We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed a couple of brief visits to this Hotel, the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful.
Good food, lovely large rooms. Great fun to hire bikes and ride along the foreshore of the Strait of Magellan. Hotel also close to several the centre of town and local restaurants .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussies-abroad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guest, along with our greetings, we sincerely appreciate your opinion about our service, we are glad to know what your stay was comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 725 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We really liked this hotel. It is nice and comfortable. The staff is very good. It's in a good location. We arrived on Buses Fernandez from Puerto Natales and easily walked the 2 blocks to Hotel Rey Don Felipe. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the main square where you can kiss the Indian's toe on the statue of Magellan to insure good business success and your return to Patagonia.

The food in the restaurant is good and breakfast is good. The only negative is that the dining room is small for the size of the hotel. We were there off-season so the hotel was not full and we did not have a problem. However if the hotel is full, I don't know how the accommodate everyone in the dining room for breakfast; they must have some plan for that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive comments and feedback, which certainly motivate all our team to continue providing quality care and services.

As for your concern about the dining room for breakfast, whenever is required by the number of guests, we provide the breakfast service openniing the next room allowing us to serve about 70 people simultaneously.

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Rey Don Felipe exceeded my expectations, though I guess I wasn’t sure what to expect towards the bottom of the continent.

The hotel front desk is very nice and accommodating, and they spoke excellent English. They delivered messages to us on time were just so friendly and patient. The lobby is not very big, but it’s comfortable and tastefully appointed. Overall the entire facility was modern and looked newer, and it was an easy walk to downtown and restaurants. Breakfast was decent in the small dining room over white tablecloths.

I liked our room, which was a standard size with room for large pieces of luggage, even though ours didn’t have much of a view. Flat screen TV. Bed was comfortable and the room temperature was just peachy. If I recall correctly, the bathroom appeared almost upscale with the types of countertops, faucet, and shower used to outfit it.

Overall, I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your positive comments and feedback. We are happy to know that your stay was completely satisfactory to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice and modern hotel, close to the city center, great beds, good breakfast. We were there in May 2013, and we loved it. Nice windows, which is rear in the city. Service nice and helpful.
I will reccomend the hotel location, better than being in Plaza de Armas, and close enough

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor or up, and looking at the parking garage. It will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikaFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest, we are very grateful for your feedback and happy that your stay was enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was a great launching pad for our first night in Patagonia. Not too fancy, but nice. Picture a Hampton Inn or something. Very clean; very nice. A little off the beaten path but walkable to the main restaurants, etc. in town if the weather is decent. Helpful, English-speaking staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear guest, along with our greetings, we sincerely appreciate the time you have set aside to express your opinion about our service, we are glad to know your stay was ok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here two different times on our trip. Very nice hotel, nice staff, within easy walking distance from main square and many places to eat and visit. Room was clean, beds comfortable, breakfast good. We did not eat dinner here either time so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay. Your comments motivate us to continue to work and providing welfare to all our guests. thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent Staff and accomodations. Stayed here on my way to Patagonia. Restaurant also had great food both for breakfast and good valued dinner! Would definately recommend to my friends. Cant go wrong with this establishment!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay. Your comments motivate us to continue to work and providing welfare to all our guests. thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#5 of 26 in Punta Arenas
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
Best Western Hotel Finis Terrae
#10 of 26 in Punta Arenas
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#3 of 26 in Punta Arenas
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#9 of 26 in Punta Arenas
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 26 in Punta Arenas
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey Don Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Don Felipe

Address: Armando Sanhueza 965, Punta Arenas 6200729, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $129 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Don Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first class hotel Located in Punta Arenas, the capital of the province of Magellean's, which comprehends from Cordillera del Paine on the north to Cape Horn on the south. Suited by the Strait of Magellan's in Brunswich peninsula, is the continental city farthest south in the world, and a supply port for the Antarctic traffic. At just two blocks of the city's main square, we provide you 45 warmly, large and comfortable rooms, decorated elegantly, with good taste and simplicity. Attended by a courteous and bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rey Don Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing