We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Torres del Paine National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$219.00*
and up
Private Tour: Torres del Paine National Park and Milodon Cave with Lunch
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Full-Day Hiking Tour to the Base of Paine Towers at Torres del Paine National...
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Torres del Paine National Park from Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A hiker's dream, this national park contains huge granite mountains surrounded by clear lakes and a series of well-maintained trails that vary in degree of difficulty.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My partner and I did the "W" trek during the start of May which was a risk with the weather but paid off. There was a lot of different types of weather - snow, rain, sun and wind which gave a great taste of the weather Patagonia is subjected to. The hike was absolutely amazing. So many different environments that we often felt it was too good to be true. I highly recommend this hike, although it does require some fitness. During May all the refugio's except 1 are closed which may be a negative for some but the major bonus is that there were so few people around so you can enjoy this beautiful scenery to yourself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,101
    446
    90
    28
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“At this time of year it is always a gamble with the weather but when the sun shines, it is magic!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I hired a car for three days from Puerto Natales (from 4-6 May) and stayed in a small 2 bedroom cabin at Hostel Lago Tyndall (the options for accommodation in or near the park are very limited after April), which is just outside the main administration entrance, on the banks of Rio Serrano.

There were no boats operating on Lago Grey or Lago Pehoe when we were there (they finished at end April) so our options for hiking and seeing Glacier Grey were somewhat limited (we didn't have camping gear so couldn't do the full W trek). We still did two hikes - to the Base de las Torres (classic view of the towers) and to the Mirador Ferrier (lookout over Lake Grey with Glacier Grey behind it) - and drove around to all the lookouts in the park.

It rained on the first day so we postponed our hike to the Torres (couldn't see the mountains for the clouds) but the second day was sunny/partly cloudy so we went for it (8 hours return from Hotel Las Torres including a break for lunch and photo stops). It's a nice hike but the best bit is seeing the towers after the last 1 hour climb to the lake. It was freezing when we got to the top so we only stayed long enough for a sandwich and a few photos before heading back down. I can imagine it is just stunning on a clear, sunny day in summer (but also crowded - it was just us for most of the time we were there). Toilets available at park offices but not on the trail at camp sites.

The hike to the Mirador Ferrier is short but steep. It's signposted as a high difficulty walk of 2 hours. Not sure if that is 2 hours one way or return - we are reasonably fit and it took us about 1.5hrs to get to the top and 1hr to get down. The ascent/descent is only about 600m but it's over a very short distance. The view from the top is pretty spectacular but it was cold and windy when we were up there so we didn't stay long. You get a nice view of Glacier Grey in the distance and can see the icebergs in the lake - it's a shame the boat trips don't run in May.

The car hire wasn't cheap ($80AUS/day) but it was worth it to have our own transport, especially with very limited public transport at this time of year. It's nice to be able to go where you want, stop where and when you want and stay there for as long as you want. We hardly saw anyone during our three days in the park, which was kind of nice - made it feel like we were in the wilderness. We passed a few small tour groups being herded from one lookout to the next for a five minute stop - this is ok if you only have one day to "see the park" but it's nice to go your own pace if you have the time.

Tips for visiting in May: Be prepared for any weather - sun, wind, cold, rain/snow and combinations of all at once :) Waterproof boots, pants and jacket definitely needed. If you hire a car (recommended) make sure the tank is full before leaving town - there's nowhere to get any fuel in the park. Bring enough food and water for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks if you're staying at the cabins (there's nothing available in the park).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“This is why we went to Puerto Natales”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We took a one day bus trip in Torres del Paine through Turismo Zaajh. Unfortunately, it was a very overcast day, so we did not see the full beauty of the area. What we did see was very pretty and scenic. We enjoyed the tour. I especially loved seeing all the guanacos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nrw, germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The National Park is huge, so expect a lot of driving on dusty gravel roads. The hike to the Torres themselves takes about four hours there and four hours back again. It isn't a difficult hike but a long one. The Torres are worth it though. As the weather is rather unpredictable, you have better chances of seeing them if your stay lasts longer than just one day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bellbuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The mountains are so beautiful. They are everywhere!! But be prepared for super windy conditions (80 to 100km/hr winds was posted at the ranger station) and a quick changing climate (rain)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torres del Paine National Park also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Torres del Paine National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing