We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Costaustralis
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

So much nicer than its sister hotel in Punta Arenas which was terrible.

Staff much more pleasant in this hotel and service really good, particularly the lady restaurant manager who was very attentive. Overall a pleasant stay and a lovely view to boot!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobsterlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks for leave a comment. This is a great feedback channel for us.
We hope to see you soon.

The Hoteles Australis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    242
    78
    12
    13
See reviews for
115
248
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The view of the waterfront is beautiful. The lobby its beautifully decorated with wood sculptures. The rooms were large and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was pretty good. The buffet breakfast is decent but not great. You can't beat the location and the views. They have free WiFi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks for leave a comment. This is a great feedback channel for us.
We hope to see you soon.

The Hoteles Australis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Insofar as hotels that are in rather than surrounding Puerto Natales I think this rates as no. 1. Hotel was incredibly well located across the road from one of the most beautiful vistas (see pic), rooms were large, comfortable, and clean. Restaurant food and service were average but not unusual for an "out of the way" town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very comfortable and homey, great location and friendly staff. Rooms are warm, clean and quiet. Not a lot of variety for breakfast and I didn’t find out I could get hot items cooked to order until my last day there, and when I did order it took forever and I had to cancel my order because my transportation had arrived. Other than that, dinner was delicious and the overall experience in Puerto Natales, the glaciers, Torres del Paine, etc is simply unforgettable. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Think twice before paying for a better view... you won't be sitting in your room all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeForRent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMPHIS, TN
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

With it's fantastic location on the waterfront, it's nice bar with a water/mountain/glacier view, courteous staff and comfortable rooms- this hotel is great. You have to know that most people that are staying in this "frontier" town are not staying in accomodations like these! There are lots of hostels and trekker inn- but this one fits the bill if, like me, you require a bit of luxury whist in the wilderness!

Room Tip: We didn't have one but the water/glacier/mountain view must be magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of Smartours Patagonia trip to Los Glaciares National Park, Serrano glacier, and Petito Moreno. This is a very nice 4* hotel, off the main street, with spacious modern rooms, very comfortable beds, a modern bathroom, and helpful staff.. Hotel Restaurant is excellent with nice L specials. Rub Magellan's toe in the park across the street and return to Patagonia happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great breakfast, lovely bar with a really good house Cab. Rooms are small, but nicely appointed, good beds. But, if you open your windows, there is traffic noise (I know, in Puerto Natales?) all night long. In our Room 239, we were awakend at 2AM by loud humming (the explanation was noise from the heating system). The front desk gave us a new room, which was fine.

Room Tip: Don't take Room 239
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaphsDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.1 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
243 reviews
2.3 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costaustralis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costaustralis

Property: Hotel Costaustralis
Address: Pedro Montt 262, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costaustralis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the fjord of Last Hope, Hotel Costaustralis stands out for its traditional building land marking the entrance of the city of Puerto Natales. Inside, it houses the history and traditions of the area with its warm, personalized service along with its sober and elegant decor accented by the great presence of local pieces. Hotel Costaustralis boasts 110 comfortable rooms designed to provide total relaxation. They face an incredible sea view with the Patagonian Mountain in the background as well as first class facilities like full set of pillows, standalone desktop, LCD TV, bathroom full equipped and free wifi. The Hotel also offers a high-level food service. The kitchen abounds with typical food of the region, where you can taste the delicious Magellan Crab in his restaurant or a typical Calafate Sour at the bar. The Hotel CostAustralis' experience lets you live the Patagonia from its roots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Costaustralis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Australis Puerto Natales
Hotel Costaustralis Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing