We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unintended but loved it!”
Review of Hostal Shakana

Hostal Shakana
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Shakana
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unintended but loved it!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Shakana was an accidental choice for me, as I was headed to Erratic Rock II, before realising it was geared for couples.
The rain, the cold, and fatigue combined with a very heavy backpack led me into `the next hostel I come across` in my head.
Lucky for me it was Miguelangelo's.
Basic amenities in this cozy hostel. Two bathrooms, but they were very quick to point out that one shower is far surperior to the other. As it was low season, this was not really an issue, but I imagine by next busy season he will have sorted it.
A relaxed host, who serves a great breakfast of freshly brewed coffee and eggs on toast with cereal, amazingly comfy beds (with heaters in the rooms) and the most gorgeous dog on the planet! I want to go back just for his cuddles!
Miguel (Shakana) is really well connected and informed and very willing to help.
He plays guitar, tells the odd joke (so bad the're good!) and had a range of movies to watch in the very chilled lounge area, and while the internet takes a while to work on the laptop, the wifi is, apparently, perfectly quick.
Ideally located for the Erratic Rock daily talk (and therefore spitting distance from Base Camp, where you are likely to spend many an evening!)
A warm and hospitable stay.

Room Tip: Depends if you like natural light waking you up or not. Ask for Skylight (back room) or non-skylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I never write reviews of hostels but after staying in Hostal Shakana, I wanted to document my experience straight away. The hostel was excellent. It's the first one myself and my boyfriend stayed in which felt like a family home. We did not see the hostel advertised online so it was only when we arrived at Eratic Rock for the talk on the W Trek that Hostel Shakana got recommended to us. So happy that it did. Shakana, the owner uses his kitchen as a reception and this had a very welcoming feel about it. He accommodated us in every way. There was no question that he couldn't answer for us. We asked him about a Penguin Tour in Punto Arenas and he rang around for us to get more information and he even visited a local tourist agency on his way back from shopping the next morning. We also asked how best it was for us to get a transfer to the airport. Within an hour, he had arranged for a friend of his to drop us off. The rooms were really clean. We stayed for 2 nights before the W Trek and having finished our 5 days in Torres Del Paine, we were looking forward to getting back to such comfort. We were particularly looking forward to the lovely breakfast which even consists of omlettes. Having returned, we ended up staying another 4 nights to relax before our flight to Santiago. The hostel was always warm, the beds had so many layers that they were super comfortable and there was a constant supply of hot water. The kitchen facilities were excellent leading to delicious meals every night. Laundry facilities were available. The hostel is a short walk from thebus station and is only around the corner from supermarkets and Internet cafe (thought Internet and wifi are available in the hostel). Everyone who stayed in the hostel while we were here loved it and most stayed longer than originally planned. It seems to be a hostel discovered through word of mouth. We found it a shame that more people hadn't heard of the hostel but this is surely because it's a hostel in it's infancy. A great reccomemdation for all ages

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriceoregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We ended up at Hostel Shakana because the first hostel we tried was full. They recommended his hostel to us and we are so happy that they did. Not only was his customer service better than theirs, his price was among the best in town for a private room (16,000 Chileno pesos), $36 US. He personally cooked us eggs for breakfast every morning as well as toast on an old-fashioned stove, and offers cereal with milk and real coffee, a rare find in Chile. He lets you use the kitchen and fridge. There is hot water and towels. He was always eager to help us with any info we needed on Torres del Paine (he guided there for 8 years) or buses to our next destination, and even sat with us during breakfast when he saw we were interested in talking and taught us Spanish as we taught him more English. This is a homey place, not fancy, though he is making improvements on the house this summer. It is a short 10 minute walk from the Navimag port as well as the center plaza. Walk towards Erratic Rock hostel, then turn left (heading away from city center) just before you get to Erratic Rock hostel. He had a sign out front that reads 'Hostel Shakana'.

Room Tip: The private room is a great deal if you are traveling with a partner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Randomly ended up in this hostel, it was an amazing surprise. Chakana, the owner, run it as a traditional magellanic house with wooden stove and breakfast (excellent!) cooked by him in the morning. For both young and more adult people, this is a real bargain as the cost was in the lowest range for the town, but the service very nice and cozy. Chakana really cares about the guests and is always willing to spend time with them, an added value if conpared to many impersonal hostel. Highly recommended!! AAA+

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london-wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My friends and I were on a backpacking trip heading to Torres del Paine. There were three of us, all women in our 50's. We were not looking for a hotel experience. Hostal Shakana was recommended by another lodging. It was great for us. The owner, Chacana, is really friendly and helpful and has worked in the park for about 8 years and so has lots of knowledge of the hiking to be had there. Also, he speaks English and our Spanish was rudimentary at best. Beds were clean and comfortable and breakfast was included.; eggs, cereal, toast and real coffee! Dormitory style rooms. I think we paid $12/night. This is not the Best Western, it's kind of funky but Chacana is super helpful and made some bookings for the continuation of our journey while we were on our way back from the park, including a place to stay in Punta Arenas that we loved. I have read other reviews about hostels in town and complaints about the hot water. Our experience was that you need to ask if you don't get hot water because it doesn't work the way it works in the US. That was true at other places that we stayed as well. Good location in town, safe, and you can walk everywhere. There was even a computer to send e-mails home. You can catch the bus to the park right out front on the green. If you want a great bargain and an authentic experience Chakana is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTMTGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This is a great place to stay! Chacana is an excellent host and a wealth of knowledge when it comes to Torres del Paine NP. Casual and friendly. You will feel at home as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORHiker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.7 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#9 of 47 in Puerto Natales
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Nikos II
Hostal Nikos II
#24 of 90 in Puerto Natales
57 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Arkya
Hostal Arkya
#13 of 47 in Puerto Natales
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Shakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Shakana

Property: Hostal Shakana
Address: Miraflores 798, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Shakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Shakana Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing