We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful atmosphere”
Review of La Estancia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Estancia
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The owner ensures that your stay here is the best it can be. The hostel is comfy, the rooms well equipped and the services awesome. From breakfast to recommendations of what is available, everything is provided. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for comfort and advise in the wonderful world of Patagonia

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeena26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 85 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a 4 person dorm downstairs. It had big single beds with comfy duvets and blankets. It was the best nights sleep ive had in a very long time! The hostel is like a big family home, it has a large modern lounge/dining area, a nice sized kitchen and 2 bathrooms upstairs. It was quite cold at night - thus the blanket & duvet! but the rooms have heaters to help warm them up, there is a big heater on the landing upstairs and the cooker in the kitchen radiates warmth too. The computers are slow but if you have your own device the wifi is very fast. The breakfast is really good, the best we have had in a hostel so far. You are served warm bread rolls, scrambled eggs, jam, tea, coffee and cookies!!! delish! The couple who own the hostel are very nice and provide advise on any activities or transfers you need. The hostal is very well situated - only 2 blocks from a huge supermarket, 3 blocks from the beach and maybe 5 blocks from the town centre. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW2010NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I actually did not stay at this hostel during my trip, but I friend of mine did. My baggage got lost on my flight down and, despite not being a guest there, the owner offered without hesitation to call the airport and help me retrieve it, a process that would have undoubtedly been long and frustrating to attempt myself. I spoke very little Spanish, so his kindness really saved me. It was a great first impression of Chilean hospitality, and I would definitely considered staying here next time around.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Elizoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Simple but decent rooms with good beds. The shared bathrooms are clean. Good breakfast is included. Good location close to shops, restaurants and only a few minutes walk from the central square. During my stay the host were always available and willing to give advice about where to go and that to do.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rveerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is quite a long time ago since I stayed at "La Estancia" but I have not wrote a review yet.
But it is absolutely worth is staying there!
I make it short:

++ exzellent communication with the host and his family before and during the stay.
( I arrived a couple of days later caused by the strike of the flight controllers in Madrid Dec 2010, was no problem for the host! Excellent!)
+ warm atmosphere and very friendly
+ english speaking host (sorry I do not speak spanish)
+ real coffee (which is very positive) and very good breakfast
+ supported me in organising other B&B's and also bus travels.
+ good location in Punta Arenas, everything important is in walking distance

I can not choose the travel timne from the drop down menu, but I stayed there in Dec 2010 and also in January 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My dad and I stayed at La Estancia 3 separate times and were impressed each time. Alejandro and Carmen are fantastic hosts with lots of insider information about Torres del Paine and other hiking and traveling in the area. They helped us before our hike, and provided advice on what to do in Patagonia after we had finished the circuit. Rooms and bathrooms were spotless, breakfast was delicious, beds were comfortable, and these two really went out of their way to ensure we had a good stay in Punta Arenas. I could recommend La Estancia to anybody traveling to Punta Arenas without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_scott74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Good central location. We had a private room with bathroom and it was fantastic value! Really clean, good shower, really comfortable bed and free satellite tv. The best part was the service. On arrival I realized I ha stupidly left my handbag in the taxi with my wallet containing about $400 and iPhone. The owner Alejandro called taxi companies for us even though he knew this wouldn't help because it was private taxis that work from the bus stations. When that failed he drove my husband to the bus station at 11pm at night and asked other bus driver if they knew who the taxi driver may have been based on description. One driver thought he knew our driver from the description and Alejandro drove to his house and knocked on the door to no avail. Alejandro then offered to drive my husband to the house again early in the morning but it turned out that it wasn't our driver. We flew onto another city that day but due to Alejandro talking to the drivers the night before the taxi driver was found and returned my bag late that day. Alejandro arranged for it to be shipped to us. It only had about $140 in the wallet which I told Alejandro to keep for the postage and his help. We were just so grateful to get the phone an credit card back. You never know what might happen when you re travelling overseas in a country where you don't speak the native language and it's reassuring to stay somewhere where the owners are so willing to help when something goes wrong.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanialeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
1.2 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#1 of 79 in Punta Arenas
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Keoken
Hostel Keoken
#3 of 79 in Punta Arenas
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Mi Casa
Hostal Mi Casa
#4 of 79 in Punta Arenas
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostal Ovejero
Hostal Ovejero
#2 of 79 in Punta Arenas
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Ainil
Hostal Ainil
#21 of 26 in Punta Arenas
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#1 of 26 in Punta Arenas
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estancia

Address: Avenida Libertador Bernardo o'Higgins 765, Punta Arenas 6200751, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Punta Arenas
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing