We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast, clean room, very helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Estancia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Estancia
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great breakfast, clean room, very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here one night on our way to Puerto Natales. The room was comfy and quite spacious. The accommodations were clean and well kept. Breakfast was quick, hot, and tasty. However, the real highlight for us was Alejandro. He went above and beyond to help us get to Puerto Natales and ultimately to Torres Del Paine. He booked us bus tickets and seemed genuinely concerned about getting us there in a timely fashion. If I didn't know any better, I would've thought we were related. If you need anything talk to Alejandro, he's the man. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
23
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We only spent a night here, but loved the breakfast, thought the location was great, and were really impressed with how well we were treated by the live-in owners. Good value, and neat place...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIP_TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We only spent one night in Punta Arenas, but Alejandro and Carmen took great care of us. Our daughter got a bit sick, and they helped us get to a doctor and then helped us take care of her late into the night. Great little breakfast, nice high ceilings in the rooms, and plenty of space. And the location is great as well... Easy to get everywhere and on a nice calm street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jofielder7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Found this place by default after the other backpackers in the area were closed and I was very happy that they were as I had such a lovely stay here. A cosy place which is not over bearingly hot like other places I've stayed and clean!!! The breakfast was great and more than enough. I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were a trekking group of 13 who staged through Punta Arenas on the way to the Torres Del Paine.

Alejandro and his family could not have been more helpful in arranging taxis, translating when our mangling of spanish confused the locals, giving advice on transportation and shopping and generally how to do things.

It is basic, but the breakfast is substantial with fresh eggs and what we found to be the best coffee in town. The beds were comfortable, we were never cold, had enough hot water and could come and go as we please.

I highly recommend it as it is conveniently located, there are numerous restaurants and shops in the near vicinity and is pretty cheap to boot. I would stay there if I went back to PA.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila, CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Do not expect anything luxurious in this backpacker hostel. It seems to be typical of most hotels in Punta Arenas. In bad need of remodeling, old smelly carpeting, shared bathrooms. It was probably clean, but it's hard to distinguish between what is old beyond its time, and what is dirty. It will do if you spend only one night in Punta Arenas, which seems to be the norm anyway. So, if you are only looking for a good bed, a good shower and a reasonable breakfast, you will find it here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed at this hostal with 3 more friends. I stayed in a double room with toilets just in front of the room. Alejandro did all reservation we asked him and our staying there was really enjoyable. I talk to my friends as well. The breakfast was very good and the toilets were very clean. During our staying there we visited Isla de Magdalena. Maybe I will vissit Punta Arenas again. In this case I will definetely stay in La Estancia. Thanks Alejandro.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.2 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#3 of 70 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Keoken
Hostel Keoken
#1 of 70 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Aventura Austral
Hostal Aventura Austral
#3 of 29 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Patagonia
Hostal Patagonia
#16 of 70 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estancia

Property: La Estancia
Address: Avenida Libertador Bernardo o'Higgins 765, Punta Arenas 6200751, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Punta Arenas
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing