We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel of many contradictions” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noi Indigo Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hotel of many contradictions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

The Indigo is a hotel of many contradictions. The common areas are beautifully appointed with a living room type feeling full of books, music and views: they are an architectural paradise to the eyes, however, the rooms themselves are quite poor. I understand the “minimalistic” style approach they attempted, however a few things were lacking or bothersome: (1) the STREET NOISE - I am from NYC and am used to noise, but there was terrible street noise at all hours, mainly car engines speeding up or slowing down because the hotel is located on fork intersection leading to the town’s 2 mains streets (2) the CEILING NOISE - people in the units above can be heard when they are walking around the room even though the floors are carpeted; furthermore, the thumping sound actually echoes due to the construction materials used (3) the BATHROOM - the toilet is tucked away behind a sliding door which doesn’t always shut properly, the shower opens into the bedroom leaving no privacy and there is no area around the sink to leave toiletries. Though the hotel provided shampoo, soap and lotion, they were in big glass containers which are refilled after each use; this is not sanitary. And a note to ladies, there is no hair conditioner provided by the hotel (4) the CLOSET/WARDROBE - there is none. There is a hanging shelf and benches that encompass the exterior walls of the room (5) the LOCKBOX - it is located in one of the benches and it is attached sideways. Thus, you have to open the bench, hold the top of the bench with one hand/leg to avoid it from being slammed shut, open the lockbox from the side angle, deposit your valuable sideways, and then quickly close the top of the lockbox shut to avoid spillage. The lockbox is also very small; it will hold your passport, cash and phone, but not a camera or other larger valuables. Again, the décor of the common areas, the views, the restaurant are all outstanding. The town is very quiet and there is little to do, other than enjoy the views. Karina in Reservations was so helpful but overall, I found the Front Desk people a bit aloof; though they did compensate us 50% for a tour they arranged which was terrible. The breakfast was average (juice, few pastries, one fruit salad option, eggs) and the rooms themselves were IKEA-like and certainly not worth USD $260/night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PassportNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    138
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
67
225
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

Located in Puerto Natales itself on the waterfront, Indigo is a self consciously "designer" hotel with something of a Scandinavian feel. The rooms, whilst well equipped and comfortable, sacrifice a little practicality in the name of style eg bathroom is effectively part of bedroom itself. Rooms on the first floor suffer from being right on the road along the waterfront. The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel itself is comfortable and efficient but feels as though it's trying just a little too hard.

The bar and restaurant have great views of the sound and the distant mountains but lack a little in atmosphere.

Definitely an interesting option but preferred Altiplanico Sur 10 minutes outside of town.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

We liked the concept of the hotel, minimalistic design of the room - modern and reduced to what is necessary. I.e. the rooms are small (no wardrobe, no desk or chair, no TV /btw: we do not missed it at all/) with an open bathroom. It appeals with its concept (as it is essentially what we need).

However the price (US$ 230 in high season with Internet reduction) suggest that you are in a min 4 star hotel and that it would include, what has been left out. So the price performance ratio is the weak point.

On the good side - it has a nice spa under the roof - with an open hot-tub at the terrace. Also breakfast and restaurant provided a good service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed four nights in this hotel. The first night in a standard room and three nights in a larger corner room. The standard rooms are small with no room to unpack, the larger rooms are better but still small but worth the extra money. The bathroom with good shower is integrated in the room. We enjoyed the flexibility of staying outside the park as we went on a boat trip to the glaciers which is not to be missed. Having the flexibility of eating in different restaurants was also important to us and there is a good choice in town. We looked at the accommodation in the park which is either a) very expensive and all inclusive or b) very basic, we felt we had made the correct choice. If like us you don't mind driving and prefer flexibility stay outside the park.
The restaurant in the hotel is ok but not the best in town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skipacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

This was the best hotel in our trip (3 weeks in Argentina and Chile). The food is great, the breakfast is wonderful (pineaple, strawberry, orange, peach juices...), the location amazing and the spa... Well the spa and the jacuzzis are heaven. We didn't want to leave Indigo! The staff is also great, always helpful and smiling!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inesfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

Maybe after a week of trekking in Torres del Paine I would have enjoyed Fawlty Towers just as much, but some how I doubt it. This place is great. A modern and stylish interior which is very much NOT form over function. A cosy sitting area near the bar and a wonderful restaurant.
I would gladly stay again next time I am in Patagonia

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bezzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

we stayed here with my family and loved it,it was super clean and the shower looks over the room to the sea. it was a great place to stay, kind of expensive but fully worth it.
My kids miss the no tv in the room but it was fun to kind of out of the normal rutine.
We ate at the restaurant in the hotel, I had the gothic pasta ( I don't know if they still have it but it was great), we also had hot chocolate with my daughter and she loved it, the have a very small shop and cyber place if you need to conect to internet, great place.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andytapatagonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.5 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#6 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.6 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#10 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noi Indigo Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noi Indigo Patagonia

Property: Noi Indigo Patagonia
Address: Ladrilleros 105, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Natales
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Noi Indigo Patagonia 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto Natales, in the southern tip of Chile the experience to enjoy nature is breathtaking. This is where Noi Indigo is located, whose name is due to the intense blue of the sea and sky that paint the landscape. With a style reminiscent to Nordic lodges, the hotel features architecture and cutting edge design, first class cuisine, a unique and luxury Spa worthy of any sophisticated traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Noi Indigo Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel And Spa
Indigo Hotel Puerto Natales
Noi Indigo Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing