We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and very good place in Puerto Natales”
Review of Hostel Koten Aike

Hostel Koten Aike
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Koten Aike
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice staff and very good place in Puerto Natales”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here two nights and I really enjoyed it. It's a small place but the rooms are clean and very comfortable. The staff member is very nice and I booked all my tickets at the reception (for the national park Torres Del Paine and for leaving the city) and everything was ok. Moroever, it's well located and you are very close to the main street. I strongly recommend !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Love this hostel. The women who work here set the friendly vibe and it translates throughout the building. If you are high maintenance this might not be the best spot for you, But for a traveler who needed a good spot in between journeys to TDP I could not think of a better place. Wifi works well enough and the kitchen is available for use. Comfortable beds and hot showers

Walls are thin but you could say that brings us all together.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kampmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We only booked seeing the price and overall, not really bad considering how cheap it is. OK, the building does look like it's made of carboard, water pressure far from strong, the kitchen not amazing, the back garden looks like a dumpyard(but no need to go there), and noise is heard very easily from room to room. But location is fine, close to Unimarc and the bus station, wifi is very strong and fast from room. Maybe expecting good service or great cleanliness is too much. But for just a short stop when you arrive late, not bad(but there are better options).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unyeondong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Rough around the edges, but I really enjoyed my stay here - moreso than the modern hostels i've stayed in. The manager, Claudio, is very helpful and friendly, there is plentiful hot water in the showers, it is very clean, there is a strong reliable Internet connection, it is very safe ( the manager lives there) the beds are comfortable, the the place has a great overall character. The price is very reasonable, lower than most places in town, but more enjoyable. You can store gear there for free without worrying about its security while you are trekking in Torres del Paine, they can make travel arrangements for you, and rent you gear if you need it. This place was full every night, so book in advance.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NYinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the 4-bed room which was nice, very clean and comfortable. The atmosphere was home-like and the staff was super helpful and kind. It has an equipped kitchen, wi-fi and two common showers. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This hostel does what it's price tag suggests, it's a bit rough around the edges and pretty cold but there is a decent place to cook, the showers are hot, theres wifi and the host is really helpful and knowledgeable (particularly with suggesting about Torres del Paine). You can even rent hiking equipment there. Don't expect the ritz but for the money, it's ok :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah-Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.6 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#9 of 48 in Puerto Natales
105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Nikos II
Hostal Nikos II
#24 of 95 in Puerto Natales
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Arkya
Hostal Arkya
#13 of 48 in Puerto Natales
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Milodon
Hostel Milodon
#19 of 26 in Puerto Natales
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Koten Aike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Koten Aike

Property: Hostel Koten Aike
Address: Esmeralda 833, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un pequeño hostel de ambiente familiar.A small hostel with a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Koten Aike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Koten Aike Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing