We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Remezon Restaurant - CLOSED

El Remezon Restaurant
Price range: $25 - $56
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Chilean, Healthy, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Remezón, the Savage Food of Patagonia, stand out for its high quality dishes made with natives products from Patagonia, in a game of purity, taste and naturalness.Remezon offers a tasty and innovative dining experience. It rescues the practice of the southern ethnics groups. The natives respected the biotic spaces, they were intimately connected with the life cycle and established rules regard the selection, acquisition and preparation of food, all according to their beliefs and values. The spirit world was compenetrate with the flora and fauna.Remezon works with natives and introduced products creating a sustainable regional cuisine.Remezón, La Cocina Salvaje de la Patagonia, se destaca por sus platos de excelente calidad con productos autóctonos de la Patagonia, en un juego de pureza, sabor y naturalidad. Remezón ofrece una experiencia culinaria sabrosa y novedosa, rescatando las prácticas de las etnias australes. Los nativos respetaban los espacios bióticos, se relacionaban íntimamente con el ciclo de vida y establecían reglas de alimentación sobre la selección, adquisición y preparación del alimento acordes a sus creencias y valores. El mundo espiritual se compenetraba con la flora y la fauna.Remezón trabaja con Productos Originarios e Introducidos creando una Gastronomía Regional Sustentable.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Excellent food, great wine, unique interior and nice staff. I would go eat there right now if I weren't in Europe. By the way: I went there in 2008 but tripadvisor won't let me choose that year.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafael_Baur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    12
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Eat the sights you see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

After working for four months in Los Torres del Paine national park and seeing all of the local wild animals on a daily basis (guanaco, caiquen, nandu....) we knew we had to jump at any opportunity to eat them and see what the pumas have been enjoying. This was the only restaurant in town we could find that serves all that and more. There was no body there when we arrived because this was the first day in about two months it had been open since so much of the town was damaged in the flood. The food was fantastic and the service was very good. Our waitress was very nice and we chatted for about and hour after finishing our meal. For the carnivore in you, try the Tierra appetizer. The guanaco leg stew is perfect with a good cab and the crab canilone was also superb.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hasafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food and welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

El Ramezon is a most welcoming restaurant, freshly baked bread is served to your table warm from the enamel stove situated in the centre of the dining area. My family and I visited on our first evening in Chile hot of the plane from UK and what a place to start! Our guide informed us that ' here you will start by eating everything we would be seeing in the coming weeks!' we feasted on the most tender Carpaccio of Beaver, Reia, Goose and Guanaco Pate, Crab, Conger and Sea Bass. Each dish was well thought out using fresh ingredients and were superbly cooked. All meals were of a generous size and the service was superb.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Half frozen fish. Poor choice in deserts.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

In this highly recommended restaurant you expect to get fresh fish. I was very disappointed. The fish was half cooked half frozen. For desert you could have either icecream or icecream. During diner the other tables were removed so I was sitting completely isolated. The service was very polite.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiederickPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting South American food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Good varied menu including things I had not seen eaten before (Llama, Rhea, Beaver) which fortunately had an English translation as these food were not in my menu reader. We popped in for a quick lunch and had starters and mains and were quite full afterwards. Food was in hearty portions and well presented with fresh ingredients.

Would go again.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank specialpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Remezon Restaurant also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing