We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very dated.”
Review of Hotel Glaciares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Glaciares
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location but very dated.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This place is OK if you just need a room for the night. The decor is pretty dated and the service somewhat impersonal. If you have time to look around for another place I would.

On the positive side, it is close to the waterfront if you wish to explore that area and the neighborhood is quite and safe. There are some good places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkCSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
25
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Not a bad hotel and not a great hotel. Location was fine and we did have partial water view. Wifi which is great. Room had more of a motel look but with a very good bathroom and great water pressure. Breakfast was average. All depends on what your budget it. For us this place was included in our package but if I was looking for a hotel separately I'd be sure to look around at other options but if this turned out to be the best price I'd have no problem staying here again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel is a short walk out of the centre but in a nice neighbourhood. The rooms are comfortable but the bathrooms are very small. Saying that, the shower is great and the water pressure is good. The beds are clean and comfortable but there is noise from other rooms.

The wi-fi is free and the fastest I have found yet in Patagonia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I can't complain about our stay here. It was clean and we lucked out with a huge room. Others we travelled with had rooms half our size, and if I had one of those rooms, I'd be rating it lower than 3/5.

Location was OK. A walk up the slight hill to town generally with a stiff wind behind you. A few blocks from the main shops, but not too far. Close to the water, although with the constant wind while we were there, not really the place for a romantic stroll. November was full jacket and gloves weather.

It's an OK hotel for a night or two, but if you;re staying in Puerto Natales for longer, spend a little more and find somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontal do Parana, PR
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The room is reasonably good and big enough. It is near the center and very well located. It was recommended by Theresa, a touristic company.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvivac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed twice one night in the Hotel Glaciares and appreciated the uncomplicated check-in even arriving later in the evening and without having made reservations. The rooms are simple but comfortable and are a good value for money. There is a breakfast buffet included in the price, which you can even enjoy if you have to leave early in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. One night, it was a bit noisy outside the hotel with people going round on motorbikes but this is not the hotel's mistake. It seems to be a bit of an issue in Patagonia, as we have experienced it in other places, too. The hotel also offers tours to the national park and the glaciers but we haven't tried them out ourselves so I cannot comment on that. Overall, I'd recommend the hotel if you are looking for a simple yet comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madita76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Can't expect more for the value.
The hotel is serious, the bathrooms and rooms are clean.
The corridors could be improved.
Breakfast is nothing special but it's fine.
I recommend this hotel to a person on a low budget.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Milodon
Hostel Milodon
#19 of 26 in Puerto Natales
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lady Florence Dixie
Hotel Lady Florence Dixie
#16 of 26 in Puerto Natales
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin Gusinde
Hotel Martin Gusinde
#9 of 26 in Puerto Natales
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaciares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaciares

Property: Hotel Glaciares
Address: 104 Eberhard St., Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Glaciares 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Glaciares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glaciares Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing