We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for stop-over in Punta Arenas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospedaje Magallanes

Hospedaje Magallanes
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hospedaje Magallanes
Ranked #8 of 29 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good place for stop-over in Punta Arenas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here twice for a night, on my way in and out of Patagonia.

The hostel is in a pretty central location in Punta Arenas, just a handful of blocks from the main strip with the bus terminals, and close to an Unimarc supermarket.

The breakfast was great, and the common area was very comfortable to hang out. Sebastian is a very nice and helpful host, always happy to assist travelers with suggestions for things to do or places to go to in town, and helping with travel arrangements, etc.

I did not give 5 stars because both times my room was a bit more small and basic than I would expect for the price, and the walls are thin. Even so, this is certainly a solid choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonTobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
40
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concepcion, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Really nice place to stay, the owner Sebastian really cares about his guests, their comfort and their desires. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable, late arrival after midnight wasn't a problem at all. Sebastian also sent us information about our trip to Torres del Paine in advance - when we were there he helped us planning our tour for free and had a lot of good guesses and hints - thanks so much!
Familiar atmosphere, nice "home" for travellers with great breakfast! We enjoyed our stay there, although it was only night and fully can recommend "Hospedaje Magallanes"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom-chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Marisol is a gracious hostess and her hostel is perfectly located for easy access to city center. Rooms are comfortable and chats with fellow travelers are great. Also Marisol is a travel agent and can arrange great side trips for you. Ask about seeing the Penguin Colony

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

in this hostel you stay very close with the familyowner, you share the bathroom as well as the livingroom. that would not be the probleme at all, but you feel like an intruder.
the rooms are very old and need to be renovated, the nights were very cold, because there is just on gasheeting in the floor.
the served breakfast in the evening, so that they didn`t have to wake up the next morning.
so it was horrible cold while having breakfast.
the owner was quite nice and talked to the guests, he also was showing effort to organise things or figure them out.
the wife did not talk to anyone, acept when we had payed and were ready to leave.
we would not recommand that place for a comfortable and nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viennesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Viennesa,

Thanks for taking your time to review our Bed & Breakfast.

I must say that I'm a bit surprised by your comments. We do care about our guest's comments and try hard to learn from them in order to keep improving and to grow as persons and as a business. Nevertheless, I would like to clarify a few of your comments for future travelers:

My wife, our two sons and I live in our own, completely independent part of the house (with our own bathroom, living room and kitchen). At the time you were here, we were working on our new dorm room (as we explained to you, when you we here), which is now officially open since the beginning of October. We had to cut the water in our part to build the bathroom, which is attached to the dorm. I'm sorry that sharing 2 guest bathrooms with us, 2 more guests besides the 2 of you at our place at the time caused you trouble (besides: max. 8 guests in our 4 double rooms sharing 2 guest bathrooms + our new 6-person mixed dorm with its own bathroom is a pretty good ratio, I believe, compared to other B&Bs and hostels in Patagonia and around the world) .

I really cannot understand, why you felt like an intruder. We didn't think of you as an intruder at all. We believe that sharing a common area is a very nice part of staying at a Bed & Breakfast rather than an anonymous, international hotel chain. Please see the many other review of the travelers who stayed with us and felt just fine.

You're right about breakfast. We serve breakfast from 7:00 - 10:30 a.m. For people who have very early flights out and take a taxi at 4:00 a.m. (or other early risers) we set up breakfast the night before - self service. Sorry, but we believe this is a fair deal.

... oh, by the way, there is a heater right next to the breakfast table. Why didn't you simply turn it up?

We honestly believe to make an effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible including helping our guests organizing their time in Patagonia & Tierra del Fuego. My wife has over 20 years of experience working in tourism in Patagonia and I have also been working in tourism and as a guide in Patagonia & Tierra del Fuego for about 12 years by now. This allows for a pretty good pool of inside information, which we are willing to share.

What I cannot understand whatsoever, is, if everything was as unpleasant as you described, why did you stay more than one night?

FUTURE TRAVELERS

Based on all of the above mentioned, please consider stopping by at our Bed & Breakfast, take a good look around at everything and _then_ decide, if you would like to stay or not - just like in the old days. Thanks for understanding!

Kind regards,

Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My brother and I had booked in for two nights at this hostel before flying down to Punta Arenas from Santiago. We had originally planned to go to Puerto Natales first, but unfortunately our plane was delayed so when we eventually arrived in Punta Arenas we had missed the last bus to Puerto Natales. We were stranded in town with another traveller we met at the airport who was in the same boat as us, so thought we'd try our luck at Hospedaje Magallanes a couple of nights early. We literally rocked up at the doorstep and before we could even explain who we were or what we were after, the lovely female owner, Marisol, had whisked us inside out of the cold. We were taken to our rooms straight away and Marisol spent the next hour or two answering our questions and helping us organise our bus to Puerto Natales for the morning. She went above and beyond to help us. We made it to Puerto Natales the next day, and unfortunately didn't get time to go back to stay in Punta Arenas but we did need to spend half a day there waiting for our plane back to Santiago. We thought we would ask at Hospedaje Magallanes whether it might be ok for us to leave our backpacks there while we wandered the streets for a few hours, and once again the owners went above and beyond! Not only were we able to leave our bags there but Sebasitan, Marisol's husband, invited us to hang out there, use the wifi, and use their facilities for the day, even though we were not staying there. The rooms are neat, tidy and warm, the showers are hot, the kitchen has everything you need, the wifi is great... you couldn't ask for a better little hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sn3117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Sweetness!!! What a great review! Have you ever thought about becoming a travel writer?! ;-) Thanks for your kind words. We're happy you had a great time in Patagonia and that we had the chance to be a little part of it! --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Paying only $20 per night with a great breakfast and incredibly friendly and helpful owners-- it was definitely worth every cent and more. They provide drip coffee! (which if you spend much time in Chile, you will realize how much of a gem it is!)
As a single female travelling alone, I felt very safe staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
This is why we love what we're doing! It's always great to read that people appreciate the little extras here and there... Thanks for your awesome review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

During the low season 2012 I've been cherged CLP 10.000 for a single, shared bathroom and breakfast. Considering the price this place is worth the money.
My stay was quite even if the hostel is just 4 minutes walkung to the city centre.
The heating is not in the rooms but in the corridor. Those facing the backyard are a a little cooler than the other 2 rooms closer to the kitchen.

Room Tip: In Punta Arenas you can find other hostels with en-suite bathroom but they are more than double the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fladinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thanks for your nice review!

You're absolutely right about the heating. This is why we provide high quality bedding with extra blankets - Patagonian Style... ;-)

Nevertheless, I can imagine the challenge of the change in temperature, when a traveler flies in from the summer in the Northern hemisphere to arrive in the middle of the Patagonia winter - which, by the way, in opposite of what most people think, in Punta Arenas mainly means temperatures just around 0°C and a little below during the night and isn't even that bad to be honest, at least in comparison with other areas around the globe with real winters!

Maybe we should consider hot water bottles on request for all travelers who're from warm climates? Why not?!... ;-)

Anyways, thanks again for taking your time!

Cheers,

Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Ainil
Hostal Ainil
#23 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Cordillera
Hostal Cordillera
#20 of 25 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#3 of 70 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Aventura Austral
Hostal Aventura Austral
#3 of 29 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Keoken
Hostel Keoken
#1 of 70 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Magallanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Magallanes

Property: Hospedaje Magallanes
Address: Hernando de Magallanes 570, Punta Arenas 6212807, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by travelers, we offer 4 quiet double rooms with 2 shared bathrooms.Our provide great German-Chilean home-made breakfast with real coffee and real German bread.Centrally located, we are 4 blocks from the Plaza, close to bus stops, restaurants etc. In our full-on in-house travel agency, we provide first hand information and can arrange pretty much everything in Patagonia.We often get together around the campfire or for a Patagonian-style BBQ in our backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hospedaje Magallanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing