We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, like staying at a family's house!”
Review of Hostel Keoken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Keoken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The best thing about this hostel is a great big open kitchen (recently renovated, modern, clean, well stocked). Everyone cooked dinner at night, so it felt like a big family. We made dinner alongside scientists who had just returned back from Antarctica. Better yet, the owners are very friendly and accommodating (arranged our tours, let us leave our bags, called a taxi in the morning). Their adorable son happily played in the main room. It almost felt like a homestay. They're doing major construction, so I can only imagine the place will get better. Also I left my camera in my room and they shipped it back to the US for me! What honest, generous hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoraPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 131 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

The housekeeper at the Keoken, though kind, was the only one to greet us. She allowed us to check in early, which was quite helpful. But the owner, Maribel, I believe, popped out of her closed door only a couple of times and did not offer any kind of greeting, which seemed strange. Later in the afternoon her husband did help us by trying to call the Seno Otway Penguin Tour folks. The hostel is under construction, the new eating area is very nice, and it probably just has some growing pains. I would stay here again as it has many very nice features. Another couple we spoke with found the owners to be very helpful, so maybe it was just bad timing on our part?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in the middle of construction, so they charged less than their usual rate. We stayed 4 nights in two different rooms. We paid CH$25,000 for our first room, which was large and had a private bathroom. For our 2nd room we paid CH$22,000. This room (#3) is much smaller, and the bathroom is across the hallway instead of attached to the room. In theory it's a "private bathroom" too (all of the other rooms have attached bathrooms) but since its in the hallway other people use it too.

The hostel is very clean, there's wifi but the connection strength fluctuates, breakfast is fine but nothing special, and the owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 423Kristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a large upstairs bedroom that had a double bed and two single beds plus a small ensuite (I'm guessing it may normally be a dorm room). The bathroom was a squeeze and the window didn't close so it was a chilly shower in the morning!

We dragged one of the bedside tables over to our double bed, as we were alone and wanted one each, and it is a good job we did as the room had two doors and one morning whilst I was getting undressed someone (I presume a cleaner) unlocked one of the doors and tried to come in, thankfully the door hit the table and they left (otherwise it could have been an awkward moment!).

This actually happened twice, so maybe the cleaners need to learn to knock first!?

Breakfasts was brilliant, we were served eggs, toast and even homemade cookies that tasted amazing!!

The staff were friendly and it was a ten minute walk to town, supermarkets etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were in a Punta Arenas a couple of times as we made an emergency drive from Argentina to PA as our car needed to be repaired and Argentina didn't have the part it needed. Koeken is a really comfortable, nicely done up hostel. It's bigger than it looks as we later discovered there was a whole other kitchen and extra rooms upstairs! In cold Punta Arenas (cold even in February) we were happy to find and use the gas heater in the room. The duvets on the beds are of excellent weight and quality, so you can sleep quite snuggly. Breakfast is very pleasant, lots of bread, a cake or some home baking, lots of coffee.
The owners of the hostel are really friendly, and really go out of their way to make your stay smooth. For example, they recommended to us a good mechanic (which we later returned to when we were passing back through PA to get to Puerto Natales). On another day we bought empanadas from a bakery which turned out to be mouldy. They were so shocked and appauled by it that he drove into town to return them and got our money back (!!!). We didn't ask for it, but they really felt that we had been wronged. Very passionate and friendly people.
When we later returned to PA we tried to stay in Koeken again but they were fully booked. We'd walked to the hostel and the owner rang around on our behalf to find us a room (this was in high season).

A couple of points: the drain can be a bit smelly. We were in a room that had a double bed, and then in a separate corner two single beds. We didn't sleep in the double bed because it was too close to the bathroom with the smelly drain. The drain smells probably because the pipe doesn't have an 'S' shape and is instead straight.

Otherwise, a very nice hostel. Great people, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in a very large 3 bed room with ensuite. It was very clean with a small but functional bathroom. The bathroom window didn't quite close and the room did get chilly (in April). The upstairs is accessible from a external staircase, which gives it more of an apartment feel as it is separate from the breakfast area. The downstairs is more or less a family home and isn't really accessible in the evenings. As a couple it wasn't really a problem for us, but might be a bit of a let down for people wanting to socialise with other guests. There were occasions when there didn't seem to be anyone in.
The owner was very friendly and let us check in about 10pm after our trip to Tierra del Fuego. There is a computer available at the front desk. Breakfasts were pretty good - toast, scrambed eggs and some cookies. We used the laundry service as well, which was very fast. Location-wise, it's in a semi-residential area, a short walk to the big supermarket with ATMs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We arrived here on an early bus at breakfast time and the owner gave us breakfast before we even checked in! The room was spacious and comfy, beds had real feather duvets and breakfast was good. The owner was really friendly and it was located just a short walk to the town centre. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moni_foto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Ainil
Hostal Ainil
#23 of 26 in Punta Arenas
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#9 of 26 in Punta Arenas
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
822 reviews
0.8 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#1 of 75 in Punta Arenas
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Keoken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Keoken

Address: Hernando de Magallanes 209, Punta Arenas 6212692, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $51 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Keoken 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Keoken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing