We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome unique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Remota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Remota
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
La Grange Park, il USA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome unique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family and I loved our stay at Remota! The staff was so friendly and service was great. The meals were amazing and good portions. The fire pit in the dining area gives a great ambience along with looking out at the water. My dad and I took the horse back ride with our guide and gaucho which was an amazing experience I will never forget it. The wind was crazy at the top of the mountain but the views were breathtaking, and we had a nice picnic on the top. I just love how in tune with nature Remota is, you are able to walk on the roof which has grass growing up there! This was a great place to stay in Patagonia that you will never forget!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    70
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
70
166
25
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Remota. The staff was so wonderful and caring - we really got to know them on our 4-day trip. The guides were all wonderful and we had an amazing time. We especially loved our off-the-beaten-path hikes with Rafael (both inside the Torres del Paine Park and outside). The food was amazing and we loved every meal. We took advantage of the spa services and helped ourselves to the complimentary champagne while using the hot tub. We know it gets compared to Explora, which we have never stayed at, but we have to say we thought that for the value this place was truly amazing! Oh, and as far as the window between the bathroom and the room, we had no problem with it. In fact, it was great to have a wonderful view from the bathroom!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

A gorgeous place with surprisingly cosy rooms and a unique indigenous-inspired design. Great saltwater pool and outdoor jacuzzi, and a sweet rain shower. Only drawback was the window between the bathroom and beds. The restaurant, however, was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

An award-winning architectural masterpiece, Remota emulates the raw intensity of the Patagonian landscape and culture. Jaw-dropping, artistic, and dramatically beautiful!
Every meal was fresh, local and orgasmic!
The staff were all professional, knowledgeable, incredibly relaxed and friendly and quite frankly, a whole lotta fun.
Excursions were tailored to fit and each outing was a challenging, memorable adventure of varied landscapes and mind-boggling vistas with only the magnificence of nature in uninterrupted splendor.
That, and the yummiest picnics ever!
5-7 nights at Remota is truly an unparalleled experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

we recently spent 8 nights at Remota exploring Chilean Patagonia. Remota was designed by a well known architect (who also, i believe, designed Explora Patagonia???) and was modeled after an "estancia" so the architecture is really interesting. overall, we really enjoyed our stay and the staff became like family. 8 nights was perhaps a bit too long, we think 5, maybe 6 would be better.
the pluses:
-first and foremost, definitely the staff! on the whole a great group of young, really fun and caring people. special thanks to the kitchen staff (esp Mickey - who makes a mean Caiprinha - and Stefi) who took good care of me when i got sick! and to our number 1 guide, pedro who was so much fun!
-the location to town - walkable if you want, or remota can usually give you a lift into the town
-the location in general, well place to explore all around, including, but not limited to Torres del Paine
-the food - a nice choice each day for lunch and dinner. desserts especially yummy!
-the views - WOW!
-the guides - we had 4 whilst there and all were great. Pedro was who we had for most of the time and he was really awesome: enthusiastic, excellent english (and always trying to improve it!) and a very contagious laugh!
-the drivers - especially Carlos!
-the pool and hot tub - both really nice tho hot tub could be a teeny bit hotter!
-the rooms - definitely large enough and comfortable enough!

the negatives:
-the wine list. it was ok, but not enough selections and not as high quality as we think it should have been. we kept comparing to Awasi in the Atacama Desert which was also high end all inclusive resort and they had a much better and more comprehensive house wine choice.
-a 1 1/2 hour drive to Torres del Paine - but we specifically chose Remota over Explora b/c we wanted to be able to explore more than just Torres.
-the tipping policy - we would prefer to tip ALL staff (except guides) via a general tipping fund. as well, since you are not guaranteed the same guide, especially during high season, if you do have more than 1 guide it makes it hard to tip. Remota advises you to tip 1) your guide/s, 2) the kitchen staff and 3) the remainder of the staff.

Room Tip: the rooms are in 2 wings, the far one of which will be closed off during the low season when occupan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peripateticprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We arrived at Remota and were quite surprised about the design.It looked more like an institution than a luxury hotel! However,we were in for a BIG surprise.Internally it was wonderfully designed in a very modern way,with very comfortable rooms.We had the best guide we have ever had in any of our travels.Her name is Claudia.She is a clever and very knowledgeable lady,and she accompanied us on all of our trips,which were all included in the price,as was all of the wonderful food and beverages.She encouraged us to go horse riding, and we hadn't been riding for a very long time, but it was so exhilarating.We were able to go into the Torres Del Paine National Park which had been affected by the fire in December.In fact we were able to do or go wherever we wanted,so could not have wished for a better place to stay.All the staff were very friendly indeed.We would not hesitate to recommend Remota to anyone who would like to see and experience Patagonia at it's best!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jantonyshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

A recent stay at this wonderful hotel in Peurto Natales, Chile lived up to all our expectations. From the meals to the excursions everything was top notch. At night we planned our next days trips with knowledgeable guides who knew their stuff. The recent fire in Torres del Paine should not discourage anyone from visiting this corner of the globe. In addition to visiting the park there were numerous other excursions to provided by the Remota to pique a wide range of diverse interests.

Room Tip: .All rooms were great one side looked back at the town and the other out of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbegley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.4 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#6 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#10 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remota

Property: Remota
Address: Ruta 9 Norte, km 1.5 | Huerto 279, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Remota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remota is one of the most celebrated and awarded Hotels in Chile, where the National Architecture Prize Awarded, German Del Sol, achieved the most breathtaking views of the fjord and glaciers.Normal things like breakfast,is an unforgettable experience.Luminous and inserted in Patagonia's landscape, without any modification, with the best infrastructure, totally different from a classic hotel that impresses visitors and leaves a lasting memory.Remota is more than just a hotel, it allows travellers to have a unique total Patagonia Experience.Remota is an ecological and sustainable hotel, built with high quality materials, almost no motors, no elevators,no television or internet in the rooms, very light, almost transparent, natural ventilation and highly efficient energy use.We support local communities and are strongly linked to social and cultural organisations as well.Remota is a selected property of the prestigious Virtuoso luxury travel network (only 5 operations in Chile) and was choosen by Orvis as an International Endorsed Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Remota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remota Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile
Remota Hotel Puerto Natales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing