We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce restaurant, average service, good food with exceptions”
Review of Jekus

Jekus
Ranked #39 of 174 Restaurants in Punta Arenas
Cuisines: Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Klasse Objekt mit großen Portionen zu absolut akzeptablen Preisen - sehr beliebt!
Punta Arenas, Chile
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“NIce restaurant, average service, good food with exceptions”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Been there with my wife, the restaurant is nice and very well located, just steps from the main square and the strait of magellan, in the dining district, nearby La Luna, El Sotito and other well known restaurant of the city.

The service was very good, just a bit slow, we shared a "Parrillada", (mixed roast meat), the pork was very well cooked, the lamb ok, but chicken was almost raw and the beef fairly overcooked. The meat was served with a veru nice vegetable mix and roasted potatoes.

As dessert we have taken a Tiramisú.well done, the only minus was sweet chocolate instead of bitter as for the Italian Original.

The price is the most interesting part of the diner, all of this costed just 40 US$. Recommended for cheap budgeters who wnat to ewnjoy a good meal with a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NaoVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    99
    44
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting and tasty food presentations”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We felt like we had hit a "perfect storm" for restaurants for Punta Arenas as it was a Sunday night and only 6:45 PM and there was hardly any restaurant open. Luckily Jekus was open and turned out to have fun atmosphere, good beer and an interesting presentation for good. Our order was grilled vegetables and meats served on one container with a fire under it. It was tasty and fun for two to eat. Our waiter visited with us for quite a while and the personal touch added to the experience. The food was medium in price and we would have gone again if we had stayed in town longer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwick, UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Good Food”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Made a single evening visit after my friends had departed to Argentina. Good atmosphere, friendly staff and very good food. The draught Austral Beer is highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanellus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Ate here twice in one day, so can't be that bad. Had caprese salad (cheese, tomatoes, balsamic) which was good, with bread, salsa. And scallops in parmesan sauce which were not. The sauce was great, scallops mostly had no taste. And the whole meal close to $30 I think. Returned later to watch the SuperBowl, my friends had lamb which was OK, potatoes were great, I had gnocchi (OK, good cheese sauce). We also had empanadas, which were surprisingly good, with Shrimp which I don't like. Service is very attentive and helpful. Good beer election.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jekus also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Jekus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing