We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ilaia is one of our favorite hotels of all time.”
Review of Ilaia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilaia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We can't say enough about our wonderful experience at Ilaia. The family and friends who run the hotel are the most warm, welcoming, and caring people you will find in the business. They helped us with absolutely everything, from driving us to the bus station, to helping us plan excursions, to serving us tea every time we arrived back from being out. We felt like they were a second family to us by the time we left. Besides the amazing hospitality, the hotel itself is beautifully appointed -- the rooms are not large, but they are extremely comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast was delicious -- homemade muesli, jams, tea, plus avocado and cheese with tortillas.

If you stay here, you will remember your experience fondly for the rest of your life. We can't wait to return to visit this wonderful place and these amazing people again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBlancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 439 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

Super friendly family run hotel that has been architecturally designed by the owners son. Very relaxing atmosphere with two free laptops and free wifi too. The room was beatuiful with a comfy king size bed and good bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful.They even printed our boarding passes and let us stay for 12 hours after checkout using the internet and all other facilities. Would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We spent two days with our kids and the experience was fantastic. Everything is made with taste and simplicity, yet warmth and friendlyness. Delicious breakfasts, marvelous rooms and tower, everything was too good to be true. We came back to Punta Arenas after going to Torres del Paine and wanted to go and say goodbye to this group of women who happen to run the best place you could go.
My children also loved it, specially the "chapatis" and "muesli" at breakfast, the delicate hand made soap in the bathroom and the delicious and relaxing third floor with a view of the whole city and Magellan strait.
Will definitively go there again if I may.
They were building two more rooms, but their idea is to stay small, only 8 rooms after the construction is finished.
There is also a yoga room, that I did not use.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Family and friends own and run this hotel. Best family-like service at all times. Hotel is expanding the number of rooms and building yoga studio on site. Has tower with great view. Amazingly enjoyable and relaxing place, I would go back with pleasure.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Cora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Very small and very personal - you immediately feel like home. It is privately owned and operated, and the owners and staff are very helpful and polite. Really an enjoyable stay.

They promote healthy food and the breakfast is definitely not the ordinary stuff you get in 95% of all hotels. Try the tea and do not miss to go up to the rooftop studio to enjoy a tranquil sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at Ilaia for a night before going to Torres del Paine and for another night after being in the park. I wish we could have stayed for a week. Ilaia is modern, clean, and extremely welcoming. The staff greet you with open arms and although they speak little English, we got along fine with the little Spanish we knew. The beds, pillows and comforters were extremely comfortable (we had 2 people in a king size). The rain shower was so relaxing and the homemade soaps are beautiful. The breakfast of chapatis with avocado, fresh cheese, or jam were amazingly good and served fresh. The tea was fantastic (they do not serve coffee or milk - but you will never miss it) and served with honey and the fresh orange juice was wonderful.

We were vegetarian and asked them for a restaurant suggestion in Punta Arenas. They pointed us to La Marmita down the street for absolutely wonderful service and food.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UseMassTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamelaCvitanic, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2010

Dear friends of Baltimore:

Many thanks for your nice words. We enjoyed a lot sharing with you.

We would like to tell you that ILAIA family has started English classes in an Institute. The staff is very enthusiastic in improving the language. As we want to offer a better service this is very necessary.

We felt very happy reading your comments.

Keep enjoying life !

ILAIA family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Lovely hotel and a wonderful, gracious staff made for the perfect launching spot on our honeymoon trip to Torres del Paine. The hotel is clean and modern, the room was cozy, the breakfast was delicious (loved the chapatis and jam), and most of all, the staff were warm and went out of their way to help us. Loved the "observatory" room at the top, too. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank slnsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 26 in Punta Arenas
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 26 in Punta Arenas
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaia Hotel

Address: Capitan Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200382, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaia hotel, is an ideal place of rest, inspired on the very roots of Patagonia, nature and welfare.We as a family, are open to the awakening Era, through activities that will let you enjoy your wonderful present right now. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing