We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in Chile !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altiplanico Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altiplanico Sur
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best stay in Chile !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is just distinguishing itself from all the others. The design of concrete, wood and stone all hidden in the uphill landscape of Puerto Natales is beyond standard design. Our complements to the designer and the concept owner. On top of this the rooms are very spacious with superb views on the bay and we slept with the curtains open to enjoy every moment when you opened your eyes. Staff was very helpfull with special thanks to Claudia !! Restaurant was also good with nice coctails and a good kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Branko_Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    76
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
106
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is great. Staff in a front desk was really helpfull, girls organized for us everything we wanted. Design of the hotel is awesome, you feel yourself like a part of the nature. All rooms have A front view of lagoon and mountains. Warm floor was also good!! I'll recommend this hotel for everybody who wants to enjoy nature, silence and just relax a lot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeronikaVynkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
268 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here two nights in different moments. The Altiplanico is located 2kms far from Puerto Natales, but it is easy to get a taxi to go to the city centre. The rooms were good, and the bathroom nice and functional. The breakfast was good. We tryed a dinner and the food was good but in fact the variedity was not big and perhaps would be better to go at Puerto Natales where you can find two or three excellent restaurants. About the service the personal was kind and efficient. Has internet and works so so.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a triple share room. The views were spectacular. Internet was free although more often than not the service was unavailable due to strong winds.
We appreciated the heated bathroom floors. There was no air con, just heaters. It was ok with us but may be quite cold in winter.
The design really blended in with the surroundings.
We ate at the restaurant a few times. The food was good although certain staff could have benefitted with a basic course in how to serve. On different occasions we had to ask for napkins, cutlery and even the menus - all of us were given just the wine list on one memorable occasion.
I also found it a bit strange that they would manually calculate the 10% tip when presenting the bill each time, then ask us whether we would accept it. Perhaps a better way would have been to leave it to us unless they were afraid that we wouldn't tip!!
It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk into town, where there are more restaurants available although they all open quite late, most shops and restaurants only open from around 12 noon.
Laundry takes nearly 2 days to do, a bit of a shock although it was extremely cheap.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
283 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is the second of the Altiplanico hotels we stayed in, and each of them has been unique with a design that is somewhat reflective of the area of Chile in which they are located and each has been very beautiful.

The rooms are large and comfortable, although the pillows are a little overstuffed for my comfort. The breakfast was quite good and very fresh. The views from the room, overlooking the water were amazing, and we particularly enjoyed the music they had playing in the lobby and dining room.

This hotel chain is a good value for Chile, first class facility but at less than the price of many first class hotels. They also had triple rooms, which worked out well for our family

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTravelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I was looking forward to stay in this hotel as its one of my highlights for Chile trip. There is no doubt that the hotel was very beautiful with an excellent view. However, the staff was NOT helpful at all. I paid 220 US dollars per night to stay here and by the time we arrived at the hotel there was no staff at the reception. We called and had to wait about 30 minutes before a woman showed up and checked us in and of course not even an apology for leaving her guests waiting.

There was NO one to carry our luggage and it was quite tricky because we had to walk down the steps and quite a long walk before we got to the room. I told the staff that I just had a back surgery a year ago and couldn't lift anything heavy. Again she didn't offer to help and told me that when we check out one of the staff would help. I think that was extremely rude and not kind of a service I expected from Altiplanico.

The most irritating thing about this hotel is how rude the staff are. They never acknowledged your presence and always went back to the room behind reception desk and enjoyed themselves.

The following morning we had early breakfast as we planned to go on a bus trip to Torres Del Paine. There was no fork and spoon and we had to call a different woman who took care of breakfast and asked for cutlery set. They gave it to us as if it was our fault to ask. The funny thing is when we checked out, we still had to carry our own luggage again. I of course couldn't do it but had to ask my friend to help. I really feel bad about this hotel.

If you stay here because you think the view is nice (like I did), you better stay somewhere else because you will get the same beautiful view plus helpful staff anywhere else in Puerto Natales.The other bad thing is it's located about 10 minutes by taxi out of town and about 30 minutes walk into town. We did it :-)

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful but you will get unfriendly staff to take care of your entire stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

There are many pluses for this hotel
1) Friendly staff
2) Good restaurant
3) Warm bathroom floor
4) Clean rooms
5) Nice view

The only problem is that the shower is a bit dark.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.2 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#6 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.6 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#10 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altiplanico Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altiplanico Sur

Property: Altiplanico Sur
Address: Huerto Familiar 282, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altiplanico Sur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging into the hillside overlooking the Ultima Esperanza Gulf and the Baquedano Glacier, Altiplanico Sur offers an experience that combines the awe-inspiring nature and the interior charm of the Altiplanico style. The hotel features 22 uniquely designed rooms with the stunning Patagonian landscape as your guest, sheltering you from the powerful climate and inviting you to relax in a hot tub overlooking the cold waters of this southern latitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Altiplanico Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altiplanico Sur Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing