We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Pleasant Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Costaustralis
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Comfortable Pleasant Central Hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of Smartours Patagonia trip to Los Glaciares National Park, Serrano glacier, and Petito Moreno. This is a very nice 4* hotel, off the main street, with spacious modern rooms, very comfortable beds, a modern bathroom, and helpful staff.. Hotel Restaurant is excellent with nice L specials. Rub Magellan's toe in the park across the street and return to Patagonia happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    239
    78
    12
    13
See reviews for
114
246
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great breakfast, lovely bar with a really good house Cab. Rooms are small, but nicely appointed, good beds. But, if you open your windows, there is traffic noise (I know, in Puerto Natales?) all night long. In our Room 239, we were awakend at 2AM by loud humming (the explanation was noise from the heating system). The front desk gave us a new room, which was fine.

Room Tip: Don't take Room 239
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaphsDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
329 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Costaustralis and appreciated some points:
its position: just in front of the sea, where you can enjoy nice views and unforgottable sunsets from the large windows of the halls,
you can reach the main street on foot in few minutes;
the eco-style and the very good restaurant.

Just a remark: the service of the concierge may be very slow at the morning when most of the people arrive/leave.

Overall I had a very positive stay and really advice this choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is nothing i would've expected! It was amazing, the room I got was very spacious and had a beautiful view of the sea and Torres del Paine (you can see a bit on a clear day!). The location is perfect...you can easily walk along the promenade to the main square. There's a lounge on the ground floor where I had some cocktails and a sandwich.....couldn't stop taking photos of the lobby.......and yeah haha breakfast was ok...nothing memorable. I definitely recommend this hotel!

The room had no technology, which didn't really bother me... it actually enhanced my stay and helped me relaxed even more! There was free wi-fi in the public areas AND the room.

N.B I know I said I loved this hotel....but....100 meters from this one there's another hotel that would be worth taking a look at....I know I would next time I'm in Puerto Natales......It's called INDIGO By Noi looks interesting

Cheers!

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view preferably on the top floor (I believe it was the 4th....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very nice hotel. If you get a Sea view room the view is gorgeous. A short walk into town for shops and restaurants, good location, comfortable rooms.

Decent restaurant though breakfast could stand some improvement. Very very runny scrambled eggs (inedible in my opinion), plus Cold cereal, fruit and yogurt, some sweet pastries.

The Front desk staff was very helpful. When one of our pre-paid transfer drivers failed to show up to take us to the dock (5 km away) for our boat excursion to Balmaceda and Serrano glaciers, the front desk called the boat company and got them to pick us up, they held the boat for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. The view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cml94618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

On the water, across the street at least, and the staff was friendly. There with a tour, and still got a room with water view, albeit on the top floor with a high window. Not surprisingly for Patagonia, it was very windy, and our wierd window took some breaking in, but all in all it was a fine stay.
Breakfast satisfactory.

Room Tip: Water view, but not on the top floor - strange windows up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pisces025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Costaaustralis. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable, and the bathrooms modern with great showers. The location is right across the street from the ocean where you can walk along the boardwalk and see beautiful views of snow clad mountains along with swans swimming in the sea. The center of this small town is just a block or two away. Breakfast buffet is included in the price of the hotel and there is free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumihills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.1 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
677 reviews
1.4 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#15 of 26 in Puerto Natales
156 reviews
1.7 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#9 of 26 in Puerto Natales
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costaustralis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costaustralis

Property: Hotel Costaustralis
Address: Pedro Montt 262, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Natales
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costaustralis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the fjord of Last Hope, Hotel Costaustralis stands out for its traditional building land marking the entrance of the city of Puerto Natales. Inside, it houses the history and traditions of the area with its warm, personalized service along with its sober and elegant decor accented by the great presence of local pieces. Hotel Costaustralis boasts 110 comfortable rooms designed to provide total relaxation. They face an incredible sea view with the Patagonian Mountain in the background as well as first class facilities like full set of pillows, standalone desktop, LCD TV, bathroom full equipped and free wifi. The Hotel also offers a high-level food service. The kitchen abounds with typical food of the region, where you can taste the delicious Magellan Crab in his restaurant or a typical Calafate Sour at the bar. The Hotel CostAustralis' experience lets you live the Patagonia from its roots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Costaustralis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Australis Puerto Natales
Hotel Costaustralis Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing