We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable”
Review of Ilaia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilaia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I feel like going back to Punta Arenas, just to stay here! Staff was superb; room was superb; breakfast was superb; decor, tiny courtyard, 3rd floor lounge for star gazing all superb....simple, clean, refreshing.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeIsWhereTheCatIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience in ILAIA ...A big smile at you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    52
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
219
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

great room, breakfast and staff.

really enjoyed the experience which was both relaxing and cosy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you ... from the bottom of our heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
351 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

it’s 10 to 15 minutes walk from the centre of town. That was definitely an unusual breakfast – all served at the table – muesli, natural yoghurt and banana – followed by 6 small chapattis with avocado or raspberry – fresh orange juice and coffee. No options to have anything different; that’s what I call unusual – but served with a broad smile and little English; if I’d wanted a boring breakfast I could have stayed at a chain hotel. Wireless broadband works OK and the bed was comfy though the quilt was heavy for summer (probably essential during winter months). I’m pleased I stayed there and would stay there again – partly because the staff are so welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for having enjoyed of what we offer with such simplicity and from the heart ..

Keep smiling...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We followed the previous recommendations and stayed 2 nights at the Ilaia; the staff was very friendly, the rooms and the public areas quite charming and breakfast, nutritious and tasty... a very pleasant experience (before and after our W trek).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your loving comments.

All the best for you ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

All you would want/need for one or more nights in Punta Arenas.
Very friendly, smiley and helpful people.
Simple, but clean rooms.
Perfect distance from the main street or water.
Lovely breakfast.
Definitely stay there when in Punta Arenas!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimroseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
The laugh is our best company .

Let ' s keep smiling ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a simple and modern hotel with a tranquil and peaceful feeling.
We were greeted by the lovely ladies who run the place with big smiles and a genuine interest to make sure we were fine.
The room was lovely with a fantastic bathroom. Everything worked and it was warm and cosy. The breakfast was simple, healthy and delicious.
And best of all the service was fantastic

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaucin_gipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are very happy to read your comment and know that you deeply experience ILAIA .

We hug you from our heart ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Ilaia Hotel
My wife and I stayed at Ilaia Hotel for two nights on our way to Torres and one night at the end of our stay in Patagonia in March. I was a little skeptical of the hippy / new age vibe before we got there (not my style at all) but it turns out they are just really nice people who are very thoughtful and considerate of their guests. Not because they went through some training at a corporate headquarters but because they are genuinely nice folks. For example we bought some groceries for our stay in Torres and they were happy to let us store stuff in their freezer. They even encouraged us to use the kitchen to prepare some of our meals ahead of time. Try doing that at a five star hotel resort! So, no power crystals, no chanting...

The rooms are what you might call “Dutch Minimalist” – clean design, blonde wood, no extra decorations, bright and friendly. At first I wished the room had a TV and tea kettle but I never missed the TV and they had a hot water jug in the lobby for tea all day and night so that was fine. I would echo the comments of a few other reviewers that a few hooks to hang stuff on would be nice. But overall the beds were very comfortable, the fixtures were first rate and the hot water in the shower was great (something not to be taken for granted in Patagonia). The rooms had WIFI but they also had some internet laptops on the second floor you could use (which I did).

Breakfasts were “cold” but good. I especially enjoyed smearing fresh avocado on my freshly made chapatti. And good coffee, too!

Finally, the staff knows Punta Arenas. We needed some extra outlet adapters and they lent us theirs but we needed our own for later in the trip so they showed us how to get to the big electrical supply store in town. Meals? They initially suggested the top tourist destinations like Sotitos but when said we wanted something less touristy they quickly steered us to the Mercado on the waterfront just south of the Dreams’ Hotel. And it was awesome!

My wife and I travel a lot for business and leisure (over 50 countries and counting between us) and Ilaia Hotel makes our list as one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flat_Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We consider a very important aspect the personalized attention and the hospitality given to our travellers ... Thank you very much .

A hug into the Light ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#9 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaia Hotel

Property: Ilaia Hotel
Address: Capitan Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200382, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaia hotel, is an ideal place of rest, inspired on the very roots of Patagonia, nature and welfare.We as a family, are open to the awakening Era, through activities that will let you enjoy your wonderful present right now. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing