We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, comfortable, and good café”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Ranked #4 of 48 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, and good café”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here before and after a Torres del Paine hike, leaving our excess baggage in their luggage room. Our first room was interior and small, without windows (but with a skylight), and warm enough that we did not need to use the heater, while the second one was more spacious and had windows onto the (residential) street. Beds were OK and everything was clean. Shared shower had plenty of hot water and was kept clean. The public areas and café are really inviting and comfortable, staff friendly, and the wifi works well (e.g. Skype video). Breakfast was above average for this type of accommodation in Chile - bread, butter, jam, cheese, ham, cake/muffins, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, teabags, instant coffee. The main shopping streets are five minutes walk away (Pto. Natales is not big), as is the water. Our overall experience was very positive, and it was good to look forward to having several nights in the hostal after our hike.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow9runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    94
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
47
152
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I spent four days at this hostel and found the hostel warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and every room individual and tastefully decorated. I had an accident climbing and this was a nice place to be able to come home to while regrouping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeena26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hostal is well located near all the shopping and restaurants in town.
The common areas - the reception area and sitting areas are very cosy and nicely decorated.
Paula, the owner is very nice.
There is Wifi in the rooms.
They provide a basic breakfast without juice or fruit.

The room was really bad (number 14). It had no windows, no heating (just a ridiculous small electrical thing that was not appropriated to heat the room). It was really freezing by morning.
On the first night they came and asked me to change for that night because other guests needed a twin beds room, so I agreed and found out that the other room (with double bed) was much better (really the opposit of the one they had for me and where I stayed the other nights when they changed me again).

Later, back at home, I sent them an email concerning my sunglasses (optical) that I lefty behind, and received no reply at all...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank MariaNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night before doing the W walk and have just stayed another night on our return to Puerto Natales.

Amerindia is a really characterfull and homely little hostel and cafe with a delicious range of cakes available - perfect for the hungry W treker! Rooms are comfortable and breakfast is tasty. The owner is absolutely charming, we really enjoyed both of our stays and thoroughly recommend.

'Ciao pescau (?!)'

Alastair and Rachel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair_Cornah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile



We stayed here ahead of doing the W trek at Torres Del Paine. This is a quirky little hostel with a little cafe in the front. It has estancia like touches in the decoration, but this all works well. It is not a kitsch, boring little hostel by any means!  We had a private room which was very comfortable, quiet and with all amenities working well.  A lack of hooks for towels in the bathroom was a minor hassle. Wifi works well. There is heating but not cooling in the room, and with the climate in Pataonia that is understandable. Breakfast was tasty and fresh. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we stored our bags there while we did the trek. There are more upmarket options in town, but this is a great choice for a one night stay, or indeed more!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This place definitely takes the Hostel concept further in terms of providing a warm homelike place right in the heart of Patagonia. Rooms are very nice, clean and the common areas are really nice. The place is managed by the owners and they are really friendly and considered.

They also run a coffee shop.. and if you go you must try their cakes and chocolates...


I would definitely go back to this place if I go to Pto. Natales again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concepcion, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

They don't have juice in their breakfast. Now I'm travelling very early, and very thirsty. There is nowhere to buy juice and I have a 6 hour bus trip ahead. 'Thank you Amerindia', it coul have been a great expirience. Bottom line: one of the hostess had a bad attitude.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NataliaHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.9 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#5 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#6 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 48 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amerindia Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amerindia Patagonia

Property: Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Address: Barros Arana 135 | Barros Arana 135, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Amerindia Patagonia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel was created over time by our family, is characterized by the family atmosphere and the effort we put every day to our guests to have a pleasant experience in Patagonia, the idea is that in Amerindian can find everything you need , we have a cafe with sweet and savory c shop with domestic products, car and all the information you need to know the Chilean patagonia and Argentina. We want to be your friends on their journey and Amerindian give everything that we need to have the best experiences of their lives. Hi and see you soon...Paula - monica - sebastian - patricio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Amerindia Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia Hotel Puerto Natales
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing