakfast. Not sure about cleanliness though ... the lounge bar was so dark that it was only once you started really looking into the darkness that you realise that it's thick with dust. The barman was so friendly with my (then) 2 year old daughter that I was really impressed. It was only the following day when he basically ignored us and was not so friendly that I realised that he had been after a tip. The rooms were okay. The doormen were so friendly - they were lovely - even the cleaning lady was lovely. I should stress that we were not in Chile on holiday!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Like most we spent time in Punta Arenas before heading to Patagonia. The Cabo De Hornos hotel is a convenient place to stay. The check in for the Cruceros Autralis Cruise is across the street so it's easy to schlep your luggage for cruise check in.

With the exception of Patricia at the front desk, the staff is not knowledgeable of basic hotel amenities or local activities. I understand language barriers and I don't expect everyone to speak English, even at a hotel that caters to tourists, however if the staff at the front desk doesn't understand you they should say so and perhaps find someone who may. Instead they stare at you like deers in headlights.

No fault of the hotel but FYI , on weekends the local youth drag race their crappy cars thru the streets! It is extremely LOUD! We were there on a Friday night, it started at 11 pm and went to day break at 5 am.... No sleep, at all.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here before my flight leaving Patagonia. I was kind of amazed at how unfriendly and uncommunicative the staff was. Of course there was a language issue but I felt like an unwelcome guest in someone's home.They did the bare minimum at check in and check out. It was the opposite of my stay at Hotel Dreams on my to Patagonia.
The room was fine, room service was fine and the location was right across from the square which had vendors. I had a view of the Strait and the square.

Room Tip: I got a corner room so I could see both the square and the Strait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemokota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado pasajero:

Hemos recibido atentamente lo que nos ha escrito.Ya estamos trabajando para ver la forma de dar solución a lo antes descrito.
Lo estaremos esperando para cambiar su impresión.


El equipo de Hoteles Australis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Quality level similar to a Four Points, Marriott or a Hyatt, very nice construction, good restaurant, nice upscale rooms with the usual amenities.

The standard international hotel you'll find in any capital city, but in Punta Arenas. Pricey (about 130-150 a night), but all you expect is there.

The few shortcomings (I call them like that, but these particular things really don't bother me), would be no fridge or microwave in the room, and some (not all of them) of the personnel are sometimes shy with foreigners (Punta Arenas is a small town, rather far from any big city) and that can be misconstrued as unpolite, but really is more a shy issue. And the last one, their room service is only between 6AM and midnight. After that, zilch. So keep in mind to leave some food in the room if you have an early flight or excursion, otherwise you'll starve. Not even coffee in the reception.

On the nice details side, they'll leave in your room 2 pieces of fruit as a snack, and a bottle of mineral water, although the tap water is perfectly drinkable. Location is great, in the center of the city, windows are double glass, so no much noise nor cold will get into the room. For the heater, you'll adjust the radiator to whatever heat you want. Beds are very comfortable, not hard at all.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor rooms, sun is low in the horizon, you'll get it in full inside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OilfieldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here a couple of times on business this past month,
the hotel is basically ok,
which is kind of unfortunate as it has the makings of a great hotel.

it's well located, clearly money went into its construction and decor, but not enough international class would be my take on it.

service is also a bit strange, as if training had not been given to the staff.
There is not the welcoming attitude you would expect in a hotel of this level and price.

there are some good people there, we had to store a lot of luggage and equipment and the concierge and bellhop went out of their way to sort easy to access storage for us.

middle of the road.

but we had an early flight and staying the last night in Puerto Natales was not convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABIIIChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night..our first room smelt like a cigarette factory..but they rapidly change it to a better one...and we are gratefull for it but the next day we had to leave at 4:30 to the airport and we asked for a coffee...OMG..what a strange request...it took our sleeping waitres 15 minutes to bring it from the kitchen..each time she brought a diffetent peace...the cup...then the spoon..then the sugar...then the cup's plate...yes...long and tiring..but guess what...no milk!!! she then explained that breakfast starts at 6:30..what a brilliant remark...guess what: we just came to the lobby at 4 am to see your shinning face...to sum it up...lazy, slow and not too smart...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veralynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 26 in Punta Arenas
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 26 in Punta Arenas
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jose Nogueira
Jose Nogueira
#11 of 26 in Punta Arenas
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabo de Hornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabo de Hornos

Address: Plaza Gobernador Benjamin Munoz Gamero 1039, Punta Arenas 6200965, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $165 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabo de Hornos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cabo de Hornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing