We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same issues as others, but had a good time here. Overall I liked it. Book Privately.”
Review of Hostal Ainil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Ainil
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Same issues as others, but had a good time here. Overall I liked it. Book Privately.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Positives. Chris, the young host was very nice, helped us out with providing breakfast to go (para llevar) when we were out early to seen penguins. Location was fine, not right in the centre but an easy enough walk. Room (room 1) was comfortable and warm. Slept great, except for some noise issues the last night. Breakfast was good by hostel standards (though a hospedaje probably describes here better), even had eggs. Very clean, made up the rooms daily, provided towels.

Negatives. As others have mentioned, the kitchen is not shared, it's more for the hosts use, but there is a fridge that you can use. If you're not planning on cooking, not an issue. Noise in the rooms; everything was good and quiet until the last night, when someone fell asleep with the TV on, the sound travels extremely well between the rooms. If it were my place, I think I'd just get rid of the TV's. Anyhow, had to go wake up the neighbours and ask them to turn off the television at 1am, not the end of the world, could be a bigger problem if you're trying to go to bed early though. Could perhaps use another bathroom for the front building, but the one that was there was nice, and kept very clean (as was the whole place). There might be one ensuite room in the back, we stayed in the front in a room with a shared bath.

Other. I'd probably stay here again. It was one of the only hostels/hospedajes that had a reasonable website, and that was available, and for a fair price. They got back to us by email quickly. As we've found with a few places down here, the prices can vary between the booking sites quite substantially, and the best price always seems to be if you just email the owner directly. Do that here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
9
27
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

It seems like Hostel Ainil has some good rooms and some pretty bad ones. My husband and I got a tiny room in the building that's on the left when you enter the property. The bed was fairly uncomfortable. The main problem is that when there's wind (which was all night during our stay) some power lines slap against a drain pipe, and the sound is amplified inside of the building. It was very loud, so we didn't get much sleep.

Other than that, the hostel doesn't seem bad. The bathroom seemed recently renovated and clean. The breakfast had yogurt and cereal in addition to the usual bread and jam. There's a common area in one of the buildings that has a microwave and a mini-fridge, but they forgot to tell us about it and we only saw it on the way out. For our stay (double bed, shared bathroom) we paid CH$22,000.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 423Kristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Arenas hotels

SanDiego
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The place was busy, so the owner apologetically rented me a "small room." No joke! Barely any room to turn around, but private bath, clean, warm etc. Because this teeny room was part of a larger "suite", it was fine, especially for the price. I had access to a large living room, and the very serviceable kitchenette. Another plus, really quiet. I booked a night in my favorite other hostal, but as they have re routed the main road to run right by the windows of this lovely hostal, sleep was impossible!
A gem I say!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It's a good hostel. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Their breakfast is great and very generous. It's in walking distance from downtown Punta Arenas, in a very quiet street. Wifi works fine. Rooms are a little run down and bathrooms don't look good but work. For the price I paid it was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudiafros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xyz
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you plan to do any kind of activity before 8:00 AM, you better forget about the breakfast "included" in the price. They just don't serve it if you happen to leave at 7:45.
Our room had the worse bathroom I've ever seen so far, thin and dirty walls, better not to mention the conditions of the "shower".
If by any chance you travel by car, forget this place because the parking is only possible on the street. If you try to park at the hostal, behind the fence, you might need to get up several times to let out other guests, or the other way around, you can't get out.
I wouldn't say this is good value for money, I don't recommend it and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Good deal. Its basic, but you cant expect lost of luxery for the price they ask. The lady was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

29000 pesos for à double bed with Tv and wifi. The room was newly repainted. The bathroom is brand new and clean (rare in Chile). The breakfast is rich and served in à friendly place. You feel like home!
The staff is friendly and called the boat to Porvenir for us to know about the schedule. 3-4 blocks from city center and seashore.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Cordillera
Hostal Cordillera
#20 of 25 in Punta Arenas
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Chapital Hotel
Chalet Chapital Hotel
#15 of 25 in Punta Arenas
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#9 of 25 in Punta Arenas
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lacolet
Hotel Lacolet
#7 of 25 in Punta Arenas
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
Hotel Isla Rey Jorge
#13 of 25 in Punta Arenas
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ainil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ainil

Property: Hostal Ainil
Address: Lautaro Navarro 230, Punta Arenas 6212403, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Ainil 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Ainil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing