We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean oasis”
Review of Ilaia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilaia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stopped here for one night on our way to Torres del Paine so that we could see the penguins at Isla Magdalena (a MUST do!). The staff was so warm and friendly and immediately offered us tea upon arrival and helped us make dinner arrangements. Room was comfortable and had good internet access. Staff was very accomodating and had an early breakfast ready for us (wow that was a lot of food!) since we had a very early penguin tour departure. They also stored our bags for us and gave us a great space to change after the tour (and more tea!). I would highly recommend if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Starthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely words. People like you make the word more nice.
A big hug with love and joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 439 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed there in March this year for one night on our way to Torres del Paine. Very warm and excellent service which made you feel genuinely welcome. Rooms were well appointed, good shower and the heating was more than adequate for the good size of rooms. Excellent breakfast with good variety. Location is OK, around 5-10 minutes from the centre of town. The only hotel we have left where we got a goodbye hug from the lady on reception!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tri_novice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank ! Our heart are full of love and gratitude !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was on my way to Torres del Paine and was only stopping for one night--wished it could have been more. The rooftop oasis satisfied all my romantic notions of looking out over the Straits of Magellan...with the addition of a complete rainbow that lingered for more than 20 minutes. This glassed-in rooftop room alone is enough to make Ilaia worth a visit, and I went up there three times during my short visit, just to enjoy the changing light. Aside from that, though, both the room and the common spaces were spotless, simple, and artfully presented. Breakfast was fantastic, and all of the employees were warm and helpful and quite obviously loved their jobs and the vibe and community spirit of Ilaia. I honestly wish that such a place--with such a feeling--existed somewhere more near me! A real surprise and delight in Punta Arenas, which, as a town, is a bit down at the heels--more of a place that people go through, whereas Hotel Ilaia might make them want to linger.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This small hotel in Punta Arenas is a great place to stay when exploring the area. This family-run hotel has the most pleasant, personable, and friendly staff I have run into in years. When you walk through the door, you are welcomed with a big smile and immediately feel like you have been added to their family. The rooms are a good size, comfortable, well decorated, modern, and very clean. We were only there two nights because of room availability when we booked, but would have happily stayed another couple of days. The staff was able to arrange without advance notice a boat visit to see the penguins on Magdalena Island which is an experience that should not be missed. Also the restaurants that were recommended to us by the staff were very good. The hotel's E-Mail reservation confirmations state: "We will be waiting for you with our hearts open" and best of all, they do!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulMMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful oasis in the slightly un-prepossessing city of Punta Arenas. Fantastic fresh breakfasts, clean rooms, charming simple decor, a great lounge room at the top with a view, and charming kind owners. Highly recommended. Makes a great a stopping place on a trip to Torres del Paine or Tierra del Fuego.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank txtraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Everything we've heard was true. Outstandingly friendly reception, hot tea served in the upstairs lookout, beautiful room with all the comforts, excellent wifi and superb breakfast including delicious coffee ( spoken like the addict I am). Good and easy parking and recommended a great restaurant
All this with no credit card guarantee, only an email exchange. Wow!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank EAxelrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay in Punta Arenas with Hotel Ilaia... Our hostesses, Liz, Juanita and all the gals at the front counter couldn't have been more warm, accommodating and helpful!

Stayed for a total of 5 nights in 2 blocks and didn't regret it one bit. It may not be the cheapest stay around, but certainly is one of the best!

Not 5-10mins walk away from the Main Street. It's a real quiet and relaxing place to spend some time after partaking in all the trekking and boating activities about the area. We enjoyed the wholesome breakfasts and free WiFi throughout the hotel. The view from the top deck too was stunning...

Please keep up the cozy, warm and family-feel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#4 of 26 in Punta Arenas
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 26 in Punta Arenas
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 26 in Punta Arenas
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaia Hotel

Address: Capitan Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200382, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaia hotel, is an ideal place of rest, inspired on the very roots of Patagonia, nature and welfare.We as a family, are open to the awakening Era, through activities that will let you enjoy your wonderful present right now. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing