We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place for lounging.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding place for lounging.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have traveled to the Chilean Patagonia, I decided this lodge, was an amazing experience. The wind in this
area is strong at times, the hotel is well insulated, perfect for
lounging, no noise and the beds are clean and good. The hotel offers
guests the most oustanding views of the coast. The rooms are very
comfortable and nice ethnic style decorated. Ask for help at the
reception to take advantage of the best routes, that really helped me in my short week visit. I recommend it, as long as your goal is to not
thinking about working.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricio_Catalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    194
    49
    18
    4
See reviews for
95
270
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Apart from a small bathroom and faulty hairdryer this is a great place to stay, the rooms are large, comfortable and clean, also very nice views from those at the front of the building. It is on the edge of town but a taxi is very cheap. We also found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: Try to get one at the front - the view is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Mark_and_Hansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATH
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed for one night and enjoyed being in this hotel. It has a warm alpine lodge ambience and the staff are very helpful indeed. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Those at the front have great views out to sea but beware draught whistles from the windows when the wind blows. It's about 1Km into town and a nice walk but it can be very very windy at this latitudes so be prepared to take a taxi if you're not feeling like strolling in a full gale.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Four of us stayed at Weskar lodge for one night on either side of a trip to Torres del Paine National Park. The hotel is beautifully appointed and decorated - the nicest we stayed in in Chile or Argentina, and the bar/eating area has fantastic views of the Last Hope Sound. Linen and beds are of a very high quality and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a welcome drink of very well made Pisco Sours by the manager, accompanied by complimentary home made sushi!. The breakfast was also well laid out and delicious, including eggs, fruit, yoghurts, breads and cakes. We ate in the lodge on our first night and were offered a set three-course meal which was of a fairly good quality and convenient if you don't want to go into town.
The lodge also looked after our excess baggage whilst we were hiking, and had it waiting in our rooms for us on our return.
The one downside is the walk into town. We walked back twice and although the distance is not far, the wind can make it unpleasant. However, taxi rides cost a flat fee of $1500 (Chilean Pesos) anywhere in town, so for two or more people, this is not at all expensive and very easily organised.
Overall this was the most modern and well equipped hotel we stayed in in Chile, and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkerJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here as part of a package with Cascada, we stayed in Puerto Natales so that we could do some activities before heading into the Torres park to stay at the Ecocamp. I would not have chosen this hotel if I had been making the booking directly.

It is a 1km walk into town, which we actually enjoyed doing and therefore didn't find the location a problem, but it is outside the town so if you don't fancy walking you must take a taxi.

The room (I think we had the largest one) whilst large, had a tiny bathroom. There was nowhere to hang clothes or put anything away. The curtains didn't close properly and at that time of year it doesn't get dark until very late so it was hard to sleep and then when the sun came up the room got very hot. The decoration could be improved and things looked rather old and tired. They have a restaurant and whilst the lunch we had was nice it was expensive, I guess taking advantage of the fact that you are outside the town and so can't go somewhere else without a bit of effort. The breakfasts were plentiful but again the quality could be improved. Overall I think there are much better places to stay in town. We also had some issues with communication between Cascada (tour operator) and the Weskar, we didn't receive messages that were left for us, times of pickups were not communicated properly and on one instance our pickup didn't occur and we nearly missed an excursion.

We ate at the Indigo hotel a couple of times and the food was superb, perhaps worth trying instead of the Weskar!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FBMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanjopa, Guest Relations Manager at Weskar Patagonian Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Good day Mrs. FBMadrid:
We are sorry if don´t liked the lodge, when you stayed on November 2010 (9 months ago). It´s very important say some tips, in order to help for the travelers:
- Location.
Weskar is located on the coastline of Puerto Natales, 500 meters from the entrance to Puerto Natales and 1,200 meters from the center of the city. Walk along the waterfront is very nice, and black-neck swans and wild ducks is on the fiord. For those tourists who do not like walk, the cost of a taxi is USD 3.0.
- Restaurant.
We will do the best to improve our meals service. The Restaurant is open in hight season (November to March) just on the dinner time. In low season (April to October) is available a daily menu.
- Decoration of the lodge.
The hotel's public areas and rooms are being renovated during low season 2011. Natural and simple decoratives concepts are integrated, in a cozy enviroment, without sophistications.
-Rooms.
The sizes of the rooms are 19 sqm (double standard) and 25 sqm (Double Superior). The double rooms have a beautiful view overlooking the fjord. All information and photographs of the lodge are on our website, allowing the traveler to be fully informed. Beginning in 2012 Weskar will have new rooms, overlooking the fiord.
Finally, we understand if our hotel concept is not your choice. We appreciate your comments, because we must be aware to improve our services.
Best regards

Juan José Pantoja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Weskar twice in March--before and after a backpacking trip in Torres del Paine. Because at the end of our trip we were going to stay on a couple of extra days, I wanted a place that was more than a no frills hostal, but we didn't want to spend as much money as the couple of high-end luxury places outside of town. Weskar was a happy intermediate--and a place much needed in Puerto Natales. Although the furnishings aren't luxurious, they are pleasant in a "mountain lodge" sort-of way. The views from the front of the hotel are spectacular. Likewise the views are great from the dining area and jacuzzis. We spent a couple of evenings sitting in the lounge/dining area reading and enjoying the spectacular sunsets.

In spite of being slightly upscale, they are very backpacker-friendly. Not only did they not look askance at us when we showed up with heavy packs and suitcases, they are quite happy to store your luggage with your street clothes while you are off trekking.

Some of the staff was extremely helpful before our arrival checking on how late camping supply stores and other places would be open on the day of our arrival. Some of the other people would worked the front desk were a little less helpful, but still everyone was pleasant.

Breakfast is served early so that you can get up and out for tours, buses, and boat rides. The diversity and quality of the food available for dinner is not impressive, but as long as you are not vegetarian, it would do in a pinch if you were too tired to go into town. That brings me to perhaps the only real drawback to the Weskar--it's about a half to three quarters of a mile from town. Not a big deal if you are prepared to walk, but if you wanted to take a taxi into town, you need to call some time ahead for one to be sent out to fetch you. Overal, though, it was worth the extra distance for the spectacular view. It is the closest of the hotels that are located out of town and so is a good compromise between scenary and access.

We very much enjoyed our stay in the Weskar and would return if we go to Puerto Natales again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the fjord are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonprofit business traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Weskar is gorgeous, no doubt. The common areas are cozy, comfy and elegant. The rooms are spacious, and (I think all rooms have this maybe? but check!) we had a little sunroom off our room with gorgeous views of the lake. What an unexpected treat!
I just wish it was closer to town. We arrived late, and it was going to be a gorgeous sunset/evening for walking around and photography, but after hiking the W Trail and spending all day on a bus, we were tired and weren't up for making the long walk into town. Bummer, because the light was fantastic for pictures.
Because we arrived so late, we sadly did not get to take part in any of the spa services, but on the property there was massage, hot tubs and a sauna. Score!
My only complaint was the food. The dinner was a bit fancy, and expensive, so we went without (again, it was too far to head into town in our tired and weary state). Also, be careful if you have a bus you need to catch - because of the location, it can be tough to get taxis for everyone checking out at the same time, trying to catch the bus at the same time. It can make departure a little chaotic!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brindled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.8 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#5 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#6 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#10 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weskar Patagonian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weskar Patagonian Lodge

Property: Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Address: Huerto 274-B | Km. 1, Ruta 9 Torres del Paine, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Weskar Patagonian Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty Patagonia, Weskar Lodge is a cozy hotel with 30 rooms, offering quality and charming services, that will make your trip an unforgettable experience after your excursions to Torres del Paine and the Glaciers. Located along the coast in the city of Puerto Natales, at an altitude of 70 feets above sea level, sorrounded by green areas, Weskar Lodge is a unique and small hotel with impressive views of the fjord and the Patagonian Andes Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Weskar Patagonian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weskar Patagonian Hotel Puerto Natales
Hotel Weskar Patagonian
Weskar Patagonian Lodge Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing