We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We missed our flight to Puerto Varas and had to spend the night in Punta Arenas and the LAN desk agent recommended this hotel. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous and I will say that while the rooms were spacious and very comfortable, they were slightly disappointing in comparison to the impression you have when you first enter the hotel. We loved being able to look out on the straits of Magellan, and the central location of the hotel is perfect, across from the plaza and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Unfortunately for us, we had arrived after the terrible rains that Punta Arenas experienced in the downtown area. While the water was gone, the damage done to the downtown area was pervasive, with a number of good restaurants closed due to the water and mud damage. Mud was still on the streets as you moved closer to the water. We found the staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel, although I think that it is a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: ask to have a view of the water
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thanks for your suggestions, we inform you that the city is returning to normality and the Authority has cleaned the mud that you mention. Fortunately this did not affect the operation of the hotel or citywide. Sincerely Hotel Cabo de Hornos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cabo de Hornos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 810 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

We arrived on time for the celebration in Punta Arena. This hotel faces the park where the locals were displaying their goods, some people in our group complained of the noise in the park, but I loved it. I like to pick energy from people having fun. It was cold for me, so to be able to see it all from the room it was great.
You can miss the entrance of this hotel, and I was surprise how large it was inside. This hotel is centrically located in an adorable town!
I loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floribel071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

We are glad you had a nice experience. Sincerely Hotel Cabo de Hornos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed here one night in late January,2012. Hotel is very good and location is excellent. Meals were fine and service good. Room was nice and we had a great view of the Straits of Magellan an the port. Visited the town square and a few shops.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Port.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments; effectively we have beautiful views for the Strait of Magellan or the Main Square. Sincerely Hotel Cabo de Hornos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

we stayed here for one night. although it took some time before the lady of the reception desk could find our reservation (made the day before), the reception was as it should be. we had a beautiful spacious modern room with a view on the square. it is a nice and modern hotel with a pleasant lobby, bar and restaurant although we would prefer more light in these areas. the service is friendly and the location perfect, right in the middle of town at the main square. in the evening we had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel, which was good and affordable. however every visitor of punta arenas should at least go to restaurant sotito's bar at the harbour and order king crab. we had (twice, we went back) the best ever.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank gjp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

We welcome your comments; we hope to provide an unforgettable experience if returned to Patagonia again. Sincerely Hotel Cabo de Hornos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed there for a short period of time. The hotel is in the best town spot. Very friendly staff!!,

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanzerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thanks for your comments. Sincerely Hotel Cabo de Hornos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed for several nights at this hotel using it as our base to tour Patagonia.

The location of the hotel is superb and the views from our room were great.

The restaurant served good breakfast and lunch, and the service is friendly.

The room was very small and very basic, but the cleaning service was good. The TV set was from the 70s of the past century. There is no ventilation, including the bathroom, so the only way to get fresh air is to open the window.

Room Tip: If you want a good sea view, you have to be at least as high as the 5th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhaba1_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Welcome your suggestions and we inform you that we are justly in the process of renovation of televisions in the hotel. Sincerely Hotel Cabo de Hornos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The rooms are acceptable, generally clean, well-serviced and comfortable. The breakfast is relatively good for Chile, with omelettes made to order in addition to normal fruit, toast and cereal. The coffee is terrible, even by Chilean standards - the worst coffee that I have ever tasted.

However, the front desk service was very bad, for two reasons. I had arranged to have a parcel sent to the hotel from Europe - for various reasons I could not have it sent any other way. I checked with the desk staff on two occasions and was told that no parcel had arrived, they had no record of any parcel for me. As it turns out, the parcel arrived on 9th January but they told the courier (DHL) that my reservation was cancelled. This was not true, my reservation was never cancelled, and in fact this was the second time in two weeks that hotel staff said that a reservation was cancelled when it was not.

The parcel was destroyed, costing over 450 euros ($600). The women at the front desk made no real effort to see if a parcel had arrived, and clearly did not care. They said they would follow it up and contact me, but they never did. Two times I checked with them, to be sure, and both times I got the same disinterest.

In a separate incident our bags were stored in the basement and despite two requests to have them brought up, they never appeared. The guy with the keys just vanished. After midnight I went looking for our bags and got the keys all over again. We had to carry them ourselves from the basement to the fourth floor.

As we were leaving, the elevator, which had been unreliable, stopped working, forcing us to carry heavy bags down eight flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4,892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Cabo de Hornos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your suggestions, they will help us to improve. In relation to that, we would like to tell you: The available coffee in our hotel is 100% natural and Italian style, of Brazilian origin and prepared under the standards performed by the producer. However, we will perform tests in order to evaluate other options. In relation to documents not received, the mistake became because the reservation originally made under your name was canceled by the first agency. Later on, another travel agent made a reservation but as a group. The last, the hotel did not have the names of passengers (and obviously yours) until the check in time. Therefore, the documents sent it at your name was not received. Finally, according to our procedures, as for our bellboy did not help with your luggage, we kindly inform you that he was administratively punished. We regret any inconvenience that these situations may have caused you and we remain at your complete disposal. Sincerely Hotel Cabo de Hornos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 26 in Punta Arenas
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 26 in Punta Arenas
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jose Nogueira
Jose Nogueira
#11 of 26 in Punta Arenas
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabo de Hornos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabo de Hornos

Address: Plaza Gobernador Benjamin Munoz Gamero 1039, Punta Arenas 6200965, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $100 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabo de Hornos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cabo de Hornos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing