We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but noisy at times”

Hostal Las Carretas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Las Carretas
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed here for five nights in January. It is a simple B&B but excellent value for money. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. I am not giving it a five star because it was quite difficult to sleep at times. I think we were unlucky to have a group of very noisy Austrians staying who would come back at about 2 in the morning at get up at about 6, and decide to slam doors and speak very loudly all the time. If you are a light sleeper, be aware that the walls are thin. But overall, I would recommend this B&B.

We really enjoyed Puerto Nateles and the general area, including the parks. It is a nice break from the cities.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priceprom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Las Carretas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

Beautifully decorated rooms, very clean and cozy. We had a twin room with bathroom and it was a perfect change after spending some days in different refugios in Torres del Paine. Nice breakfast! A great place to stay! Unfortunately the guy who was there during our stay did only speak Spanish. Location: not directly in the center but within easy walk.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
Thank LuneMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We spent one night in Hostal Las Carretas after returning from Torres del Paine. The room with twin beds was nice, and it was very quiet. The owners were friendly but I don't think they spoke much English, so we had to try to get along in Spanish.
The breakfast was nothing special, quite the basic fare that you normally get in Patagonia.
The location is a few blocks from the center, but not much more than 5 minutes walk, in a quiet residential street.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Enthusiast99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

This hostel is very cosy, comfortable, beautifully designed with good amenities but overall the best are the hosts, especially Richard who made sure everyone feels at home, well taken care of, well informed and generall confortable. highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank agi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed here for almost a week and loved it. The owners are very friendly, the breakfast is delicious, and the beds are really comfortable. We loved it.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank tpseelye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Dear Richard & Evan

tanx for the warm beds, hot showers, great breakfast, nice atmosphere and great service!!


Sally- Mariele

inglaterra

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sally002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Firstly, the positives. The place appears newly renovated and the double room with shower room I was given at first sight looked nice. Plus, the staff are friendly. Now the negatives.

The hostel is not close to the centre of Puerto Natales, and it is a 15-minute walk to the sea-front from this location. I was allocated a double room on the ground floor of the annex to the main building. This appears to have been very hurriedly constructed and with little thought for the logistics. Firstly, the large double window looks out onto...well, a driveway and a yard. Midway through the night, the gates of the yard would open, a vehicle would drive in and dogs would bark - right outside the window. You had to keep the curtains closed all of the time for privacy, not least as the window is large.

Secondly, the floor above sounds as if it simply consists of chipboard laid onto steel joists. You could hear every single sound from the bedroom and toilet above. When someone walked across the floor of the room above, it sounded like it would cave in at any minute. There appears to be NO soundproofing whatsoever - the build quality is awful. Even the 'toilet sounds' from above could be heard clearly. Nice.

I did not sleep a wink at this property and left after one night, having originally booked for two. The staff are friendly, which is postive, but this property is let down by its location and the poor quality of the annex's construction and positioning.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#7 of 51 in Puerto Natales
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostel Milodon
Hostel Milodon
#17 of 26 in Puerto Natales
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Nikos II
Hostal Nikos II
#26 of 97 in Puerto Natales
57 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Carretas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Carretas

Address: Galvarino #745, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Carretas Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing