We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware for off seasoners - Starting April onwards...”

Hostal Las Carretas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Las Carretas
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We booked a double room, shared bathroom for 10000pesos / person.
Pros - The place is very clean, smells great. The owners who work there are nice. The owners bake their own cake for your breakfast the next day. The owners will ask to see when you want your brekky and the coffee they serve is fabulous. The double room we stayed in was nice. Kitchen is underequipped of pots and pans but the owners provided what we needed to make do. Awesome hostel dog

Cons - The kitchen is under-equipted with pots and pans. Laundry service is available onsite for 15000 pesos per kilo which is a bit expensive we think. It is a bit farther from the town center which makes going out during the cold season not as ideal. During our stay, the wireless internet was down. They told us the internet was down for the whole town...so we walked into the center of town and noticed that the internet was working there(and we used the internet cafe to do our work for our company). Speaking with them, they said their internet was provided by another provider and asked us to be patient and wait for later...then wait for the next day. However the entire time their own computer connected to a direct LAN connection had internet. Then we happen to hit a long holiday weekend which meant we would not have internet for 2 or 3 more days. When asked whether or not we could use the LAN connection with our own self provided LAN cable, the guy replied it was not ideal. So, without access to internet at all for our stay, we had to move to another place as it was essential for our work. I was then charged for the entire time in which I had originially booked for, rather than the days which we had stayed. It's off season and we were 2 people of the total of 4 customers in the entire place. To me, this is just bad customer service, even if supposed internet failure was out of their control.

Generally - If you are booked on tours all day this place is a great place to stay as its beds and rooms are pretty comfortable for sleeping. Reading the reviews were why we stayed here (booked through hostelworld) however we feel that during off season all the pros we heard about was not available to us. If you are spending more time around town during off season, because it is such a cold town at this time, it is a bit farther from central part of town and the hostel is generally kept a tad cold.

Ultimately we left the hostel and actually found a hotel with a fridge in the room and working internet (Hostel had no fridge in room or public kitchen), private bathroom for same price as it was to stay at the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeychick118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Las Carretas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2010

Las Carretas is the best hostel we stayed at in all of Patagonia. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and incredibly comfortable. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the breakfasts are very tasty. Laundry service on site, kitchen, and television in each room for those who need to veg out after trekking. There is even a bar and lounge on site. Location is only about 3 short blocks from the main street - perfect. The staff are extremely helpful, kind, and also hilarious; they made our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaCruzian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed here for five nights in January. It is a simple B&B but excellent value for money. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. I am not giving it a five star because it was quite difficult to sleep at times. I think we were unlucky to have a group of very noisy Austrians staying who would come back at about 2 in the morning at get up at about 6, and decide to slam doors and speak very loudly all the time. If you are a light sleeper, be aware that the walls are thin. But overall, I would recommend this B&B.

We really enjoyed Puerto Nateles and the general area, including the parks. It is a nice break from the cities.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priceprom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Beautifully decorated rooms, very clean and cozy. We had a twin room with bathroom and it was a perfect change after spending some days in different refugios in Torres del Paine. Nice breakfast! A great place to stay! Unfortunately the guy who was there during our stay did only speak Spanish. Location: not directly in the center but within easy walk.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
Thank LuneMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We spent one night in Hostal Las Carretas after returning from Torres del Paine. The room with twin beds was nice, and it was very quiet. The owners were friendly but I don't think they spoke much English, so we had to try to get along in Spanish.
The breakfast was nothing special, quite the basic fare that you normally get in Patagonia.
The location is a few blocks from the center, but not much more than 5 minutes walk, in a quiet residential street.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Enthusiast99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

This hostel is very cosy, comfortable, beautifully designed with good amenities but overall the best are the hosts, especially Richard who made sure everyone feels at home, well taken care of, well informed and generall confortable. highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank agi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed here for almost a week and loved it. The owners are very friendly, the breakfast is delicious, and the beds are really comfortable. We loved it.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank tpseelye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#7 of 51 in Puerto Natales
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostel Milodon
Hostel Milodon
#17 of 26 in Puerto Natales
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Nikos II
Hostal Nikos II
#26 of 97 in Puerto Natales
57 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Carretas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Carretas

Address: Galvarino #745, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Carretas Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing