We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good - but a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
163 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quite good - but a few glitches”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed in the Dreams del Estrecho in Punta Arenas for five nights on business. From outside the hotel looks somewhat out of place (too big, huge glass fronts), but once inside it is rather comfortable with a good restaurant and generally friendly staff. There are a few problems, though, which are mostly related to the construction of the rooms. At first glance these are great but after a while you realize that they are rather dark, hot (a/c did not work properly, and the windows can only be opened a tiny bit), and get noisy when the wind picks up. Also, one does hear the music from the Casino on the lower floor rooms, and the bar on the upper floor ones. And, as other reviewers mentioned before, the shower is great, but it floods the bathroom. Wifi didn't work well as the signal was too weak, best to ask for a LAN cable.

Despite these glitches I enjoyed the stay - the views from the seaside rooms are wonderful, breakfast, lunch and dinner were all pretty good, and the staff tried very hard to please. The location is OK, too, with several restaurants in the vicinity. The Dreams is currently the most modern and comfortable hotel in Punta Arenas.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms on floors 5-7
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    273
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
153
312
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We checked in that nice hotel and the receptionist told us that they have no handicapped rooms
ok no problem we took a normal room high up. I wondered why the architect mad it impossilbe for someone in the wheelchair to go to the restaurant, rotating small doors… i had to go through 5 doors at backstage and saw the kitchen which was ok. Then the staff at the reception told us
that the ferries dont drive beginning of the week only weekends.. so we decided to drive up to next harbour town which we passed already. On the way up we passed the harbour and thought we better ask and of course their was a ferry crossing next day. We bought tickets and thought we go back to the hotel to stay for another nite. Checking in they sayd ah we dont have more room sorry you checked out.. the receptionist was looking for over half an hour….and finally he found a yes you guessed right a handicapped room ! the receptionist from the day before which was so helpfull sayieng there is no ferry crossing, went off to hide at the backoffice…he sayd us aswell our car wont go to the parking since it is too high but there was at least a foot of space and when we asked about the way to go to the pinguniera at Seno Otway he told us it s a perfect asphalted way… it was gravelroad with many holes and waterdumps and bumps for at least 30 kilometers.
It was windy we couldnt sleep since the wind makes noises strong whistling on the windowcoverings, alu on top of the windows outside! when we asked if this is normal, they sayd the architects from santiago didnt know that the wind is so strong in Punta Arenas, and they made mistakes in constructing, now word of sorry nothing ….
Wind was at 150 km an hour, nothing abnormal…so just make sure you dont take one of the top rooms to the seaside… you wont sleep and there wont be any reduction… only a shrug comment from the receptionist without any smile. and check the bill please carefully the minibar will appear for sure with some mineralwater,,, happened twice to us… since we were staying twice in 2 days.. so we calculated, that makes a 100 000 dollar additional over the year for the hotel if they do that with every guest!

Room Tip: not top floor when it is windy… not to the seasite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrieerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and found the rooms to be very comfortable, clean, staff friendly and the restaurant excellent. I would recommend the rooms with the sea view as these are lighter than the rooms facing the city. Amenities in the room are good and it is very clean. Situation of the hotel is excellent with some good restaurants close by and with easy access to the airport.

Room Tip: Sea view room, preferably not the top floor as sometimes they tend to move furniture around at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax21542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Most everything I'd expect in a top tier hotel. Like most work I've seen in Chile, there always seems to be just a few little things off. Nothing to worry about, but for the price I'm expecting near perfection. Just minor stuff, wall outlets not level, small rips in the wall paper, water leaking around the shower door, and a bit noisy (could hear quite a bit from the adjacent rooms). Still the best of any room in any of my 18 stays in Punta Arenas over the past 10 years.

Room Tip: Upper Floors - have two friends that have stayed on 3rd floor and were disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
242 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent rooms, wonderful view, and great food. The hotel had a casino if you like that. The breakfast was exceptional the coffee was great! The hotel staff was very prompt and friendly it was like they were happy you were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJG-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Torres del Paine.
The style of the building, very modern, somehow doesn't match with the city. Once inside, it is very nice. The room was large, modern, and the bed very comfortable. we had a great view of the strait of Magallanes.The bathroom was incredible, and the shower definitely overkill. You may need a degree in engineering to take a shower. And yes, as other reviewers remark, some of the water instead of going to the drain spills on the bathroom floor. There is a very nice top floor bar, heated pool (could be a little warmer), jacuzzi and a well equipped gym. The breakfast was excellent and the staff at the front desk was very helpful. We couldn't connect to Internet in our room and in one minute we had a person in our room installing a wifi router for us that worked perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Bad points:
- Extremely hot in the room. (Air con is not working with only a small slit of windows to breathe)
(under very strong sun in the summer time !!)
- Food offered in the restaurant are not delicious. (esp. Dinner)

Good points:
- Modern style
- Fully furnished

Room Tip: Sea View is better (in the sense of having cooler room temperature)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmahk316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dreams del Estrecho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dreams del Estrecho

Property: Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Address: O'Higgins 1235, Punta Arenas, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dreams del Estrecho 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dreams del Estrecho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing