We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Exceptional company + great addition to hiking the W

This is an exceptional company. My wife and I did the three-day trip, which essentially combines... read more

Reviewed March 18, 2019
oaks34
Unforgettable Experience

My wife and I booked a full-day excursion of Lake Grey and the Serrano River when we visited Torres... read more

Reviewed March 15, 2019
clarsen1212
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 92 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Natales
from $66.00
More Info
from $211.00
More Info
from $86.00
More Info
from $1,049.00
More Info
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
90
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
90
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kayak trip rio serrano paddling experience dry suit grey lake highlight of our trip top of the line unforgettable experience delicious meal sister company highly recommend this company his team three days high winds via email pisco sours w trek
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 92 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2019

This is an exceptional company. My wife and I did the three-day trip, which essentially combines the one-day Grey trip, and two-day Serrano trip. It was the highlight of our trip to Patagonia. The three-day kayak trip made a great addition to hiking the W, and allowed us to further explore the area around Torres del Paine and get away from the crowds on the W. The overnight trips are not cheap, and were a significant expense for us, but we were so glad we did it. After seeing all the logistics and people required to make the trip possible (and the high quality of the equipment and guides), I think their prices are fair.

The company provides top-notch kayaks and equipment, a very high guide-to-client ratio, and has excellent guides. Our guides were experienced, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond to make the experience a great one.

You really only need to bring what their brochure tells you to bring. This was the best I've ever eaten while camping, and there was more than enough food and drink.

I've had some paddling experience over the years, but I am by no means an expert. I did not find the rivers we paddled on to be intimidating (there was only one section of small rapids that could be easily avoided.) Some of the paddling was challenging, however, due to Patagonia's notorious high winds. The windy conditions made for a few points a long the trip where we had to paddle hard, but it by no means diminished how much we enjoyed the trip.

If you're going to book something like this, you just have to accept that neither you nor the company has control over the weather. The company seems to really do all they can to avoid having to cancel trips due to the wind, and in my estimation, has a very fair policy.

If you are interested in exploring Patagonia by Kayak, and getting out away from some of the crowds of the W, I highly recommend this company and their trips.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank oaks34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I booked a full-day excursion of Lake Grey and the Serrano River when we visited Torres del Paine NP in February. We had extremely high expectations due to all of the great reviews that we read but Cristian and his team blew us away with how thoughtful and professional they are.

We could not have had a better experience! Leslie and Owens gave us thorough instruction so that we felt comfortable navigating the kayaks and using the gear. The weather was absolutely perfect and calm when we kayaked among the icebergs in Lake Grey and admired the amazing Torres in TDP. It is truly unbelievable to experience the beauty of TDP away from the river and away from all of the crowds.

I thought that the guides did a great job helping our group to slowly build up our skills so that we became comfortable with progressively more challenging parts of the river. We even got to navigate through a small rapid which was a lot of fun and really rewarding!

Every detail is planned perfectly and this trip is worth every penny. Do not miss the opportunity to do this unforgettable adventure. Thank you Cristian, Leslie and Owens!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank clarsen1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

I was impressed with the quality of service received from Kayak en Patagonia from beginning to end. I was initially sold on the thoroughness and assistance provided in communications pre-trip with Cristian who runs the business and got the impression that it was a well run and friendly business. The impression held true once we were down there on our two day excursion. Our guide, Ted, was not only professional, knowledgeable and extremely hard working but was a pleasure to hang out with, talking and enjoying the amazing scenery. And what great scenery it is. We did the kayak trip at the end of backpacking the Q circuit in Torres del Paine NP and although we had seen some remarkable sights already, it was still a thrill to see what the area had to offer from the perspective of the kayaks down the Rio Serrano. It was thrilling, and Ted was great in making it work for us. Good food, good equipment, good service, great time.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank danno203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

The day was cold and windy, but with the care, attention and professionalism of the guides, not to mention the great gear, we were able to get out on Gray Lake and onto the river. The weather improved and experience of seeing Patagonia and Torres del Paine from the River was very special. We had just spent 5 days on the W Trek and this gave us a unique perspective on our hike. The guides are very experienced and professional, and Luis, the driver was very thoughtful of our comfort and Leslie kept us organized on track. Thanks to the assistance of Owens, Taylor and Garrett we all had a great day..

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Assiniboinetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

We've down 4 to 9 day kayaking trips with companies from Alaska to Iceland to Thailand to NZ to Baja to Norway, and Kayak en Patagonia (& sister company Hello Patagonia) are as good as it gets. They are very safety conscious, with thorough instruction and superb gear from dry suits to boats (+tents/ bags if, as we did, you do their 3-day multi-day trip....for paddlers with some experience.) With >3 mile per hour river currents, covering 18 miles on the Rio Gray & 25 miles the next day on the Rio Serrano is no problem in the full-sized tandem sea kayaks which track and handle well Even in this often-windy environment, we didn't come close to capsizing or any other problems.
Our guide Garrett was awesome, unflappable, with much knowledge, English & Spanish, great culinary skills, & a wonderfully calm, instructive manner. Highly respected company owner-operator Christian has a very professional operation on the rivers, and his wife Leslie (Hello Patagonia) can (and did) arrange in advance in a wonderfully helpful and thorough manner all sorts of other activities and logistics (refugios/ camps on the Torres del Paine "W" trek, bus & boat connections, hotels, glacier walks, etc.) She even co-led the eight-customer paddling day trip we joined (in English & Spanish) and is much fun, very informative.
With safety and logistics "in hand" via Kayak en Patagonia, one can simply "sit back" and enjoy the Alaska-like world-class flatwater kayaking (snow-capped mountains, waterfalls, calving glaciers, National Parks, icebergs) here in one of Patagonia's best wilderness areas.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank DLinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews