We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“backpacking stop-off off the main strip”
Review of Big Bang Patagonia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bang Patagonia
Ranked #12 of 47 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“backpacking stop-off off the main strip”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Stayed here one night on the way to Torres del Paine, as most people probably do. Comfortable and clean rooms and a nice dining/sitting area with a kitchen available to cook in (which we did happily). Erratic Rock 2 should not be confused with Erratic Rock; ER2 is more of a traditional-style hotel while ER is more like a hostel. Also, ER2 is a bit off the beaten path, which may or may not suit your plans -- for us, it was fine, only a 20-minute walk to the central area of town. The hotel offered a daily talk on Torres del Paine, but we didn't go to it -- hikers we encountered later in the park had heard it, and it sounded like they tried to help you make sure that you were well-enough equipped for the adventure you were about to embark on. No hard sells or anything. Finally, the breakfast was in good supply but unremarkable in variety (cornflakes, yogurt, real coffee, et al.) Recommended as a good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrot_little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    55
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
94
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed here before our hike in Torres Del Paine. Marcela was so warm and welcoming -- and really made us feel at home. She had also emailed helpful information to us before we left our home in the US. Erratic Rock will also store luggage for you while you hike in TDP, which was another big help. The room was very comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was one of the best hostel breakfasts we had in 3 weeks of travel. Great place!! The free computer in the office was also useful to catch up on emails during our trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted-esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Erratic Rock II between those before and after our hike in the Torres del Paine. Marcela, Carlos and the rest of the family were super friendly and helpful, the place was spotlessly clean and breakfasts were generous.

We had no prior reservation so one of the nights we had to move out to another place as they were fully booked, and after visiting most of the similarly priced options in town we can tell you there's no one coming even close.

Trust us, you can't go wrong with these guys!

Try to get a room on the upper floor as ceilings are really thin and can get a bit loud depending on who there is in the floor above.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agrinyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Stayed here the night before and the night after our "W" hike in Torres del Paine. They had a great filling breakfast...cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, juice, tea or coffee. The owner recommended a great restaurant and was very friendly. They have a computer which is available to guest, also WIFI and they are also willing to keep luggage while away hiking.

The only negative would be that we stayed in a main floor room on both occasions and could hear the people upstairs "plodding" around.

They also have T.V's in the rooms and a nice lounge area where you can view numerous videos that they have available. Rooms were a nice size and good shower with hot water. Very clean. They also offer a "talk" on the Torres del Paine park at Erractic Rock (the original hostal) everyday.

Only a 5 minute to downtown and quiet, other than the people upstairs!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This is listed as a hostel but really is much more like a hotel. The staff could not be more helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean, with wonderful showers. Breakfast is served with a smile and is plentiful and tasty. There is coffee and tea available at all times of the day and a kitchen available to cook if you want to. As for value for money, the best we have had so far in S America.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumold2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at Erratic Rock 2 for one night in late December 2009 before heading to Torres del Paine. We arrived fairly late and left quite early but the service that we experienced in our short stay was excellent.

The room which we had was out of the back of the hostel - they have two floors with I think 4 rooms on each, motel-style with a door which accesses the back garden directly. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We would certainly recommend Erratic Rock 2 for a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was self-service which was great for an early start. Filling and tasty, couldn't have asked for much more before heading off to the park.

The staff were really helpful and friendly and answered all of our queries. The only point that prevents this review being faultless is the location. It's not bad, it's just a little walk away from the centre and in the opposite direction to the waterfront. This just made it a little inconvenient for us - but we'd certainly stay there again, just something to be aware off.

Relaxing, peaceful and really helpful staff made for a brief but lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We made ER2 our base while visiting Torres del Paine and can't say enough about Marcela's kindness and helpfulness. When my husband injured himself she bent over backwards to offer help and assistance.
The rooms are comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water. Breakfast each morning is well organized and substantial. This hostel is more like a bed and breakfast and is very good value for money. We highly recommend this hostel for the budget minded traveller.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.5 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#10 of 90 in Puerto Natales
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaluve Patagonia
Kaluve Patagonia
#6 of 47 in Puerto Natales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
#4 of 47 in Puerto Natales
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pire Mapu Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#9 of 47 in Puerto Natales
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bang Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bang Patagonia

Property: Big Bang Patagonia
Address: Benjamin Zamora 732, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock 2 Hotel Puerto Natales
Big Bang Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing