We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel and Helpful Staff in Punta Arenas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rural Virginian
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very Nice hotel and Helpful Staff in Punta Arenas”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Really nice hotel and a big comfy room. The hotel’s location is great; right near the main part of town. We actually ate lunch in their restaurant while here because everything else was closed because it was a Sunday. Lunch was mediocre and overpriced (so, a typical hotel meal).

The hotel desk service was wonderfully helpful--the clerk helped us arrange to go to the Otway Penguin Sanctuary on rather short notice (he tried to get us there as cheaply as possible and then called a cab when we had to resort to that).

Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    262
    77
    17
    7
See reviews for
125
297
40
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I travel extensively and only take time to write good reviews. I was on my way to Antartica, my 7th and last continent. While this hotel offers decent and clean facilities for the price,
I would definitely not stay here during the winter seasons when the Antartic tour groups come through this hotel. They are way under staffed and the night male staff is incredibly rude. I asked to see the restaurant menu as we were starving and wanted to decide whether to wait another hour for it to be open. We were told impatiently to wait. I informed them the printer ink was out without demanding it to be changed and received cursing in Spanish. It was not changed for two days and at least 5 people I knew were trying to print docs. I wondered how many got cursed at.....
And the front units get all the traffic noise while the side units get the parking lot noise....

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w8mui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Guest:

Along with our greetings, we sincerely appreciate the time you have set aside to express your opinion about our service, we are deeply sorry for your high insatisffaction level during your recently stay.

For your consern, please be aware we have inmediately taken all the necessary measures in order to avoid similar situations as you described taken place in the future. Especially considering that most of the comments expressed by our guests on TripAdvisor, as well as other medias, are mainly positive.

Definitely your comments have produced a tremendous consern and they will directly contribute to our goal to give an excellence service, the one we expect you have the opportunity to experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 separate nights as we travelled to/from Punta Arenas. It was clean and comfortable, although a little overheated (had to open windows to be comfortable). The staff were very friendly, going out of their way to be helpful. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRidgebackfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We booked through the hotel website directly and got the room for a very good rate. We were here only for one night (basically to sleep before we head out the next day to Torres Del Paine). LAN had misplaced our luggage since we had a connecting flight but delivered our luggage to the hotel that same evening (perhaps after midnight). We phoned the front desk the next morning and had the luggage delivered to our room. Our room was very spacious and clean. We visited the gym briefly which had adequate equipment even though it was a tad bit small. The breakfast in the morning was good, there was a good selection.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wlslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed for 10 days in Aug 2010. Found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful; being understood in English was not a major issue. It is located a couple of blocks from the Main Square and is conveniently located to permit walking to more restaurants along the Main streets. Bedding and bathroom were fine.
My stay was very comfortable and i did not get disturbed by noise from adjacent rooms.
The wireless internet in the room worked fine. I did not need to use the common computers in the hotel lobby.
The dining room menu was so-so with a half-dozen entrees. The menu looked impressive but the food was not as good. However, a short walk to the Main Square and surrounding restaurants took care of that. The breakfast was adequate with all the standard fare.
The only downside is that there is a disco next door (not part of the hotel) on Saturday nights plus the neighbors have a dog that barks at all hours of the night. Granted, this is beyond the Hotel's control. Shutting the windows took care of most of the noise (the yapping dog especially) but then the room got quite stuffy with the indoor heating. Therefore, i would consider this noise from the neighbors to be a minor downside.
All in all, i would recommend this hotel and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_123499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This hotel was a few blocks walk from the main street in Punta Arenas. It seemed up-to-date. There was internet service, and breakfast. In my opinion, the room was overheated and there was no way to turn the heat down. So we needed to open the windows. Helped a bit, but a centralized heating system isn't the best way to go. A restroom I used on the lobby level also was way too warm. Staff could do nothing about it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#1 of 25 in Punta Arenas
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 25 in Punta Arenas
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey Don Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Don Felipe

Property: Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Address: Armando Sanhueza 965, Punta Arenas 6200729, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Don Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first class hotel Located in Punta Arenas, the capital of the province of Magellean's, which comprehends from Cordillera del Paine on the north to Cape Horn on the south. Suited by the Strait of Magellan's in Brunswich peninsula, is the continental city farthest south in the world, and a supply port for the Antarctic traffic. At just two blocks of the city's main square, we provide you 45 warmly, large and comfortable rooms, decorated elegantly, with good taste and simplicity. Attended by a courteous and bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rey Don Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing