We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best palce in town.”
Review of Hotel Hallef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hallef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The only downside I could say about this hotel is none of the staff speak very good English, but that's my problem not really theirs. New hotel spotlessly clean, good breakfast and good price. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

3-stars does not reflect the quality of the place. It is a great, clean and quiet place to rest after trekking Torres del Paine. Even though it is not located right in the city center, but a few blocks away, it invites you to constantly discover new parts of this nice Patagonian town. Price is fair, and breakfast could be a bit better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChileWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and were very pleased with the place. The hotel was warm and clean and so were the rooms which were big with clean bedding, towels and bathroom. The room and bathroom both had heaters which was great considering how cold it can get in Puerto Natales. The breakfast was good - cereal, toast, butter, ham, cheese, coffee, tea, yogurt, fruit, juices and you could get eggs in whatever form you wanted. The WIFI signal was not so great on the floor we wore on - 3rd floor - and you have to give in your room key every time you leave the hotel. The rooms had vaults though so you can use those to keep valuables. But other than that it was a good experience and would definitely recommend the place to others.

Room Tip: Choose second floor rooms for stronger WIFI signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilankaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. The breakfast was the usual you would find at and B&B. The location was quite convenient and it was a short walking distance from the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drcoolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

New and nice about sums up this place. I was very pleased with my room, which was spacious and very clean.The staff were very helpful, although I did need Google Translate on occasion. They booked me on a bus tour of Torres del Paine that worked very well.

I was a bit taken aback to find Nescafe rather than coffee at breakfast, but I found that this was common in Chile. The hotel was handy for the bus stops, but I took a taxi to the hotel where I checked in for the Navimag ferry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thursdaysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here as our "treat" to ourselves after camping/trekking for a week in Torres del Paine.

It's close to the central part of town (about 5-6 blocks away) on a street that looks a bit sketchy, but was fine. We had a rental car and left it parked outside, no problems.

The room was clean and had a flat screen TV. There was an in-room safe that didn't work. The shower needs an update (a tub with this strange glass movable door that was supposed to make it easier to get out of the tub), but it was fine.

Breakfast was more generous than is typical at this hotel rate in Argentina/Chile because besides toast, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, and Tang, they had a variety fresh fruit plus scrambled eggs made to order.

I had a quibble with the customer service about the room charges when checking out. I had made my reservation with a website that charges my card 10% of the reservation when booking it. Even though they had a copy of that in their files (she showed me) and I had printed the email showing this, I still had to argue and explain that I should only be paying the remaining 90% of the rate, not the entire 100% (and I speak Spanish and was traveling with a native Spanish speaker, so there was no communication issue here). After finally settling this first math problem, the customer service person then told me that even though my rate was quoted in US dollars online (which is how the booking website quoted the room), my credit card would be charged in Chilean pesos. This was fine. However, then she told me okay, so at this hotel, we convert US dollars at a rate that was much lower than the current rate. I argued that this was ridiculous because we weren't paying with cash (so it's not like a convenience fee for the conversion), but rather she's just punching in numbers to convert it to their rate and then swiping the credit card, and thus she should be using the actual rate. Well this discussion didn't resolve anything, and neither did the offer to pay in Chilean peso cash at the actual conversion rate. So basically, we ended up paying slightly more than the rate we had booked, due to this conversion funny business. Unfortunately there was no manager on duty to speak with.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMoveALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

As a group of six, we booked two triple rooms and were very happy with this place. The location was excellent - very close to the buses in Puerto Natales. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was decent, for Chile. The hotel even stored our bags for us for free after our stay during the several days we circuited the Torres del Paine park.

The only nitpick with our room was the showers that had finicky doors that did stay closed. We ended up flooding the bathroom from multiple showers, which left us feeling a little guilty.

Other than that minor problem, we were very happy with this place, and would have stayed there again.

Room Tip: if you can couple-up (or triple up), you can save a bundle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rawrmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.2 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquaterra
Aquaterra
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#16 of 26 in Puerto Natales
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hallef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hallef

Address: Eluterio Ramirez 604, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range: $97 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hallef 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hallef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hallef Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing