We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel wonderful restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Enjoyed this hotel on the town square. Excellent imaginative restaurant who were very flexible in meeting our groups time needs. Came back late from a tour (10pm) and were fed with a pre chosen menu. Agree was noisy location but didnt bother me. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDBBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comments.


The Hoteles Australis Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 855 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for one night. It was a good location and was a clean, welcoming type of hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and we felt relaxed and "at home" so you can't ask for anything more. As for noise?? Yes, the "louts" cars could be heard all over the town and there is very little the hotel can do about it - it seems to be a South American feature of young men and loud cars. Hotels should encourage laws to be introduced where these "loud" cars can be siezed by the Police -as they do in some states of Australia. Just be prepared with ear plugs if you want to stay at any hotel in town.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the top floor and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morswazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments and opinions. Every single word help us to give our guests a better experience.


The Hoteles Australis team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I advise avoiding staying here. Like other reviewers, we had lots of traffic noise from cars being raced through the streets. However, the back of the hotel is no better - there's a disco which plays very loud music until 2.00 am. There are other, better hotels to stay just away from the main square - we also stayed at Rey Don Felipe which was within an easy walk of the centre but much quieter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george_bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments. We're working on it.

The Hoteles Australis team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here mid December for 2 nights before our trip to Antarctica. Like other reviewers - we had little sleep, despite a long haul flight from Sydney. A combination of racing cars and dogs pursuing them continued until about 4am. Apart from this - housekeeping excellent, staff pleasant, breakfast OK, restaurant for dinner was nice.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquablue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Unlike a previous reviewer, I had no particular expectations. I liked the hotel and we certainly enjoyed our free welcome drink and the cameraderie of the bar, which was very comfortable and the bartender more than willing to assist us and talk. My biggest problem is that my prepaid reservations kept disappearing. I was there on two non consecutive nights. The first night I had no reservation. I found the front desk to be exceedingly helpful and they did provide us with a room (a lovely corner room). I checked on the second night's reservation twice and once had a triple reserved (there were only two of us) and otherwise had the reservation confirmed. Nonetheless, on arrival the second time, our reservation had disappeared again. Again the front desk was consumately polite and worked it out, but their record keeping seems to be a bit lax. In spite of those issues, the hotel was comfortable and friendly. Just hang on to proof of your reservation. (Tip: Also, in the elevator, you need to hit the close door button to get the elevator moving after you select a floor. )

Room Tip: The corner rooms are larger than the non corner rooms, but I expect they are more expensive. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Surprisingly luxurious hotel in Puenta Arenas squarely on the Square. Very helpful staff for the most part, providing us with a wonderful, corner, high floor room. Spacious bathroom and bedroom, good tv reception, complete with great housekeeping too. Our room had a wonderful view. We happened to be there on New Year's Eve, and they put on a rockin party. Breakfast is ok, not creative but abundant. The location of this hotel sets the stage for exploring this town, there is a good amount to see if you take the time, walks are short, shops interesting, restaurants good. The best thing about this hotel is the manager of the restaurant & bar, Carla...who went WAY beyond her job to provide answer to lots of questions, a recommendation to a masseuse (Cynthia Leguas at phone number 68 484 133--a successful deep tissue massage), tips on dining. Carla is a real asset to this hotel and if she is there when you visit, you will be in great hands.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on new years day - the hotel was clearly getting back together from the previous night. Poor attitude and service - we had paid quite a lot extra for half board as we had been told the restaurant was one of the best in town and we were concerned that many would be closed on new years day. When we arrived for dinner we were told that the restaurant was full and we could only have a table at 10.30 or 11.00pm - not acceptable when we had a 4.30am start the next day. No apology and refused to refund our half board supplement. Staff were indifferent. When we did get seated drinks took 15 mins to arrive and after 45 mins we hadn't even been offered a bread roll. Food arrived after 50 mins - nice but by then we were too tired and annoyed to enjoy it.

The experience could have been so much better if the staff had been sympathetic and apologetic - they were not interested in us.

Apart from the bad experience with the restaurant we also felt this hotel was not first class standard - room is sparsely furnished and felt neither designer nor homely, just bland. Poor quality bathroom products and no dressing gowns.

Reception bar and restaurant area nicely decorated but with brown tiles on the floor and walls it's noisy when anyone scrapes a chair back.

If you do stay here don't expect friendly service and do ensure if you book half board that you book a table in the restaurant in advance - as the hotel won't have bothered to do it for you.

Room Tip: Ours faced the square and was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 26 in Punta Arenas
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 26 in Punta Arenas
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jose Nogueira
Jose Nogueira
#11 of 26 in Punta Arenas
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabo de Hornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabo de Hornos

Address: Plaza Gobernador Benjamin Munoz Gamero 1039, Punta Arenas 6200965, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $166 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabo de Hornos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cabo de Hornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing