We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Patagonia!”
Review of Cafe Kaiken

Cafe Kaiken
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chilean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Kaiken Cafe restaurant opens its doors in August 2013 in the town of Puerto Natales, Magallanes region, Chile. Served by its owners, who style typical Chilean and international cuisine, including its specialties are inspired: Stuffed pasta with salmon and vegetarian Patagonian hare in different varieties risottos, fish and shellfish from the southern zone, and cakes. Located in a corner of the town square yungay small dining space with good service and quality products. Accepts reservations plus catering and banquet service companies is done.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Patagonia!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We've spent almost one week in Patagonia, and it was absoluteley the best place we ate in. It small, family business, and the service is super friendly:) Dishes were just delicious (we've tried salmon and stek, and apple pie), and the atmosphere very nice, warm and inviting. We clapped our hands at the end of the meal- it was just perfect, as it should be and we are really sad we have to leave the city and can't have anorher dinner there! Prices are very fair (salmon 5500, steak around 6500). So just go there if you are in Puerto Natales- you will not regret:)

Helpful?
1 Thank joannafilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    90
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly cafe, tasty food”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was a small family-run cafe producing fresh home-baked food. It was served quickly and very cheerfully by the owner. Prices were very reasonable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gentian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful service and delicious food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I arrive in Puerto Natales in the afternoon on a Sunday, and we were tired and hungry. We walked around downtown looking for restaurants, but most were closed. When we found this cafe, the staff were having lunch and the restaurant was closed, but they invited us in anyways. We were very grateful and the whole dining experience turned out to be lovely. We ordered the salmon and a gnocchi dish with alfredo sauce, plus wine and beer. We also had brownies with ice cream for dessert. The waiter took our order and also made the food in the back - he was very kind and a talented chef. The restaurant was small but the atmosphere was warm and inviting, and there was lots of natural light and a good view overlooking the plaza. Plus, the prices were very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTCAT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

One of the best places we ate during our week in Patagonia: we had delicious salmon pasta and a perfectly cooked salmon filet, accompanied by roast potatoes and julienned vegetables that would be at home in a French bistro. Prices are very fair (about $10 USD for the salmon entree, slightly less for the pasta), service prompt and friendly. Wine list could use expansion, but so could all the wine lists in Patagonia. Definitely worth a visit while in Natales.

Helpful?
1 Thank the_voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctba
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You can't miss”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

A international Cuisine in a unexpected place. The menu is wonderful in a perfect dimension. I tasted the Salmon, just delicious!!! The owner is so nice and friendly like all of the Chileans.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chiquitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kaiken also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Cafe Kaiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing