We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trouble with reservations”
Review of Big Bang Patagonia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bang Patagonia
Ranked #12 of 48 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“trouble with reservations”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were planning to stay here before and after the W trek. The first time I contacted them for a reservation, I got no reply. The second time, they confirmed the reservation, but upon arrival there was no record of this. Maybe they recorded the reservation for erratic rock 1, even though I clearly indicated on the reservation form that we were making the reservation for erratic rock 2.

We ended up staying the first night anyways since they had a room available. It was comfortable enough but nothing special (though the bathtub might have been nice after the hike - most other places have only shower). More like a truckstop motel than a bed & breakfast. We wanted to sleep in a little before the hike so we got to breakfast near the end of the designated time range - the eggs had been left out that whole time so were cold and gross.

We moved to Hostal Amerindia for the second night, and liked everything about it (rooms, location, breakfast, service) much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LlamaTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    56
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
95
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We, like everybody else, stayed here the night before and the night after our trek in Torres del Paine. They have a great breakfast, scrambled eggs, salami, cheese, yogurt, cereal, home-made bread, fruits, coffee/tea. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. We had room 4 and 3 (1st night and last night) and wifi didn't work in both rooms. They do have a computer in the lobby area you can use for free. People leave half empty cans of fuel in the lobby area so if you forget to buy fuel it seems that they always have some. We saw at least 4-5 of them sitting around both times. It's maybe a 5-10 minute walk to the center of town where they have a big grocery store, banks, junk shops, and restaurants. We enjoyed a fabulous meal at Angelica's after our trek. One more thing, if you pay in Chilean pesos, they give you a slight discount :) great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silly_traveler_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was the perfect spot for our night before and after Torres del Paine. It's described as a "hostel for couples" which I believe is pretty accurate. It really has everything you need; we had a nice room with a bathroom, no frills, but very comfortable. The bus to take you to Torres del Paine will literally pick you up from the hotel, which is great, and even better, we could leave our extra luggage in their storage room which we picked up after the hike. The rooms weren't very soundproof (we had some loud people next door on the first night) and the wi-fi doesn't work much further than the common area, but overall, I was very happy to stay there. And after the tents and refugios in Torres del Paine, coming back to a private room with a clean, non-muddy bathroom was such a great feeling!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice place: clean, quiet, attentive and friendly staff, great breakfast, excellent value. A little less social attmosphere than the original Erratic Rock I, but still recommended. Note: Wireless/WiFi does not work in rooms towards the back of the complex.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My stay here was meant to be. I had actually booked Hostal Shakana, but when I turned up, they had no record of my booking and were basically very unhelpful. I walked down to Erratic Rock where a friendly and helpful staff member suggested Erratic Rock 2 and I'm so pleased she did. Erratic Rock 2 is really comfortable with enough space in the room to organise your pack before and after hiking. They are happy to store your luggage whilst you go off hiking, and on your return, you have the anticipation of a heavenly hot shower.

Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. Wifi didn't work at all the first time I stayed but had been fixed by the time I returned a few days later and then worked really well.

If you are looking for comfortable and clean accommodation pre and post hiking, I can definitely recommend Erratic Rock 2. Oh, it is a little walk from the centre of town, but after the hiking you are about to do or have just done, it is nothing!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We mistakenly went to Erratic Rock I first, a hostel. They directed us to the right place and one of the men actually walked with us part of the way. One of the reception persons was particularly helpful when we had questions. Another did not seem to understand the idea of a wake up call.
All in all a perfectly nice place to stay around the exploration of Torres del Paine, and reasonably priced. they had a nice little dining area with cereal, fruit, good eggs, yogurt, sweet rolls, coffee, and tea for breakfast. A small area for the shower inside a high sided tub - be careful. The bed was comfortable and the lighting ok. We were never able to connect with the wifi here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Erratic Rock 2 earlier this month, one night before and one night after our trek in Torres del Paine. While located slightly out from the main part of town, the extra walk is worth it, as this was definitely one of the best hostels / b&bs we stayed in while in Chile. Very friendly staff who were so helpful and with good English, comfy beds and best of all a great hot shower with good water pressure - I really enjoyed my hot shower there after five days of trekking!!! They were happy to store our luggage when we were off trekking, it was no problem whatsoever. The breakfasts were also good, with scrambled eggs, home cooked bread and some sweet cake on offer too. If we didn't have onward flights arranged I would have liked to have stayed longer just to chill out and relax in this very clean, relaxed and comfortable place. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozsa1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaluve Patagonia
Kaluve Patagonia
#6 of 48 in Puerto Natales
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 48 in Puerto Natales
404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#9 of 48 in Puerto Natales
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Nikos II
Hostal Nikos II
#25 of 94 in Puerto Natales
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bang Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bang Patagonia

Property: Big Bang Patagonia
Address: Benjamin Zamora 732, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock 2 Hotel Puerto Natales
Big Bang Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing