We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were nice, you will nead wheels for more than one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Staff were nice, you will nead wheels for more than one night stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the Weskar Lodge for only one night - Saturday 15th March , so my impressions of this hotel are limited by that. But for the sake of completeness, I wanted to include all the places we stayed at during our 25 day odyssey around Argentina and Patagonian Chile.

We had a reservation, and arrived in late afternoon on what already seemed like a very long day. We had arrived in Punta Arenas on the Stella Australis, having already done the final Zodiac excursion from that ship, this started before dawn.
By the time we got through customs, located our transfer driver to the bus station, took the public bus to Puerto Natales, then another transfer by taxi to this hotel, all the while hauling what began to seem like a mountain of luggage, we were tired, hungry and in need of a drink.

I am happy to say that reception was both very pleasant and fast; the bags were whisked away to our room in the building across the driveway by a young lady as soon as she heard the room number given to us. She took the lot! It was too early for dinner, but after freshening up in our nice room-with-a-view, we went to look for the bar to get a drink and maybe a snack.

There was no one behind the bar, but we finally got a young man’s attention and ordered drinks but no snacks were to be had. We had been told at reception that it would be 7:30 before the restaurant would open, so we tried to get our bartender to understand that we would like to look at the menu. Finally he got our meaning (his English was worse than our Spanish) and brought one - all in Spanish!

There seemed to be only two choices for main course, so we got it figured out.

The same young man then began to set the wood fire in the restaurant –a large, very nice room with picture windows overlooking the water – and then he began setting up the tables for dinner. He was of course to be our waiter at dinner too.
We started referring to him as Manuel.

Dinner was unmemorable, no potatoes with the meat, the vegetable was a large leafy salad on the side. We were past hungry by this time, so a bottle of Merlot, bread rolls, small starter and desert it hit the spot for us. We lingered a while over the wine and enjoyed the view over the water. I see some people referred to it as a fiord, it’s hardly that!

We retired early; the bed was comfortable and faced the large window. Behind the bed head, up on the next half level was the hand basins, also facing the window and bathroom, sort of a split level design. I guess the architect wanted to take full advantage of the view as you stood up there shaving. Different!

We were off early next morning to continue our trip into Torres Del Paine, the buffet style breakfast was the usual, and suited us fine, but we had to rush it a little as my iPhone was showing one hour slow, and our tour bus came right on time.

Not our favorite hotel on this trip, but it was fine and we had no problems.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    198
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
98
275
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed in six hotels during our trip in South America and this was our favourite! The building is stunning from the outside and the inside is equally as beautiful. Our room had a huge window, which had incredible views over the lake, right from the comfort of our bed! The rooms are so tastefully designed and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The restaurant is also fantastic; so much so that we chose to eat here on both nights of our stay, and had what was one of the best meals of our trip! Breakfast is also great, as is the hot tub! I would definitely return to this hotel and would urge any visitors to Puerto Natales make this your first choice! We booked our trip through Imagine Latin America, who we would highly recommend for anyone wanting to plan a trip anywhere in Latin America.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is attractive to look at and has great views, however if you don't want to eat dinner here and don't have a car, it will have to be a taxi into town as the road into town is unlit so we didn't want to risk walking. Besides it was blowing a gale!

Our room was simple with that great view. There wasn't a lift but we were helped with luggage and some rooms would be easier to access if stairs are a problem for you. The toilet didn't stop flushing until you took the top off and adjusted it.

The dinner at the hotel was okay - portions are small and more seasoning is required in the soup but with a little more care this could be a good place to eat. Service in the evening was very amateur - I actually saw the waiter wipe his nose on his sleeve! Breakfast had a good variety.

The following morning we went to check out to go by boat to Torres Del Paine to learn that, because of the strong winds we would not be going. Reception was full of people who had hoped to do this trip as a day excursion and those moving on. Sarah handled it all with a smile and never got flustered as she tried to reorganise everyone's travel plans. She phoned our tour company on several occasions until they came up with an answer. Above her desk is a sign saying 'Friend Desk' - she certainly was that day!

We liked this hotel and, with a little more attention to detail, it could be great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Lovely hotel and good location, the views are also amazing. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, all we needed to start our trip to Torres del Paine National Park...I strongly recommend it!
I will come back next year for sure...

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the fiord...the best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked a double room for 110$ usd. A friend decided to join us so we then needed a triple. Every place thus far charged a small up-charge, but no, not this place. The girl called the owner and asked her what to do. I heard her say in Spanish "they used booking.com, can we negotiate?" The owner said "no!" Basically they knew we couldn't cancel and therefore preceded to take advantage of us on a night they were nearly empty. They charged us $80 to add a bed then took is to a large room with an unmade bed and told us they wouldn't make it. Then they came back 10 mins later and took us to a tiny room and told us it was better. The place was nice, but they clearly took advantage of us and of the situation and in my opinion were very unethical.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan José P, Gerente at Weskar Patagonian Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello WilliamD8:
Thank you for considering Weskar Lodge a nice place with a friendly staff, we really appreciate it.
Nevertheless, since you said that we are unethical and want to take advantage of you, here we post our version of the situation so the traveler community can make up their own objective opinion:
This reservation was made through Booking.com in a "Double standard room garden view" (basic room, without a view to the fjords), with a rate of USD 110 per night, the cheapest one.
Once the guests arrived to the hotel, they requested a triple room (it happened that they were 3 people, not 2 as the original reservation was originally made for). Our lodge doesn't have a Triple Room Garden View, so we offered a Triple Room Fjord View, which costs USD 190 per night. The rates are published in Booking.com website, so we cannot change them if they're already set for a determined date.
The guest said that he asked the owner if they could negotiate the rate, but the receptionist asked to the manager.
Finally, we want to tell our travelers that they can trust Weskar Lodge, and if they have any doubts about our rates, room categories, and/or services, you can contact us directly or through online booking resources.
Best regards

Juan José Pantoja
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel could be so good, lovely location with beautiful views and some really good beds and lovely linen sheets. What else is there to commend it? Nothing. By contrast with elsewhere in Chile there was no smile at reception, downright surliness at breakfast with low quality service, food and beverages, ill designed bathrooms, and an air of general indifference to customer care. So if you just want a good bed, and it was very good, then this is for you. If you want more look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan José P, Gerente at Weskar Patagonian Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Exviztraveller,

Thank you for leaving your feedback about Weskar, we've taken note of your comments in order to try to keep the original inspiration of this little patagonian lodge. We're sorry for not meeting your expectations. Smiling is something very important in these services so we will encourage our staff to keep that spirit.
Our main objective is to look after our guests who arrive to this remote region, with kindness and a familiar style trying to make them feel at home.
We tell our future guests that we're going to work on this, so don't hesitate in visiting Weskar Lodge.
About the Weskar Lodge services, the Restaurant considers a menu of 3 options for dinner, using local products. It also has a little bar next to a den with a rustic fireplace. Travelers will be able to find regional craft beers from Patagonia, pisco-sour and spirits. Our staff is mainly local people, who day by day make their best efforts to look after our guests, who come from different latitudes around the world. Maybe some people of our staff don't have a basic level of english, but every day we try to show a friendly spirit of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just a night before heading into Torres del Paine park for our W circuit trek. We decided to walk from the Puerto Natales bus station and it turned out to be a little longer than expected: about a 45 minute walk with our packs. While the location of the hotel is beautiful (on a little hill overlooking the spectacular Fjord), it is a little bit out of the way if you want to go into town for errands or dinner. It was ok for a night, but expect a 20-30 minute walk each away depending on where you are going in town. If you don't want to walk, you'll need to take a taxi. The rooms were clean and comfortable (the beds are covered with crisp white comforters), the bathrooms were modern and the decor is meant to give the place a rustic feel. Even though the room we booked was not meant to have a Fjord view, we were given a room with a beautiful big window that overlooked the Fjord anyway which I thought was a nice touch. The service was also very good (particularly the front desk staff) and the complimentary breakfast was decent. My only complaints about this place are that the walls are quite thin so you can hear doors opening and closing, cleaning staff, etc. However, this is not something that kept us up at night. The other complaint was that the Wi-Fi didn't work very well, signal was very low and intermittant from our room. For the price though, I was very satisfied.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a Fjord view, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
537 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
679 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weskar Patagonian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weskar Patagonian Lodge

Property: Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Address: Huerto 274-B, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Weskar Patagonian Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty Patagonia, Weskar Lodge is a cozy hotel with 30 rooms, offering quality and charming services, that will make your trip an unforgettable experience after your excursions to Torres del Paine and the Glaciers. Located along the coast in the city of Puerto Natales, at an altitude of 70 feets above sea level, sorrounded by green areas, Weskar Lodge is a unique and small hotel with impressive views of the fjord and the Patagonian Andes Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Weskar Patagonian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weskar Patagonian Hotel Puerto Natales
Hotel Weskar Patagonian
Weskar Patagonian Lodge Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing