We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun design, great food”
Review of La Marmita

La Marmita
Ranked #5 of 174 Restaurants in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Chilean, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun design, great food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

You can't miss La Marmita because its colorful character and design draws you in. Once inside they have very nice artsy design, a fun bar and excellent food. Try the calafate sour and it will set you on a culinary trip you'll hardly forget.
If you can, make reservations because it can get crowded and, believe me, you don't want to miss a meal here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JCHerPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    278
    85
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in patagonia”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am glad we had a meal here because it was delicious! Everything from the entree to the main to the dessert was fantastic, we were licking our plates clean (not literally of course!). The service was also great, and just the whole feel of the place was warm and inviting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deefa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Brilliant Patagonian cuisine”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had dinner here every night when we visited in December 2012. Given our back packing/trekking trip this was a splurge worth every cent! Great food, excellent staff, great atmosphere. My vegetarian partner felt as well taken care of as I did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Another rave review... but don't forget happy hour!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

As indicated by the vast majority or reviews, this restaurant was fabulous. Besides the eclectic atmosphere, gracious wait staff and titillating cocktails, they have a very reasonable happy hour menu. Lasagna or a pasta and dessert for $5000 Chilean paseos! Tremendous deal and the best meal so far in Chile! I will be going back before I leave Punta Arenas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“a perfect meal”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

on our arrival to chile our b&b recommended this restaurant. we were anxious for some pisco sours meal of local food. we were not disappointed. the cozy atmosphere added to a wonderful meal. lamb and hare, both stewed were heavenly. the wine was great and the pisco sours were the best we had in all of chile during our three weeks there. the bill was much less than we expected (and thankfully converted to US dollars for us since we hadn't yet figured out the exchange rate!). would go back again in a heartbeat if we are ever there again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marmita also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to La Marmita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing