We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pipsqueek of a room, but with large living room and kitchenette!”
Review of Hostal Ainil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Ainil
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The place was busy, so the owner apologetically rented me a "small room." No joke! Barely any room to turn around, but private bath, clean, warm etc. Because this teeny room was part of a larger "suite", it was fine, especially for the price. I had access to a large living room, and the very serviceable kitchenette. Another plus, really quiet. I booked a night in my favorite other hostal, but as they have re routed the main road to run right by the windows of this lovely hostal, sleep was impossible!
A gem I say!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

It's a good hostel. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Their breakfast is great and very generous. It's in walking distance from downtown Punta Arenas, in a very quiet street. Wifi works fine. Rooms are a little run down and bathrooms don't look good but work. For the price I paid it was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claudiafros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you plan to do any kind of activity before 8:00 AM, you better forget about the breakfast "included" in the price. They just don't serve it if you happen to leave at 7:45.
Our room had the worse bathroom I've ever seen so far, thin and dirty walls, better not to mention the conditions of the "shower".
If by any chance you travel by car, forget this place because the parking is only possible on the street. If you try to park at the hostal, behind the fence, you might need to get up several times to let out other guests, or the other way around, you can't get out.
I wouldn't say this is good value for money, I don't recommend it and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Good deal. Its basic, but you cant expect lost of luxery for the price they ask. The lady was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

29000 pesos for à double bed with Tv and wifi. The room was newly repainted. The bathroom is brand new and clean (rare in Chile). The breakfast is rich and served in à friendly place. You feel like home!
The staff is friendly and called the boat to Porvenir for us to know about the schedule. 3-4 blocks from city center and seashore.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Magaly, with the help of her daughter, run a great hostal. We arrived close to midnight on a Sunday and they were still available to help us out. We did make sure they knew we were arriving late, but it was nice to be met with nice people. Magaly doesn't speak English, though her daughter has a good grasp of the language.

The grounds of the hostal are pretty and the rooms, though small, are well-appointed with hand-made linens and very clean. My only complaint is that hot water ran out too quickly for two people sharing a room.

Free wifi is available throughout the grounds and quite speedy. There are also two communal computers available to use.

Breakfast was your basic Chilean fare, but tasty and included.

The hostal can be a bit noisy depending upon what room you are in.

While I enjoyed the rooms, what sells me on Ainil is the family running it. Magaly and her daughter were very helpful. We had bus tickets to Puerto Natales awaiting us when we arrived (as requested by email), they held our luggage for four days while we hiked the Torres del Paine, and we were given good recommendations around town and were called taxis when needed. I would absolutely stay here again when I return to Punta Arenas.

Room Tip: Pick something on the second floor of the front building. There are two rooms away from the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InvisibleHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Good value for lodging in Punta Arenas. Location is a few blocks from downtown (but don't trust google maps' interpretation of the address), basically a 5-10 minute walk. Rooms were small but felt cozy and all had good heaters in them. The host was very helpful in planning our visit ahead of time, and had good recommendations for restaurants and things to do. It's worth noting that while email communication was English, she does not speak the language so we sometimes needed help to communicate. Internet connectivity was not incredibly reliable either.

Overall a comfortable room and a standard Patagonian breakfast in a pretty convenient location. Probably not the nicest place in town, but we were satisfied with the value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Cordillera
Hostal Cordillera
#20 of 26 in Punta Arenas
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal del Estrecho
Hostal del Estrecho
#17 of 26 in Punta Arenas
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Oro Fueguino
Hostal Oro Fueguino
#18 of 26 in Punta Arenas
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carpa Manzano
Hotel Carpa Manzano
#23 of 26 in Punta Arenas
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostal Labarca
Hostal Labarca
#6 of 26 in Punta Arenas
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 26 in Punta Arenas
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ainil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ainil

Address: Lautaro Navarro 230, Punta Arenas 6212403, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range: $58 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Ainil 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hostal Ainil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing