We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”
Review of Hotel Glaciares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Glaciares
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Co Durham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel is a short walk out of the centre but in a nice neighbourhood. The rooms are comfortable but the bathrooms are very small. Saying that, the shower is great and the water pressure is good. The beds are clean and comfortable but there is noise from other rooms.

The wi-fi is free and the fastest I have found yet in Patagonia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
25
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I can't complain about our stay here. It was clean and we lucked out with a huge room. Others we travelled with had rooms half our size, and if I had one of those rooms, I'd be rating it lower than 3/5.

Location was OK. A walk up the slight hill to town generally with a stiff wind behind you. A few blocks from the main shops, but not too far. Close to the water, although with the constant wind while we were there, not really the place for a romantic stroll. November was full jacket and gloves weather.

It's an OK hotel for a night or two, but if you;re staying in Puerto Natales for longer, spend a little more and find somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontal do Parana, PR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The room is reasonably good and big enough. It is near the center and very well located. It was recommended by Theresa, a touristic company.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvivac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed twice one night in the Hotel Glaciares and appreciated the uncomplicated check-in even arriving later in the evening and without having made reservations. The rooms are simple but comfortable and are a good value for money. There is a breakfast buffet included in the price, which you can even enjoy if you have to leave early in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. One night, it was a bit noisy outside the hotel with people going round on motorbikes but this is not the hotel's mistake. It seems to be a bit of an issue in Patagonia, as we have experienced it in other places, too. The hotel also offers tours to the national park and the glaciers but we haven't tried them out ourselves so I cannot comment on that. Overall, I'd recommend the hotel if you are looking for a simple yet comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madita76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Can't expect more for the value.
The hotel is serious, the bathrooms and rooms are clean.
The corridors could be improved.
Breakfast is nothing special but it's fine.
I recommend this hotel to a person on a low budget.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

I did not spend much time at the hotel, but really enjoyed the comfortable and clean accomodations. Nelson, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable and picked me up at the bus station (I arrived from Punta Arenas) and was also my guide to Torres del Paine.

The hotel's location is excellent - an easy 1-2 block walk to the ocean and a few short blocks to the city center. There was also a good breakfast included and high speed internet access, which is critical for all my travel blogging!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Semi-Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Because we went some days to Torres del Paine and would return to Puerto Natales, we asked Hotel Glacieres to store one (new) backpack with shoes, books, nice clothes and more. They gave us a numbered receipt and put the other part on our backpack. But after we returned to the hotel a few days later, our backpack wasn't there anymore. They said that they just left the backpack behind the open lobby, and did not check whether the number matched the luggage that people took.

Eventhough we had a receipt, the hotel didn't feel responsible for our loss at all. After insisting that they would help us with asking the police to make up a report, they took us there. However, instead of helping us with filing the report they only tried to persuade the police that it was our own responsibility and left. The police did think that the hotel was to blame.

After a lot of discussion with the hotel, the only thing we could do was leave the hotel to continue our trip, leaving a note that we did hold them responsible. When our travel agent contacted them a few weeks later, they first said that they did not lose anything and then said it was only a small plastic bag that was missing and that we shouldn't complain. Conclusion: do not go here if you want to keep your luggage, or expect some service.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Holland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Natales hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#18 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#9 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel IF Patagonia
Hotel IF Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin Gusinde
Hotel Martin Gusinde
#10 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#15 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaciares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaciares

Property: Hotel Glaciares
Address: 104 Eberhard St., Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Glaciares 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Glaciares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glaciares Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing