We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Best breakfast in South America!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tin House Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Best breakfast in South America!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a great hostel- we wished we could have stayed longer but only had one night here before heading to Torres Del Paine. The couple running the house are fantastic and very helpful. The breakfast is the best we had in South America and the kitchen is really well set up. Location is fairly central- a short walk to shops and restaurants.

The only problem is the VERY thin walls- any conversation in the kitchen can be heard through our room, and we had difficulty sleeping due to a too-long conversation another guest was having about his prostate. But thin walls seem to be rife throughout Patagonia wherever we slept. Without this we would give 5 stars- beds were super comfy, bathrooms are great, wifi worked well while we were there.
Definitely stay here if you are heading to Puerto Natales

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The best hostel I've stayed in on my trip to south America so far. Only one, four-bed dorm and two private rooms, so the place is always quiet and cozy. Great breakfast; immaculately clean; wifi and a PC; full kitchen. But best are Laura and David who will help you with any question you have or arrangement you need done. Will stay again if I come back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ath1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2011

One of the best hostels we stayed at in 15 weeks travelling throughout S America. Small and very cosy, lots of hot water. The best equipped kitchen of any hostel I've seen. Just what you want after a few days trekkng in Torres del Paine!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2011

SUCH a nice little cozy hostel! The couple who ran it seriously could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Every interaction with them was awesome. Great info about the park, suuper comfy bed, heater in every room. And the BREAKFAST!
We wanted to stay another night, but they were booked so the owner rang around for us (not an easy task in high season), found us another hostel and showed me on the map how to get there.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nskonig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

-warm clean room
-best breakfast in South America -fresh bread, juice, fruits, cereales, yoghurt,...
-hot shower
-comfortable, clean bed
-help during planning our W, booking bustickets,...
-clean kitchen

@Laura and David- many thanks for all

S and J from Hamburg

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hostel is owned by a couple, David and Laura who were so very helpful. We emailed in advance of our visit asking if we could store some of our baggage in the Hostel for the time we would be at Torres Del Paine and the answer came back quick and fast, ‘of course you can’. Whilst we were trekking Laura also organised our bus tickets to El Calafate ready for when we got back. The hostel is exceptionally clean and has a book exchange, free wifi and a great kitchen to cook in. The bedrooms are modern with really nice soft (you rarely get this in hostels!) bedding and very comfortable beds! The breakfast included was ready for our early departure and included eggs, yogurt, juice, fresh bread, coffee and tea, best breakfast we have had in S.A. The only thing I didn’t like was the fact we stayed one night!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here with my mom for three nights to visit Torres del Paine and Argentina, we had received a recommendation from a friend. The place is very simple, two double rooms and a shared 4-room dorm, with a main front room and a nice kitchen. The bathrooms were clean, water was hot, and the rooms in the house were easily kept warm. We both slept very well in the dorm, the down comforters were warm and cozy. Breakfast consisted of very good, locally-baked bread, eggs, yogurt and REAL coffee. As a bonus, both owners were extremely friendly, helpful and "muy buena onda" ("good vibes"). Highly recommended for travelers seeking a comfortable, clean, easy place to stay in P. Natales.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal San Agustin
Hostal San Agustin
#22 of 90 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#9 of 90 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin House Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin House Patagonia

Property: Tin House Patagonia
Address: Miraflores 616, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tin House is a small accommodation located in the center of Puerto Natales. We have only 6 beds! Tin house provides a comfortable atmosphere for travelers that need to relax. The house has a kitchen, backyard and living room for use by its clients.Our small property is the perfect place to begin your adventure in Patagonia. Tin house was built in the 1950s, renovated in 2009, and now shares a cozy vibe with all its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tin House Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tin House Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing